We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hyatt Regency Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Hyatt Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$104
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Residency Towers(Chennai (Madras))
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$166
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$97
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leela Palace Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Chennai by GRT Hotels(Chennai (Madras))
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Chennai(Chennai (Madras))
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Savera Hotel(Chennai (Madras))
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveler rating
61
118
93
34
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
118
93
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelvalue for moneywalkable distancethe heart of the cityroom servicerooms are cleancomplimentary breakfastquality of foodvisabiovacchennaikodambakkaminterviewambiencespeed
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 331 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was my first time stay at this hotel. I wanted to give this hotel 5 rating but the reason I gave 4 star was because they gave me a room just above the star rock pub and that had some loud music!! So make sure to take a room away from the star rock pub. Rooms are of decent size and very clean. If you are going for a visa interview, this is the best hotel for the price. It's literally walking distance (max 10 min) from the US consulate. I would definitely recommend this hotel. My stay was decent, I am going to Chennai in January and I will be staying at this place again. Good job guys!! Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Take higher floors and away from pub, to prevent from loud music at night.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adarsh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring. Best Regards
Balaji. R
Duty manager
9551250515
reservations@thespringhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for a dinner with few friends , the staff response was okay but can be improved . We had to call them each and every time to ask for water to Bread for any thing required .. they didnt voluntarily ask want we wanted even though the number of people having their dinner were very less as it was a compact place with not much crowd .

Non Veg Food - was not spicy and not upto the mark, there could be more varieties . Even though i don’t eat Non veg, this was review from people who ate it .

Veg Food - All the veg food including kadai veg was sweet, Aalo Fry was sweet too. Broccoli Biryani is not something which everyone prefers instead there could have been something other better Biryani . in the name of innovation , the food taste was spoiled.

Deserts - Was not upto the mark, Coconut Burfi was dry , seems tobe made with dry coconut . Not much good variety on desert side to eat. Parupu payasam is something we eat normally on all occasions at home and keeping that as part of the menu was not a good choice instead there could have been something else . Fruit Salad was not upto the mark with some of the fruits not fully ripped and not fit to eat. The cost of the food keeping this menu we felt was too high compared to any other veg restaurant that has a full Buffet dinner for much lower cost even though this is a Veg and Non veg Restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sundarraman2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here for work. The experience was nice. Though I had read some rather unfavourable reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor I took the advice of a friend and opted to stay here. I don’t have regrets. It’s a nice hotel. The staff were not bad. The breakfast was good and adequate for business travelers. We were two of us, me and my colleague. She was also happy with the hotel. The location suited us just fine. I will be going to Chennai again in a few months and will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nareshlal39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food & Staff

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last month during an official visit.
The hotel is bang in the central district which is a huge plus point. The lobby is small but good. Arrived at 5 am... had a smooth checkin. The rooms are compact with wooden flooring, beds are good, curtains need a change, chairs require new upholsters....overall rooms require good maintenance.
The toilet is neat with a separate bath cubicle. The towels were clean with regular complimentary toiletries.
On arrival noticed, TV was not working but there was no support from staff. Even after 3 hours there was not an attempt to repair the same. This was finally repaired at 8 pm after several followups.....
Their complimentary breakfast was good. The restaurant is good with a new theme....based on movies.
Overall it was an average stay. With the location as a big plus point and good maintenance... this can be a good hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kamsjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation, your feedback will also keep the team motivated. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food. And your feedback on the Hotel maintenance part will be definitely taken care by the management.

Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay, in regards to maintenance. We have narrowed the causes of concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Best Regards
Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

rooms were extremely small and not well maintained. more like hotels in Singapore. i just over heard that the hotel belongs to a famous south Indian actor. which is why where corner of this hotel represents movie industry, every chair of the restaurant has a picture of an actor, i even saw batman :) very colorful and interesting sights. and the food was awesome... good selection and tasty. locations is also convenient. its only the rooms i didn't like, too dark and poorly maintained..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmalYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from “THE SPRING”

Thank you very much for sharing your review. We really appreciate this gesture and feedback.

Thank you very much on your positive feedback on Food and the Restaurant. And your feedback on the Hotel Rooms and the maintenance part of it will be definitely taken to our management.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Spring.

Manikandan
Front Office manager
9551660088
fom@thespringhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews