We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Poor excuse for a 5 Star Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Ranked #13 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Having tried some of the finest 5 star Hotels in Chennai before, I wanted to give Raintree Anna Salai a try and I regret my decision. I stayed there with my son for 4 nights in the last week of April 2013 in a twin-bed deluxe room. The first impression: It was a masquerade in the name of a 5 star Hotel. In fact, nothing about this Hotel seemed 5 Star to me, except the RATES!

Positives:
1. Good location & a good facade
2. Effortless check-in
3. Nice sound-proofing (even on the 4th floor, you do not hear much noise, though the Hotel is bang on the main road with heavy traffic by day)
4. Good Laundry (Though they don’t leave behind a copy of the checklist – You have no way of claiming any lost clothing in case they do)
5. Internet speed is good
6. Table service in ‘The Kitchen’ is quick

Negatives:
1. The rooms are small and look very ordinary (more like a 3 star deluxe property).
2. The décor in the Hotel and the room is too simple and lacks any sense of luxury that the Hotel is trying to portray
3. No in-room gadgetry or comforts that other 5 star Hotels provide as a ‘basic’
4. The twin beds had wheels on one end and legs on the other, something that one finds only in a Hospital! The Hospital beds have at least locks on the wheels, while these do not! Result: your bed keeps moving away every time you either recline on the head board or when you turn in your sleep! I could never sleep well on any of the 4 nights in those squeaky, mobile beds!
5. The shower alternator came off at the very first shower I tried to take (for a fairly new Hotel!)
6. The bathroom amenities are very minimal. Some 4 star Hotels provide better.
7. Poor housekeeping: Firstly, they never turn up in time when you call or order something in-room. Secondly, they always ask you when they can come back to clear the food tray: you tell them when and they make sure to never turn up!! This happened every time! Result: The leftover food stays overnight in the room and the room smells!
8. Elevators can only be accessed by the Hotel guests using their room key card, which fails many times and you have to go to the Reception time and again to have it updated! Saw many guests fretting.
9. Buffet breakfast spread at ‘The Kitchen’ does not offer much variety and the taste of the food leaves much to be desired. Bacon is always burnt stiff, no one checks to turn the food in the chafing dishes and they end up getting burnt or becoming hard and crunchy!
10. A few waiters need to learn manners in handling guests: I had once ordered a bottle of beer over lunch and when the guy learnt that I am staying in the Hotel, he simply tried to take away the bottle as it was not a part of the free buffet! He could have asked if I would like to pay for it and I would damn well said ‘YESSS’!
11. The rooftop pool location is excellent but the pool is too small (for kids only?) and not a soul to supervise during the day time.

Lastly, I would any day prefer to spend the same money and get a much better deal in many ways in other Hotels like the Hyatt, rather than stay again in the Raintree which calls itself an ‘Eco-sensitive business Hotel’. Would do better if they could be pocket-sensitive too, if they cannot live up to be a 5 star Hotel, as they claim!

Room Tip: "Choose Higher floors facing the Main Road, for a good view"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Flying_Priest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I have noted your detailed feedback . Please feel free to write to me or call me at +91.9962222678 or e-mail at eam.annasalai@raintreehotels.com.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,204)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,204 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here during official trip. Found it as a practical hotel with all comforts, expected from a star hotel. The location is an added advantage, but with the arterial road (anna salai) dug up for the new Metro Train in Chennai, there is lot of rerouting.
The hotel is great for business stay, but for a leisure trip, something else. Had dined in the Punjabi Restaurant "Up North" that served good food. Those manning the reception area could be guys with more experience as they seemed quite fresh from college and were almost rude, quite unexpected from a hotel of this category.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the arterial road of Chennai "Anna Salai" offers a panaromic view in the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SURESH M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback. Do share more details if possible for your Front of the House Experience as it shall help me to take necessary steps for further Improvement. My e-mail is eam.annasalai@raintreehotels.com.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Piyush Tyagi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband and I were extremely impressed with the professionalism, service and overall experience at the Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai. The staff there made us feel very welcome and were very helpful and accommodating. The spa at the top level of the hotel provided the best massage I have ever had and the therapist was incredible. The rooms, pool, rooftop bar and restaurants were all well kept and run. We were lucky enough to attend a function in one of the function rooms on the first level (see photos) - and wow! The food was perfectly crafted and artfully designed, tasted beautiful and thoroughly impressed us. In fact, all food from the restaurants in the hotel (headed up by chef Mark Crocker) was fantastic, offering a range of cuisines including Indian, 'oriental', and traditional continental. Karaoke night was a lot of fun too! Overall, a very pleasing, relaxing and enjoyable stay. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely return!

Rebecca,
Melbourne, Australia

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebeccaW85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

A stylish, sleek and modern facility. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, service is excellent and very well balanced, and not as overbearing as I've experienced in other hotels. (In fact, a member of the housekeeping staff noticed I'd left behing a charger case at check-out and made the effort to seek me out to return it).

I stayed in a street-facing room on a mid-level floor, so there was quite a bit of street noise, but not to a point where it made the stay unpleasant. For a quick, 2-night stay for business travel, this hotel perfectly suited my needs and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARR0623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great Loby , very modern. The staff very professional and nice. The rooms also great and very modern. The hotel provide airport pick up or drop that is only 20 minutes to 40 minutes away . Also very easy to go to central Chennai.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was their at the High bar last week & awesome location to chill out with the view of the city in 360 degrees.Adding the ambiance & a big screen to watch the match with my friends.Will try coming once again to high to enjoy with my friends.I would suggest some snack on the house.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SriGarapati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Visiting Chennai for wife's Conference and just on a hunch booked this Hotel. I must say the brightest part of our stay in Chennai was The Raintree.
You walk in to a very Modern hotel, clean, fresh and rejuvenating!!
Staff are simply superb. Service is delivered with a smile and a lot of attention to detail.
The food is fantastic!! I understand the restaurant called Kitchen is ranked at 4# in Chennai I felt it should be at 1#.
Kids enjoyed it thoroughly. Will visit Chennai again just for this place!!
Well done Raintree!! Take a bow!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gudsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Greetings from The Raintree Hotel Annasalai!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we have met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
946 reviews
T. Nagar
Grand by GRT Hotels
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,001 reviews
T. Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
T. Nagar
The Accord Metropolitan
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
959 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,295 reviews
Royapettah
Taj Club House
Taj Club House
#17 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Address: 636 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#32 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $76 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, spa and a GYM. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows which come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and iron and Ironing Board. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant -UP North with stunning views of Chennai's skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 15-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing