We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to feel creepy and die of suffocation?”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #94 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed April 14, 2014

One of the worst hotel experiences ever.

Horribly mannered staff, unneccessary combative.

Pathetic room, full of bling and cheap material. Terrible bed.

The washroom is a joke

The reception man kamlesh is a superstar in hiw own head.

The lights in the room are so dull that you cannot work and add to it the smell that comes throughout the hotel! Makes you feel you are living in a washroom, public washroom.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs. You have better ways to screw your days than to stay in this crap hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MehrotraRohit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Sir,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel.

I on behalf of The Spring Hotel sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had at our hotel. Your comments are most valuable and we will diffidently work towards it.

It is our highest priority to our guest with an exceptional stay experience but what you experienced is totally unacceptable and we have already taken steps to ensure that this would not repeat again.

While we cannot change the past , we hope that you will not hold this incidents against your future visit and surely will give another chance to us to serve you better.

Once again, please accept our sincere apology.

Look forward to host you soon.

Thanks with regards

Farida Khan
9551660088

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 308 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Excellent hotel to stay in for those visiting Chennai for US Visa.The Consulate is only 5 mins walk.The room was neat,AC works well,front desk staff very hospitable and helpful. The breakfast spread is excellent.Very near to shopping too.Very reasonable rates too. Will recommend to any.

Room Tip: Contact the staff for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagadish1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The The Spring Hotel,

Its our pleasure to see your feedback online.I thank you on behalf of The Spring Hotel which always works towards the improvement and betterment for the guest and services.

Your comment has motivated the Team in exceeding the expectation of the guest with regards to food and service.

Thank you once again and look forward to host you again in your future visit.

Best regards,

Farida Khan
9551006688

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The room was very neat and clean, the breakfast buffet is an absolute treat, the front desk staff very efficient. This place is definitely recommended for those who want to stay near the embassy. By walk, it takes roughly 10 mins to the embassy.
The hotel has a rich boutique hotel feel, there should be no complaints :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arvind V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel....

On behalf of the The Spring Family , I thank you for sharing your comments and extending your positive feedback.

Its our great to know that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel and not only that you also appreciated the services rendered by us.

Your pleasant feedback has motivated the team to work towards exceeding the expectation of the guest.

Thank you once again and look forward to host you again.

Thanks with best regards,
Farida Khan
9551006688

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Although the rooms look old and cry out for renovation the location and service calls for a 4-star review. I have stayed here on all my visits to the US consulate which is just a few minutes away and found myself going back each time.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kchalaiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

At the outset thank you very much for taking your time out and sharing your comment online.

We at Spring Hotel, always strive towards the betterment of the guest satisfaction.Your feedback has further motivated us to work on exceeding the expectation of the guest by par services.

Looking forward to host you again and meet you in person.

Thanks with best regards,

Farida Khan
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

You get what you pay for. Rooms were pretty decent and the service was also good. The best option for people coming for an interview at the US Consulate. Of course The Park is the nearest hotel, however, it falls close to Rs. 4000 higher than what you would pay at The Spring.

Room Tip: Do not book with the hotel directly. Try the travel sites as they offer a better rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel Chennai.

First of all thank you very much for showing the interest and taking the time out to share your review online. Its been a pleasure to know that you found our Hotel suitable for your requirement and off course the services rendered by us.

Once again thank you as your your comment has given us the motivation to work towards the betterment and also the best satisfaction for the guest.

Look forward to host you again.

Thanks with best regards,

Farida Khan
9551660088

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were told to come to the hotel 12 hours before we were supposed to arrive at Chennai but told there were no rooms. SO did not get a chance to experience the hotel,The only consolation was we were given an alternative room in a pathetic hotel chariot , t nagar.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank balajisb86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel.

At the outset please allow me to thank you for sharing your feedback online, further more to your comment surely we would request you to book the room before arrival and carry the confirmation voucher along while check-in.

Anyhow please do contact the undersign for last minute booking and will assure you have a pleasant and comfortable stay with The Spring.

Look forward to hear from you and host you soon..

Thanks with best regards,
Farida Khan
9551660088

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I will never stay at this hotel again. The club in the basement plays load music from 1pm - 11pm which makes the entire shake including rooms on the top floor. The booking was made for 2 nights and they refused to honor the online booking even though I was charged and had a receipt. And their manager was extremely rude and accusatory. This is the worse hotel experience I have had in 14 years in India and will ask the online booking portal to take them down.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Deval S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Spring Hotel.

At the outset please allow me to convey my sincere apology towards the inconvenience caused to you during your visit at our Hotel.

I totally agree with your discomfort and I have spoken to my Portal Partner wherein the booking was generated but not confirmed by the Hotel as it was house full.As far as the music of the Pub is concerned it is serious note and we are working towards arresting it.

Sir, we have noted your concern strongly, and will surely work towards it.

I am sure you will not hold this incident against us and will give us another chance to serve you better.

Look forward to host you again

Best Regards,
Farida Khan
9551660088

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#47 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,633 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#20 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
313 reviews
The Chariot
#217 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Woods Hotel
#14 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
358 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Belstead
The Belstead
#64 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
34 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#56 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $39 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing