We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$144
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Taj Coromandel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$217
$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
$62
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
$72
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$190
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$108
$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$78
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$105
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency(Chennai (Madras))
$56
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$168
$74
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,438)
Filter reviews
1,438 results
Traveler rating
671
465
167
77
58
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
671
465
167
77
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspice haatfocacciachinese restaurantlobby loungebusiness tripswimming poolrooms are largebusiness hotelcoffee shoproom servicethe heart of the cityanna salaibreakfast spreadfront officenice stayhotel staffspecial thanks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,237 - 1,242 of 1,438 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

stayed at this property from 8 to 12 February and it was much more than I expected. The hotel has excellent views as it is an atrium style building. The views from the roo are also spectacular where the Bay of Begal can be seen.
Staff are very professional, kind, attentive and communicate professionally. Rooms are large, very comfortable but do request for a change of pillows from the pillow menu as the ones in the room are too large and thin. Not very condusive for sleep. Facilities and amenities in the room are good, as expected of a Hyatt property.
Although the constuction of the Metro is on going in front of the hotel, one can hardly hear it. Transport is easliy available form the Hotel or the auto rickshaws are plenty.
Food was awesome and service great. My one comment would be to have a bit of variety in the Breakfast buffet and a couple more Indian items would suffice.
The Executive Club Lounge is very nice but only serves a Continental spread for Breakfast. Cocktails in the evening are nice.
It is the tallest building in chennai and definately worth a visit and stay. Will return.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the main road as well as the BAy. Request for a Bay room.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your wonderful feedback and sharing the same with TripAdvisor community.

We are really excited to know that you liked the product, offerings, rooms,food, location and our people.
We have noted your comment about the pillows and breakfast and shall assure upon your next visit, we deliver the ones you like. We also want to share with you that the first phase of metro project in front of the hotel is over and that is good news. Currently no work is happening.

We look forward to welcome you back and please do let us know if we could be of any assistance.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was impressed by the room design and hotel general architecture in general. I had plent of space in the room, very good internet connection and I particulary liked the wardrobe. :) As a special touch, I was really impressed about the cake I found in my room in the evening, considering it was my birthday. This means attention to details and interest for customers, and I congratulate the hotel management and staff for this.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andreea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your valuable time and feedback. We really appreciate this at our end.

We are really excited to know that you liked our hotel , design , room and services. It is our continuous endeavor to provide our patrons with the best services and comments like yours motivate us to do so. Thank you for that.

We look forward to welcome you back and would be happy to assist.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tried the Dinner buffet - veg at Spice Market in Hyatt and cant say that I was satisfied. The soup was just stock and appetizers bland. I did not try the south Indian items on the menu excepting curd rice and pickles with were exceptional but tried the north Indian and salad bar items, breads, Greek food and chaats. I was disappointed as none of it had any distinct flavour. Though my friends said that the Non veg items were better, I must say that I have eaten far better tasting food around the city at 1/4th the price. The only saving grace were the desserts. They were truly yum. Visit only for great ambiance and and tempting desserts.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Divya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for taking time out and giving us your feedback on the Spice Haat. We are sorry to hear that we were not up to your expectations and you did not enjoy the vegetarian spread.
We have shared the feed back with our culinary team and assure you that as a team we are working on continuously improving ourselves. I request you to treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to change your impression.

We are glad that you liked the desserts spread and cannot agree more that yes indeed it is big and tasty.

We stand at your service and do look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very much welcomed addition to hotels in Chennai.
Staff very friendly, good size rooms, nice mix of restaurants, late checkout is very much accepted. Nice decoration, good size reception.
Above all; being sort of new compared to other 4, 5 stars hotels brings freshness to the nose (normally you smell typical Indian sent/herbs wherever you go).

Room Tip: Being new, it still doesn't have the typical smell you can have everywhere. higher floors have a great city view.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halaby49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback and community sharing.

We are delighted to know that you loved our services, ambiance, rooms and restaurants.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and do let us know for any assistance you may seek from us.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not much to say. Comfortable, room OK, air con a bit 'damp feeling', service OK, restaurant OK. But felt it could all be a bit better with insufficient attention to detail in room finish and staff training.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback to us on our product, services and training.

We believe that their is always scope for improvement and we shall strive consistently to better our selves to provide you with a much better experience next time.

Kindly do let me know about your future trips at shubham.chandra@hyatt.com, I look forward to meet with you.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews