We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warm and pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Ranked #14 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“warm and pleasant”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Everything about this place is so warm and pleasant. Be it be the ambience,decoration they had in place or the very friendly and courteous staff around. visit the madras restaurant at lobby level

The starters are mind blowing. We had Vazhapoo Vadai, Ahha Enna Rusi Kuzhi Paniyaaram. I generally hate Paniyaarams, but this one I just couldn't resist. so holy.
Absolutely overwhelmed by the starters, we ended up ordering a plethora of things for main course. To start with, Aapams which they serve one by one right out of the stove. We had stew and authentic Kerala Kadala Curry. The vegetables in the stew were boiled in the right proportion and they just melt in your mouth. After that we had Pulav and Kai Curry side dish and one Andhra special Potato in Cashew Gravy . the andhra spicy pulav was so delicious
And, not to forget the music being played throughout, we had flute being played which was truly divine.
On the whole, this place is a must visit, not just once, but every time you want to have a peaceful time with your familyand friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SINGARAMMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience at Madras and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    433
    63
    14
    20
See reviews for
186
150
91
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have stayed at both the Raintree's in Chennai & this one is definitely the better of the two. The lobby is beautiful. The rooms are well laid out with essential furniture. The room service is efficient & fast. The people overall are friendly. Also, if you have stayed there before, the check-in process is faster as they use your previously shared details.

Room Tip: There is construction going on in front of the hotel (I think for the Chennai metro), so getting in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shantanu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

As a frequent flyer on a second trip to Chennai for holiday and shopping we found The Raintree Hotel to be the best. Its satff are very friendly and approachable from the start. We stayed for three nights and four days leaving late for the aiprort. Staff are very courteous, with great communication and interpersonal skills, willing to assist, provide advice and care for you and your belongings.

The food is fabulous, the amenties are great as we enjoyed the gym, pool and spa /beauty salon We stayed in a deluxe room with two window views. The room is very spacious and the facilites are excellent. We found this hotel was the best in shopping at T Nagar for Indian customes and jewellery.

Easy access to transport and to other shopping centers is a bonus. A very welcoming general manager who makes himself available with warm greetings during breakfast. A place must to visit and experience and we will surely be back in the near future.

Umesh & Jasmine Narayan, Sydney NSW, Australia.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny,and great window views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UMESH N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Raintree appears to be more of a business than tourist hotel, which made for a nice introduction to our Southern India trip to not seem on the totally tourist route. It is on a main road, with no reason to walk around the neighborhood, unless you need a pharmacy (conveniently located across the road at a hospital). The food, both buffet breakfast (with eggs prepared as you wish) and from the a la carte dinner menu, was well-prepared, with a good variety at the buffet. There is a bar and restaurant on the roof with a good view over the city. The rooms are modern and well appointed and the staff very accommodating. Not atmospheric, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and dinning experience and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

i stayed here for 3 nights prices are too high.no value.foods are not good in taste.they are not allowing the guests inside the room the bed is not so comfotable just a hotel thats all nothing to say just average thats all

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vimalgiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review.

Our rates has been aligned with the city hotels, i am not aware of this incident wherein you had disliked the taste of food, may i request you to let me know in which restaurant did you dine.
However we do not allow any visitor in the room due to security reasons, unless one is registered as a sharer with authentic ID proofs and sharing room.

You could reach me on gm.annasalai@raintreehotels.com

We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is certainly not a 5 star luxury hotel as advertised, may be a 4 star business hotel. Good things first: Got a good deal(20% less than the hotel's discounted quote) through an online travel portal and took 2 club rooms as I was travelling on business with colleagues. Complimentary airport pickup was good, the vehicle had chilled water/soft-drink(complimentary) and newspaper/magazine. The hotel looks very new and well maintained, check-in was good and staff were courteous. Our 9th floor rooms were of decent size and had good views of the city. The wi-fi speed was good. The sky lounge(by the pool) and the Up North roof top restaurant have great views of the city in the evening and good to spend the evenings. The complimentary breakfast was good but not as lavish as in the other good 4/5 star hotels. The dinner at "Up North" was pretty good and the staff their were very efficient.

Now the not so good bits:
After check-in when I went to the room, the room had no power but I could get in as the door-lock had power. Called reception, they said they will send somebody immediately. Called again after 10 minutes as nobody showed up, after a further 5 minutes, a technician came and fixed it, apparently something had tripped in the mains. Again in the night, when I came back from dinner, power was there but the AC and all the sockets were not working. That got fixed after I gave a call to housekeeping. Woke up in the middle of the night sweating and found that there was no power in the room and hence AC had stopped. Called housekeeping yet another time, this time the technicians came within 5 minutes and took 25 minutes to fix the glitch. After that there was no more power problems.
For the wi-fi, one has to call the technician and he will come and input the password in your device. And I was told that only one device will be allowed to connect as it was complimentary. What kind of business hotel follow such practice?
The club floor(9th) has an executive club lounge which doesn't have most of the alcohols, no wonder it was empty most of the time.
The pool appeared to be rather small.
Many good tv channels gave "no subscription" message, this looked cheap.
The worst part is their final invoice. The invoice doesn't show the item names clearly, just the group name and has multiple lines(one for each tax component) for each item. Most of the items have ridiculously high prices but that is what one expects when the hotel rates itself as a 5 star luxury!

Room Tip: Take rooms on higher floors as this hotel is along a very busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

However the point of concern are well taken and i assure you to overcome the shortfall going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I really appreciated the hotel, the ambiance and the food. The Indian restaurant on the rooftop if a great place to have a hearty dinner. The only issue is that it is located on Anna Salai which is a task to maneuver these days due to metro construction. The bakery in the hotel is also good.

Overall very positive.

Room Tip: Non smoking floors are on the lower floors and smoking floors are higher. This is the case in most h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VitalStatics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G_M-The_Raintree, General Manager at The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Sir/Ma'am,

Vanakkam!!!

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, feedback like your will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

I appreciate your concern due to the metro construction, however this is the situation across Chennai to which i anticipate shall ease down soon.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Raintree Hotel, Anna Salai.

Best Regards

Perkin Rocha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#5 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
874 reviews
The Accord Metropolitan
#29 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
899 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#23 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
848 reviews
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#19 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai

Property: The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
Address: 636 Anna Salai | Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600035, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Alwarpet South
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#20 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Raintree Anna Salai Hotel is located a 20-minute drive from Chennai International Airport. It provides well-appointed rooms and 5-star facilities like a Swimming Pool, spa and a GYM. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available for 24 hours. Rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden flooring and large windows which come with a flat-screen cable TV, coffee/tea maker and iron and Ironing Board. Select rooms have a bathtub in the bathroom. Guests can pamper themselves with massages and body treatments at the spa or take a dip in the large outdoor pool. There is also a well-equipped fitness center for guests convenience at The Raintree Anna Salai. The Raintree Hotel offers a memorable dining experience at its rooftop restaurant -UP North with stunning views of Chennai's skyline accompany the delicious meals. Both a local and international menu is available. Located in Chennai, The Raintree Hotel Anna Salai is a 15-minute drive from Chennai Central Train Station. Nearby tourist attractions include Marina Beach, the Santhome Cathedral Basilica and Kapalashewar Temple. The hotel is about 3 km from the United States Consulate in Chennai. T - Nagar is a great choice for travelers interested in Shopping for clothes, Shopping and Culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Raintree Hotel, Annasalai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing