We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spices with little flavour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Chennai
Ranked #31 of 388 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Spices with little flavour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Tried the Dinner buffet - veg at Spice Market in Hyatt and cant say that I was satisfied. The soup was just stock and appetizers bland. I did not try the south Indian items on the menu excepting curd rice and pickles with were exceptional but tried the north Indian and salad bar items, breads, Greek food and chaats. I was disappointed as none of it had any distinct flavour. Though my friends said that the Non veg items were better, I must say that I have eaten far better tasting food around the city at 1/4th the price. The only saving grace were the desserts. They were truly yum. Visit only for great ambiance and and tempting desserts.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divya7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for taking time out and giving us your feedback on the Spice Haat. We are sorry to hear that we were not up to your expectations and you did not enjoy the vegetarian spread.
We have shared the feed back with our culinary team and assure you that as a team we are working on continuously improving ourselves. I request you to treat this experience in isolation and give us another chance to change your impression.

We are glad that you liked the desserts spread and cannot agree more that yes indeed it is big and tasty.

We stand at your service and do look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    391
    134
    70
    37
See reviews for
157
80
44
723
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very much welcomed addition to hotels in Chennai.
Staff very friendly, good size rooms, nice mix of restaurants, late checkout is very much accepted. Nice decoration, good size reception.
Above all; being sort of new compared to other 4, 5 stars hotels brings freshness to the nose (normally you smell typical Indian sent/herbs wherever you go).

Room Tip: Being new, it still doesn't have the typical smell you can have everywhere. higher floors have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halaby49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback and community sharing.

We are delighted to know that you loved our services, ambiance, rooms and restaurants.

We look forward to welcome you back soon and do let us know for any assistance you may seek from us.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Not much to say. Comfortable, room OK, air con a bit 'damp feeling', service OK, restaurant OK. But felt it could all be a bit better with insufficient attention to detail in room finish and staff training.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Getabreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback to us on our product, services and training.

We believe that their is always scope for improvement and we shall strive consistently to better our selves to provide you with a much better experience next time.

Kindly do let me know about your future trips at shubham.chandra@hyatt.com, I look forward to meet with you.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

With a great location and the Hyatt tag expected much more. Check in was courteous and the rooms were large and well designed. Limited television channels and cleaning of the rooms is done late in the afternoon.
The prawn cocktail served by room service was stale and so one did not mind that there was more lettuce than prawns and no cocktail sauce. The Spice Island restaurant was packed and obviously the staff present could not handle the crowd. To save time we opted for the buffet. A few good items and the rest of the dishes seem to be there for window dressing. A large spread to look at but only a few items that were palatable. The service was poor. Breakfast was no better in terms of service. A few girls smiling at the entrance does not mean good service.
Next time I go back to the Park Sheraton.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coffeetrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your feedback about our product , location , quality and services.

We really appreciate that you wanted us to know how you felt and gave us this chance to improve.
While we are happy that you liked the rooms and the check in experience we have taken immediate measures to better our service and product delivery. Teams have been briefed on your feedback and have taken it very positively with an intent to correct. We have added few more channels immediately and are looking to add few more.

While we cant undo the experience but very humbly requesting you to give us another chance to show case authentic hospitality.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and I would like to meet you upon your next visit and request if you could keep me posted of your schedule I would be obliged. I am reachable at shubham.chandra@hyatt.com

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had stayed at Hyatt Regency for 2 nights on a business trip. The hotel staff were extremely courteous and helpful. Rooms are also very spacious(the largest ones i have come across in India) and practically designed. Whats sets Hyatt Regency apart is the art work, decor and the unique art installations like the giant beehive and honey drops. A dream hotel where you always wish to retire after a hard days work. There are some 11 different restaurants and the choice of food is also awesome. Situated bang on the Mount Road next to Poes Garden and for the shopaholics, a mall is next door.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicAlbatross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for taking time out and sharing your wonderful feedback with the community.

We are glad to know that you liked our rooms and the fresh feel of the hotel , yes location is a big advantage for us and we hope we continue to deliver our best of services to compliment that.

The hotels art theme is based on Honey Bees and we have around 55 art installations revolving around the same done by 40 internationally and nationally known group of artists.
When you are here next do let us know, we would like to show you the art at the hotel.

We look forward to welcome you back and do let us know for any further assistance.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We ate the international cuisine buffet at lunch. Mind blowing spread. Sushi, to indian, chinese, european, the works !! Loved the service, and the desserts. Sashimi rocked. Good veg options as well...1400 with tax...but awesome food and great ambience !! Thumbs up guys .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rvpmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you for your wonderful comments on Spice Haat our Best All Day Dining Award Winning restaurant at recently concluded Times Food Awards.

We appreciate you taking out time and sharing the same with the community. This indeed motivates us to do better and we are excited to know that we exceeded your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drvivekgarg
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A business trip to Chennai was full of fun and entertainment. It was made special with a stay at Hyatt Regency. Check in to the hotel was quick and the bell boy came with my luggage in no time. This was the fastest execution I have ever seen in a 5 star hotel. Room are spacious with unique design with awesome interior decoration. Room service was superb. An evening swim in picturistic surroundings and crystal clear water was relaxing with some basic tips from their friendly swimming instructor. Overall it was a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drvivekgarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shubham365, Director of Sales & Marketing at Hyatt Regency Chennai, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Regency Chennai.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments and sharing the same with our esteemed Trip Advisor community.

We are excited to know that you liked the services right from your check in and did notice the seamless delivery of your baggage, our compliments for your eye to details.

By design we have a great advantage of having our swimming pool at higher floor, which does provide a great view and is a very good place for relaxation as well.

We are happy to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back soon. Please do let us know for any assistance you may seek from us.

Best regards

Shubham Chandra
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#7 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#12 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#16 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#21 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#8 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#3 of 388 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Chennai

Property: Hyatt Regency Chennai
Address: 365 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai., Chennai (Madras) 600018, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#19 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#21 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#27 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyatt Regency Chennai, located on the iconic Anna Salai in the heart of Chennai is the perfect destination for authentic hospitality. From multiple F&B offerings - Indian, Italian, Sichuan Chinese, 24 hour dining, Buffet restaurant, Cafe, Gourmet Shop, lounge bar and more to the luxurious Siddh Spa and Fitness Centre - it is a complete destination for business as well as leisure. The multiple banquet and meeting spaces make it a perfect meeting destination. The hotel offers 327 rooms and suites, Siddh Spa and fitness centre, Spice Haat, Stix, Focaccia, 365 AS, Biscotti, Lobby Lounge and banquet spaces. Also signature food specials - Italian Pranzo - Saturday Brunch at Focaccia; Sichuan Sunday brunch at Stix; Perfect Sunday brunch at Spice Haat; Double Happy Hours at 365 AS and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing