We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Outing”
Review of The Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Farm
Ranked #17 of 390 Chennai (Madras) B&B and Inns
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Family Outing”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Farm is a very good place for a family outing within city where you can easily spend
4-5 hours in a relaxed green atmosphere.

It would be a very good attraction for children and particularly small toddlers who would
have not got a chance to see Chickens, Roosters, Buffalo`s in person and very close.
They have horses aswell and horse riding is definitely a hit with kids. Its spread across
many acres and you can freely roam around and relax near the lake area.

The food offered there is pretty decent and caters to people who does not stick to "give
me just idly/dosa" types. Childrens can get their hands with Pizza making.

The people who run the show Arul and Shalini are really very hospitable and address your
every need. Its interesting to note that they charge only for the food and you can explore
the farm more without paying anything extra. They even offer a snooker table and a good
shuttle to play aswell.

They do have a small splash pool however it was not functional when we were there.

Its defintiely for small family with kids or for people who want to wander close to the nature.

Keep your expectations low and you would be pleasantly surprised and infact enjoy your
trip to the Farm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vijay_Narayanan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
21
8
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The farm is conveniently located and works as a wonderful option for a day long outing. We went there for lunch and the food was delicious, hot and quick. The service was warm and attentive. We went there on a weekday, so we had the whole place to ourselves. The restaurant area is very welcoming and well done up. The kids made their own pizzas and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. They went on a farm walk and fed the chickens and calves and also enjoyed meeting the horses. The splash pool was not functional, but that would be a wonderful added attraction for the kids. All in all we spent a lovely afternoon eating and enjoying the farm life. It rained and that kind of added to the charm of the place. The only problem was that the toilet was not clean enough. Hopefully, the owners will have that corrected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayatri1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great food, ambience and wonderfully located. Loved the experiance and will go back several times more!!

The food requires special mention as the quality was really good and well presented too. The staff were courteous and well mannered, knowledgeable too as their recommendations were really good.

The location was great and very well maintained. It was pleasure going there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

A friend had recommended us to it...but asked us not to expect too much and get disappointed. Felt I had to write this review...as the effort gone into this place speaks of genuine passion..but seriously want the owners to work on the logistics so that the experience isn't spoilt.

Pleasantly surprised by little things
- the well ventilated cool dining area
- Kids allowed to make their own pizzas - THEIR BIGGEST USP
- the hens , cows wandering around...felt good to let my kids have this experience...a big change from shopping malls, fine dining places, video games, etc
- their yogurt ...the best we had ever tasted
- loved their parathas and wood baked pizzas too
- the splash pool...my kids ganged up with the other kids who were visited and they had a ball of a time

Need to work on
- restrooms....THIS SHD BE TAKEN AS PRIORITY
- more people for service..there were 50 pax dining at the same time..but only 2 waiters

Salute the passion of the owners again to try and make this concept work with the resource restraints....

and definitely going back again another time....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank preeti_ecoindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arpora, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent two nights at The Farm in March and loved it. The experience of living on a working farm with horses and cows and chickens was unique and our only regret was that our son wasn't with us. The owners are a hands-on family that know and love their property and are happy to share it with visitors.

The rooms are large with wonderfully comfortable mattresses and cooled by super efficient air-conditioners -- a blessing in the blazing Chennai heat. They are thoughtfully equipped with tea/coffee supplies so you don't have to make a trek to the common dining area if you are an early riser like me.

The Farm has 12 rooms and a restaurant. There were a bunch of interesting people staying over when we were visiting including an Italian cheesemaker from Auroville so one evening we had the most amazing pizzas with an assortment of cheeses as a special treat at dinner. That the restaurant is filled to capacity with locals and IT professionals from the surrounding area at lunchtime is a measure of how popular it is, especially on the weekends.

It is the perfect place for kids to get to know nature and Arul and Shalini, the enthusiastic young couple who manage the show have plans to start a summer camp for kids in the near future. We are surely going to be regular visitors here -- the next time with a bunch of kids in tow!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoanBananas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The farm is not a place for people used to restaurant dining, or looking for a resort...for casual dining, in the outdoors, this is a great place. Small, and well maintained, you need to call in to pre-book as limited food is prepared. A great place to hang out as a group, or for family...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ar_di_gomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Well, the moment I got to know that we have a corporate outing at THE FARM , OMR , i came here to read the reviews , and reading them I was left disappointed as mostly were negative. But trust me , they seem to have learnt from the past and have improved a great deal. They did quite a decent job with us. ( The reviews are mostly an year old).

Well what I felt is The Farm is a different concept . You can only enjoy IFF, you are there in a group AND you love the nature. It is Just a farmland with a restaurant in the middle of it. Lots of open space, trees , Farm animals. People who want to have a FINE DINING and waiters floating around them need not visit. Thats not your place to be.
Families , if you want kids to enjoy the open spaces and let them play the games which your APARTMENT Complex cannot allow. Hide n seek, catch n run and what not. DO GO!

About food, it was fabulous in our case. The place is definitely family run and with the manpower tehy had they did a Fab job. !! Kudos . It was a buffet with tonnes of starters veg n NV, and the food was very much sufficient for a 100+ crowd ,unlike one of the reviews.
Dessert was justifiably limited like any other buffet. So no complains on that part.

For corporate outings, if you are going with the expectation of just eat n run, you will be cribbing in the end, but if you have a team which loves playing games and have fun, this is your place to be !!

Overall a very nice experience.

Only issue : Just one LOO !! ( It had a latch now so dont worry ), and Splash pool was under maintenance , dont know for how long !!

Room Tip: Dont go with the expectation of a chic and fine dining restaurent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishtar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
0.0 mi away
Esthell Village Resort
Esthell Village Resort
#12 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Radisson BLU Resort Temple Bay Mamallapuram
0.0 mi away
Chariot Beach Resort
Chariot Beach Resort
#8 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
MGM Eastwoods
MGM Eastwoods
#80 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
Grande Bay Resort and Spa
#2 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
383 reviews
0.0 mi away
Village Retreat
Village Retreat
#17 of 27 in Mahabalipuram
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Farm

Property: The Farm
Address: 1-277 Semancheri Village | Old Mahabalipuram Road, Chennai (Madras) 600119, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 390 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing