We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Ranked #14 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good business hotel”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Raintree Hotel for 4 nights during a business trip.

As a business traveler, all my expectations were met.
The hotel has multiple restaurants, meeting most peoples preference on food, ranging from traditional South Indian food, through classical European till simple and quick bar snack.

The rooms are nice and clean. The size is good for one or two travellers. If there are more sharing a room, it will be tight.

The hotel offered free wifi. Speed was ok, but nothing more. Sufficient to check email, but not enough for online entertainment. (Forget Netflix, then you would need more days).

In short, when traveling for business, I would come back. All is covered.
If traveling on vacation with family, I would look around for an other hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ksvanaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Anna salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your review on trip advisor. We are glad that your enjoyed our services and we could meet your expectations.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree Anna Salai

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    433
    63
    14
    20
See reviews for
186
150
91
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed here for only one night. I was on a business trip. Could not experience the facilities.

We arrived late night after our meetings. The checkin process was very smooth and fast. The bar is next to the reception. Even for the short time we were at the reception, the person singing in the bar was horrible.

The breakfast had a good spread. But, I had to return the omlette two times since I had requested a well done. Everytime the chef was preparing one which had the egg uncooked on the inside.

I checked in late and left early morning. So could not experience the facilities available.

The room was clean and spacious. The bed was comfortable. The chair in the room was very comfortable.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaeldsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We have made a note of your feedback with regards to uncooked eggs served for breakfast and shall definitely improvise on our shortfalls. We have also noted your feedback about the poor quality of singer at the bar, however would like to keep you appraised that we had karaoke night in the bar at the time of your check-in and few of our guest wear trying there singing skills.

I hope you will have more time during your next visit to experience our hospitality.Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

This was the first stay at a 5 star hotel in my life and I thoroughly enjoyed it.Had gone to the hotel with great expectations and everything was met perfectly.Definitely an A+++ hotel as everything was right apart from the traffic.Will definitely visit again for their class and ambience.Thank you for helping us have a memorable stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Selva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive review about the Hotel and our services on Trip Advisor. We are glad that your stay was memorable and we could meet your expectations. Your feedback will definitely motivate our team towards achieving higher and exceeding levels of expectations.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanjavur, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Booked by phone and stayed with family for a night. Super friendly staff, spotless silent rooms with comfy beds and a tasty breakfast. Pretty much all amenities were available and more on request. All in all, a great hotel in the middle of Chennai.

Getting there by road can be frustrating due to the Chennai Metro Rail project.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have great rooms but only if you can look past the slum area right behind the hotel. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KUMAR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

We really appreciate and thank you for taking the time and sharing your positive review about the Hotel and our services on Trip Advisor. I have shared your review with my entire team and am confident that your feedback will further motivate them towards achieving higher and exceeding levels of expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This was my 2nd visit. The first was a one night stay, this one was a 2 night stay. I wrote to them and got a discount deal which was very kind of them.

The breakfast spread can be disappointing for vegetarians, especially people to the north of the Vindhyas. There's an overwhelming south indian presence in the spread.

The wireless needs a huge improvement. It is generally slow and can get worse at times.

The travel desk is very good at its service, but only offer an Innova or a Camry, nothing lower than that. Is pricey compared to other providers at that class too.

Room Tip: Take the first 7 floors, higher than that can be noisy as they have a rooftop open lounge with loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Narayan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai!!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I have shared your feedback (Breakfast spread and speed of internet) with our Executive chef and IT manager for follow up and corrective action. I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. I can assure you that we are committed to improving all aspects of our guest’s experience and feedback like this will only double our efforts in achieving the level of consistency we lacked during your visit.
Again, thank you for your comments, they are truly appreciated and put to good use.

The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed here for 9 days Business trip to Chennai.

One of the best Hotel I ever stayed. Room are very clean, beautiful and good. Service provided is also very good.
They have vast variety of foods. Veg, non-veg everyone enjoy the food here. Good quality and many different items in veg, non-veg and desert.

A very nice Gym, spa and amazing Swimming pool on top floor.

Location of this Hotel is also very nice.

Worth visiting this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HimanshuKarki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on trip advisor. We are glad the you enjoyed your stay and our services. Your feedback is indeed motivating and will definitely encourage the team to further enhance our services. The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I went on a business trip to Chennai on 7th june 2014 & I opted for a package of flight + hotel in cleartrip .After reading a few reviews of this hotel I decided to stay here, a beautifully located hotel. A well maintained hotel , cooperative staff and an excellent location. the breakfast is really good....overall a pleasant and reasonable stay. I am planning to book the same hotel again next week

Room Tip: top floor ( 9th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ketanparikh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna salai,

Thank you for taking time and sharing your review on trip advisor. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we could meet your expectations. The entire team looks forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
874 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
848 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#19 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Property: The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Address: 636 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, spa and a GYM. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows which come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and iron and Ironing Board. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant -UP North with stunning views of Chennai's skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 15-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing