We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Ranked #13 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

I was 2 nights this time and I decided to try a new hotel and the bet couldn't be more accurate.
Very good option. Brand new rooms and very well maintained. Wall are clean, floor clean.
Maybe on the buffet more western food without spicy.
Internet is also on average without fails.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank pedrofrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Annasalai.

Thank you very much for your review and apprecioating our services. We have also noted your feedback about the options of additional western items on the buffet. You shall definately experience the changes you recommended upon your future visits.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai and please feel free to contact me at gm@raintreehotels.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Rain Tree is a hotel that has built its reputation on the basis of repeat customers. There have been many times that I have stayed here before and each experience has been functionally sufficient.

The rooms are spacious and sleep quality was good. The construction of the Metro facing the hotel and in nearby residential areas sometimes leads to a higher than desirable noise level. Just one of the aspects of a city in the middle of infrastructure addition...

I also did face some challenges with the TV remote on account of a faulty sensor that was rectified in due course. On a couple of occasions, the evening housekeeping service was missed which led to my running out of drinking water. All of this was easy to address and honestly, no request took longer than expected to be serviced.

Coming to the banquet and food, all arrangements met the quality standard. The set-course meal at the Madras could be made a lot more exciting. The in-room dining on the other hand was a delight. The fitness center on the top floor could potentially have provided lovely views but is hampered by the deck in front. Another challenge was to get local transport from outside of the hotel. The auto-rickshaws more often than not, turned down requests for any destination.

On the whole, I would recommend the hotel for any business traveler who has a busy agenda through the day and wants a functional place of stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nishant0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for your review and recommending our Hotel to business travellers. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel. I have also noted your feedback on evening turndown service and offerings at Madras restaurant. You shall definately experience the changes you recommended upon your future visits.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai and please feel free to contact me at gm@raintreehotels.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed here to attend US visa interview. The biometric location is a 15 minutes walk from the hotel and the US embassy is 5 minutes travel by taxi from here. TNagar which is the prominent shopping area of Chennai is 15 minutes from here and we were able to go for shopping to TNagar after the interview. The restaurant was good and the complimentary breakfast was amazing and it had varieties. The room was clean and the staff were courteous and I was even allowed to late check-out as my flight back home was in the evening. I would definitely stay here if I go back to Chennai.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GunaEswaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and we could meet your expectations. Also thank you for appreciating our services.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai and please feel free to contact me at gm@raintreehotels.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This is a new hotel on mount road very near to Tyagaraya nagar. Restaurants are nice but very expensive. There is a nice swimming pool on the terrace. Since the hotels on the main road,it is quite accessiblefor autos and taxis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ramna50690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel .

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai and please feel free to contact me at gm@raintreehotels.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here to attend interviews for US visa. The first interview place for doing biometrics is walkable distance from the hotel. The embassy itself is at a distance and you are better off taking a taxi. The hotel made all our taxi arrangements and we were satisfied by the service. However, there is a service charge associated with everything and standard resort and other fees. Dont expect the bill to be just the room price.

The breakfast was really good although very expensive. If you plan on being out for long in heat, eat well and have light lunch later from outside. I believe lunch and dinner buffet was also there. Amex card holders get 15% discount on food. There arent any good places to eat outside the hotel that are nearby. Be careful when crossing roads around the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RoshinKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel .

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree, Anna Salai and please feel free to contact me at gm@raintreehotels.com for any further assistance.

Best Regards

Hemant Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This property is located in the heart of Chennai business district and is close to the shopping area (T.Nagar). I happened to stay at this hotel along with my family to do shopping for a family event.

We found it helpful as the drive to T. Nagar was just 5 min. The main road looked cramped and the u-turn to reach the hotel took 30 minutes due to the proposed metro work in front of the hotel.

Other wise, there were no issues with the location and amenities offered at this brand new hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the main road, considering the metro work in progress (2014)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SuProd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed you stay at the Hotel. We look forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,
Hemant Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed in this hotel on our way back from a business trip to Kerala. We had stayed previously in The Park in Chennai and decided to try another (hopefully better) hotel. We were not disappointed.

Our tariff included internet and breakfast. The staff were very efficient and helpful. For example we arrived relatively early in the morning (about 8 am) after an overnight train trip and were leaving late the next night for a 1:40 am flight so they allowed us to have breakfast that morning in lieu of the breakfast that we would have had without any argument.

The room was bright and clean although not terribly spacious. The breakfast buffet has an extremely good selection, including omelets to order. The hotel has numerous restaurants but are quite expensive - US$25 for the lunch buffet seems quite steep for India - but they allow guests to eat "a la carte".

The roof pool is small but quite nice, but unheated so was quite cold. The view, however, is spectacular. There are a number of dining options within the hotel. For those brave enough to explore, there is an reasonably nice area "behind" Anna Salai. The main difficulty is getting there because the Anna Salai is blocked off (apparently because of the Metro that is being built). However, if you turn left out of the hotel and cross Anna Salai to the right at the traffic lights and turn right, in the right are a number of quiet streets with restaurants.

Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eddy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Raintree, Anna Salai,

Thank you for your review and recommending the Hotel to our guests. We are glad that your stay was comfortable and we could meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you back at The Raintree, Anna Salai.

Best Regards,
Hemant Mehta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
946 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,002 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
T. Nagar
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#28 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
959 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,295 reviews
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Address: 636 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#31 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, spa and a GYM. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows which come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and iron and Ironing Board. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant -UP North with stunning views of Chennai's skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 15-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing