We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dingy, cheesy, not worth the money”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #91 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“Dingy, cheesy, not worth the money”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Chose this hotel as it was close to the US consulate, however the overall stay was disappointing. It's too cheesy and dingy, and has a dank odour permeating the interiors. Had a terrible experience at the restaurant -- veg offerings were zilch, and the waiter returned 3 times saying items on the menu were unavailable after taking the order. Finally settled for 2 unpalatable sandwiches, which during checkout, we realised were priced at...hold your breath Rs. 275 per sandwich.

I wouldn't advice vegetarians to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSSandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset please allow us to thank you for sharing your feedback.

Your comments and feedback are most valuable for us and we will surely work towards it.To begin with the problem of lights we have already taken steps for renovations and as far as your comment on restaurant we sincerely apologize for the mishap and inconvenient caused to you.

We have briefed the Team about your comments and in return got assurance of not to repeat the same in future.

Look forward to host you again in future with best experience.

Thanks & best regards,
Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    109
    84
    32
    23
See reviews for
44
38
39
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel is bang opposite to my office in Chennai and hence is first choice. The hotel is neat, great service, good food, great late night munches and in room dining. The rooms are small. have stayed 4 times till now and have great experince always.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akash H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Spring.

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and experience online.

Its with great pleasure we thank you and assure our best services to you in you future visits too.

Look forward to meet you in person in your next visit.

Thank with regards
Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

As the reviews before, this hotel is perfect for the US Embassy visit. Just a few minutes walk away saves on the hassles of getting back to your hotel in the searing heat of Chennai.
Coming to the hotel and the rooms itself:

Pros:
Location as mentioned to the US embassy.
Decent breakfast spread.
WiFi available.
Climate controller.
Room service (24 hours for limited dishes).

Cons:
Small room.
Feels a bit seedy.
Needs to be refurbished.
Uncomfortable bed
There is a pub below and its patrons were noisy till the late hours.

Overall for the purpose and price its a reasonable place if not visiting on a vacation.

Room Tip: Look for a room that is not on the same side as their on premise club/pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sir,
Greetings from The Spring Hotel,
At the outset please allow me to thank you for sharing your feedback online.
We value your feedback and are working towards the remarks.
We are also in the process of refurbishment of the property and I am sure you will find the remarkable improvement in your next visit.
Look forward to meet you in your future visit.
Thanks with regards,
Farida Khan
9551006688
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel is at a good location which i believe is a major plus point, with lot of offices and US embassy within walking distance.
Rooms are old and require renovation, cleanliness can also be improved.
Food is ok with decent variety available for selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeerajWadhwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel,

First of all thank you so much for sharing your feedback online.We highly appreciated your comments and also briefed to our TEAM.

We are in the process of refurbishment of the rooms in a phase manner and you will surely find the the positive difference in your future visit.

Look forward to meet you soon.

Thanks with regards,
Farida Khan
9551006688
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

One of the worst hotel experiences ever.

Horribly mannered staff, unneccessary combative.

Pathetic room, full of bling and cheap material. Terrible bed.

The washroom is a joke

The reception man kamlesh is a superstar in hiw own head.

The lights in the room are so dull that you cannot work and add to it the smell that comes throughout the hotel! Makes you feel you are living in a washroom, public washroom.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs. You have better ways to screw your days than to stay in this crap hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MehrotraRohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel.

I on behalf of The Spring Hotel sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel. Your comments are most valuable and we will diffidently work towards it.

It is our highest priority to our guest with an exceptional stay experience but what you experienced is totally unacceptable and we have already taken steps to ensure that this would not repeat again.

While we cannot change the past , we hope that you will not hold this incidents against your future visit and surely will give another chance to us to serve you better.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology.

Look forward to host you soon.

Thanks with regards

Farida Khan
9551660088
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent hotel to stay in for those visiting Chennai for US Visa.The Consulate is only 5 mins walk.The room was neat,AC works well,front desk staff very hospitable and helpful. The breakfast spread is excellent.Very near to shopping too.Very reasonable rates too. Will recommend to any.

Room Tip: Contact the staff for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagadish1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The The Spring Hotel,

Its our pleasure to see your feedback online.I thank you on behalf of The Spring Hotel which always works towards the improvement and betterment for the guest and services.

Your comment has motivated the Team in exceeding the expectation of the guest with regards to food and service.

Thank you once again and look forward to host you again in your future visit.

Best regards,

Farida Khan
9551006688
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The room was very neat and clean, the breakfast buffet is an absolute treat, the front desk staff very efficient. This place is definitely recommended for those who want to stay near the embassy. By walk, it takes roughly 10 mins to the embassy.
The hotel has a rich boutique hotel feel, there should be no complaints :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel....

On behalf of the The Spring Family , I thank you for sharing your comments and extending your positive feedback.

Its our great to know that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and not only that you also appreciated the services rendered by us.

Your pleasant feedback has motivated the team to work towards exceeding the expectation of the guest.

Thank you once again and look forward to host you again.

Thanks with best regards,
Farida Khan
9551006688
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#47 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,525 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#18 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
270 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#50 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Pratap Plaza Hotel
#63 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
94 reviews
Hotel Oriental Inn
#186 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
74 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Property: The Spring Hotel
Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing