We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spring!”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #94 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Spring!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed at The Spring Hotel for two days and two nights during our recent visit to Chennai. The hotel is in very close proximity to the US Visa Consulate (5 mins by walk) and the US visa OFC (10 minutes by auto rickshaw in peak traffic). It is approximately a 30 minute ride to the airport. The hotel property is relatively new, with a boutique feel. The staff at the reception desk, housekeeping division are all very welcoming and courteous. The room that we stayed in was very spacious, with clean linen, clean bathroom and toilets. The staff respected our privacy when it mattered.

During our stay we did get to try out The Movies restaurant. The hotel staff were well mannered and helpful. Both breakfast and lunch buffet spreads had a lot of options, but they were not extraordinary to taste. Breakfast buffet is complimentary for the guests. If you fancy to eat something which is not in the breakfast spread, the Chef will be happy to prepare it for you (e.g. dosa). The a la carte menu is more detailed and the food can be custom ordered to suit your palate - which I highly recommend.

Request a room in one of the higher floors.

Cons: The walls of the room are not sound proof, as we could hear the noises from the hallway late in the night. The restaurant room service is very slow, so if you are hungry I recommend you to go to the restaurant and grab a bite.

Near the hotel: There are good eating joints and restaurants within walking distance, for those who fancy to taste the South-Indian delicacies. We did not get a chance to explore the night life options, but there is a pub attached to the hotel. Travel options include auto-rickshaws that are available right outside the hotel. They tend to overcharge you if they know you are a guest at The Spring, so use your bargaining skills. The taxi ride to the airport at a nominal price can be arranged by requesting the reception desk few hours in advance.

Room Tip: Request a room in one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcmallya85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for sharing your review.We are pleased to hear that we met your expectation during you stay at our Hotel.

In addition this will also motivate the TEAM to improve further and also exceed the expectation as well.

Look forward to welcome you again at THE SPRING HOTEL.

Thanks with best regards,
Front Office Manager
CELL: 9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    109
    84
    32
    23
See reviews for
44
38
39
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I booked this hotel by checking trip advisor reviews. Well don't go by them. The hotel sucks. Rooms are dirty. Bed sheets have stains on them towels are yellow. Stains on sofas/chairs. The hotel is dull and not welcoming at all. Staff is welcoming but that is the only positive.

My advice don't book. Pay little more and stay elsewhere

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shay301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpring13, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from THE SPRING HOTEL

To begin with thank you for sharing the review and further to your comments please except my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused during your past stay at our Hotel.

We have noted your feedback and are working on it towards the betterment.

i am sure sure you will find a remarkable improvement in you future visit to our Hotel.

Looking forward to host you soon.

Thank with best regards,

Front Office Manager
Cell:9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
The Spring Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my first time stay at this hotel. I wanted to give this hotel 5 rating but the reason I gave 4 star was because they gave me a room just above the star rock pub and that had some loud music!! So make sure to take a room away from the star rock pub. Rooms are of decent size and very clean. If you are going for a visa interview, this is the best hotel for the price. It's literally walking distance (max 10 min) from the US consulate. I would definitely recommend this hotel. My stay was decent, I am going to Chennai in January and I will be staying at this place again. Good job guys!! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Take higher floors and away from pub, to prevent from loud music at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adarsh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring. Best Regards
Balaji. R
Duty manager
9551250515
reservations@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for a dinner with few friends , the staff response was okay but can be improved . We had to call them each and every time to ask for water to Bread for any thing required .. they didnt voluntarily ask want we wanted even though the number of people having their dinner were very less as it was a compact place with not much crowd .

Non Veg Food - was not spicy and not upto the mark, there could be more varieties . Even though i don’t eat Non veg, this was review from people who ate it .

Veg Food - All the veg food including kadai veg was sweet, Aalo Fry was sweet too. Broccoli Biryani is not something which everyone prefers instead there could have been something other better Biryani . in the name of innovation , the food taste was spoiled.

Deserts - Was not upto the mark, Coconut Burfi was dry , seems tobe made with dry coconut . Not much good variety on desert side to eat. Parupu payasam is something we eat normally on all occasions at home and keeping that as part of the menu was not a good choice instead there could have been something else . Fruit Salad was not upto the mark with some of the fruits not fully ripped and not fit to eat. The cost of the food keeping this menu we felt was too high compared to any other veg restaurant that has a full Buffet dinner for much lower cost even though this is a Veg and Non veg Restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sundarraman2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patna
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here for work. The experience was nice. Though I had read some rather unfavourable reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor I took the advice of a friend and opted to stay here. I don’t have regrets. It’s a nice hotel. The staff were not bad. The breakfast was good and adequate for business travelers. We were two of us, me and my colleague. She was also happy with the hotel. The location suited us just fine. I will be going to Chennai again in a few months and will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nareshlal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food & Staff

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last month during an official visit.
The hotel is bang in the central district which is a huge plus point. The lobby is small but good. Arrived at 5 am... had a smooth checkin. The rooms are compact with wooden flooring, beds are good, curtains need a change, chairs require new upholsters....overall rooms require good maintenance.
The toilet is neat with a separate bath cubicle. The towels were clean with regular complimentary toiletries.
On arrival noticed, TV was not working but there was no support from staff. Even after 3 hours there was not an attempt to repair the same. This was finally repaired at 8 pm after several followups.....
Their complimentary breakfast was good. The restaurant is good with a new theme....based on movies.
Overall it was an average stay. With the location as a big plus point and good maintenance... this can be a good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food. And your feedback on the Hotel maintenance part will be definitely taken care by the management.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay, in regards to maintenance. We have narrowed the causes of concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Best Regards
Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldives
Level Contributor
87 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

rooms were extremely small and not well maintained. more like hotels in Singapore. i just over heard that the hotel belongs to a famous south Indian actor. which is why where corner of this hotel represents movie industry, every chair of the restaurant has a picture of an actor, i even saw batman :) very colorful and interesting sights. and the food was awesome... good selection and tasty. locations is also convenient. its only the rooms i didn't like, too dark and poorly maintained..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmalYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food and the Restaurant. And your feedback on the Hotel Rooms and the maintenance part of it will be definitely taken to our management.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#49 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,524 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
269 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#52 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Pratap Plaza Hotel
#63 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
94 reviews
Hotel Oriental Inn
#186 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
74 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#12 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Property: The Spring Hotel
Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing