We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel at Anna Salai.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai to your Saves list
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India (Alwarpet South)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 370 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Pondicherry, India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel at Anna Salai.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We were staying in this property for one night in Dec'13 and was impressed with everything it offered to us. Access to hotel was easy, valet parking was prompt, check in was smooth, Front office staff were very warm and the room was spacious & clean.

The small swimming pool on the roof top was nice and my family had a good time there in the morning. The buffet breakfast had so much of varieties and they were very tasty.

Scores good in Location, Room, Facilities, Food & Service. Overall very nice experience at this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SundarrajR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience. We are glad that your enjoyed our services and we could meet your expectations. The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree Anna Salai

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    360
    55
    11
    16
See reviews for
143
122
81
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I had great stay in this hotel, this is the first place I felt people are keen and happy to serve you, smile on their face was so genuine. They have created a good impression about the hotel the moment I landed in Chennai, and they lived up to it through out my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShridharaGowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our services. Your feedback is indeed motivating and will definitely encourage the team to further enhance our services.
We continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is within the city and just a minutes of drive to the shopping malls, T Nagar etc. The staff are very efficient, always greets you with a 'vanakkam'. The Madera Bar has got good collection of wines :) but the price mentioned on the room menu and the bar menu is different (they say the room menu rates are outdated). The restaurant has got good spread for lunch and breakfast (didn't had dinner, so can't comment). The food was good... The room which I got was spacious and had a very fresh feeling. The view from the room is the hassles of city life. You can't expect the serene view from a hotel situated within the city like Chennai. Definitely my choice for my next travel with family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vinod_Venugopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review on trip advisor. Your feedback definitely motivates us and assure that we will continue our efforts to enhance our services further and look forward to Welcoming you back again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

I picked The Raintree, Anna Salai because of my earlier stay at the St. Mary's Road. That is being renovated. So I expected the same level of standard as that of St. Mary's Road. And it did not disappoint me. Modern & spacious rooms. Check in was very fast. Room service & breakfast were nice and good variety catering to all kinds of travelers.
I was extremely impressed during our checkout at 4AM. Still the same service. Hats off.
Location is the center of the city, so if you have work in the industrial estate, then it will take eons to reach here. But if you have work in the city, one of my most recommended hotels for Chennai.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abhishek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking time and sharing your experience about the Hotel and our services on trip advisor. We are glad that your stay was comfortable and we could meet your expectations.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a very centrally located hotel which is very affordable especially if you look for deals on the travel web sites. It is worth every penny paid due to the treatment that you get, the ambience of the rooms, options of the restaurant and the icing on the cake being the gym and the spa.

Very close to main shopping places in Chennai and the quality of food. The toiletries are from Biotique and the linen placed in the room is always clean. Ergonomic work chairs which I have not found in many hotels across India.

Value for money and pamper yourself at the raintree

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandrashekar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive review about the Hotel and our services on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your stay was comfortable and we could meet your expectations. Your feedback will definitely motivate our team towards achieving higher and exceeding levels of expectations.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Very valuable hotel not too far from the city main sights: modern and clean rooms, excellent bathroom, lot of facilities and 2 restaurants inside.
May seem a little too posh or costy or "cool", but definitely one of the best staying I've experienced in South India.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapil82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing positive review about the Hotel and our services. I have shared your review with my entire team and am confident that your feedback will further motivate them towards achieving higher and exceeding levels of expectations.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I often stay here when I visit Chennai for Biz trip and perfect hotel for this purpose.
My company accommodate me The Park or here and I prefer here even they have bath tab in the room, and KAMA amenity.

1:Small hotel, but perfectly maintained , clean, starched Sheets, amenities are Biotique Bio
2:Complementary Fruites plate upon check in
3:Varius Buffet ( they have more than 6 kind of pastries, more than 4 kind of juice, Beef, pork sausage, cheese etc
( Only negative point is they never change menu at least this past one year)
4:Location is opposite Apolo Hospital Anna salai,20 mins by car from Airport without traffic Jam .
5:Staff are ok, I can see their effort of friendliness or service, well groomed.
6:No bath tab in Standard room
7:CNN, NHK, Arirang is available.
8:Not to far from TKK Road , where most restaurants locate. ( In Soul, Benjarong, Teppan, Go Go Ramen etc ) approx. 15 mins by car without traffic.
9:No Humidity or smell in the room ( Which most of hotels in chennai has, as it's sea side )

in addition, they have gym, pool, Spa( Not really recommended though) Gift shop and Roof top restaurant. For Busy Business tripper , necessaries are all in the facility and convenient.

I am very happy guest, will come back .
Hope you to keep the quality of guest service.

Room Tip: So far I stayed 2~5th floor and no complain. just 5th room had lots power cut when I stayed and I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomato a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai,

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your review on trip advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and our services. Your feedback is indeed motivating and will definitely encourage the team to further enhance our services.
The entire team looks forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#4 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 896 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#26 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 stars 757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Chennai
#5 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
The Park Chennai
#69 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 stars 1,159 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#3 of 370 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Property: The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Address: 636, Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#31 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, spa and a GYM. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows which come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and iron and Ironing Board. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant -UP North with stunning views of Chennai's skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 15-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing