We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“splendid!!!”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #94 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“splendid!!!”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I was blown away with the service provided at The spring.. The rooms were beautifully decorated and the bed was really comfy.. not too far away from main shopping area.. the staffs were very humble n courteous.. i would 100% recommend this hotel. everything was just awesome at this hotel.. i truly enjoyed my stay.. definitely goin back again next year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DThanabalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Spring!

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. I have shared your valuable feedback with concerned departments.

Guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. Team The Spring looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

M. Srinivasan
The Spring hotel
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
44
38
40
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Good location walking distance from US embassy. The rooms were clean and comfortable . The biggest negative were the dim lights and lights that refused to turn off at night. Lot of things were not upto the mark- no shower cap, kettle not working, safe not closing but service was excellent and the staff very polite, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank uttaraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Spring!

Thank you so much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive feedbacks, also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and assure you that the respective corrective measures are taken with no time spared to ensure the same never reoccur.

Look forward to have you stay with us again.

We assure you the best service at all times.

Thanks & Regards

M. Srinivasan
The Spring Hotel
fom@thespringhotel.com
98415 77774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auroville, India
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Spring Hotel is in a good location for access to places in Chennai and the service is quite good from the bell staff to the reception and the restaurant. These are the good points.

This is a theme hotel and I imagine that if you like the theme then you may find the hotel interesting. It is based around the more contemporary movie scene in India and it’s not a theme that I particularly enjoy. Of course this means that the décor; colours and furnishings are quite over-the-top and the colours clash, at best, or are just inappropriate depending on how you wish to look at it.
The best things about the room are the use of LED lighting and the bathroom. My room was too small with decoration seemingly done by somebody who likes shiny silvery grey wherever possible mixed with inappropriate brown and a clashing blue. In short I suppose it could have been worse but not much. It is hardly a presentation that suggests relaxation in a hotel room and I think that this is an important consideration. The room could also do with some maintenance.

So due to the décor alone I won’t be returning but apart from that the hotel is fine.

Room Tip: At the back of the property to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Spring!!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

It is heartening to note that our services provided by the team were appreciated. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you. It is a continuous endeavor to offer our discerning travelers indigenous, luxury experiences through our commitment to quality service.

We truly value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in your future visits.

Best Regards,

M.Srinivasan
The Spring Hotel
fom@thespringhotel.com
98415 77774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

i had booked a room at this hotel 1 month prior to the date of arrival. I had even called them, after sending them an email. I had called them the previous day for enquiring about some details, when i find out that they do not have any reservation at all.

i sent them images of our call logs ( one call made from my end, and another in which they had called me) and sent them the email of my request to reserve a room, the reply i recieve is, we are sorry, you hae not recieved a confirmation by email, and hence the room is not booked.

I guess there is a reason why when filmstars hotels like these, they cant match up tothe standard of a TAJ or The Park, as it run by a bunch of illitrate people.

Too bad Mr Filmstar, you may have all the money to bulid a hotel and display your fancy cars at the driveway, but i guess you have to first understand what hospitality is all about.

Room Tip: If you need a room, it is not worth 3500. If you are from one of the corporates, you will be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishaniya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Ms. Ipsitha

Greetings from the spring!

First of all please allow me to apologize on behalf of the spring team; I can explain you that approximately we receive many number of enquires per day. You had only enquired on the availability of the room for the mentioned date one month earlier and in addition to that if you had made any booking we will send you the formal confirmation of the booking. We understand you regularly patronize us in the past and you had insisted for the two singles rooms in the last minute a day before the arrival, as you are very particular about the spring. Since we were sold out for the entire week, we are unable to accommodate the rooms in the last minute. Being our esteemed client we went out of our way to block the rooms in other hotel as per your suggestion and informed the higher officials of the hotel to extend best of our hospitality as we have been doing it to you. Our sincere request to you in future please block the room and request for the confirmation from any hotel to avoid last minute embracement.

Thanks for your courteous,

Team the spring looks forward to welcoming you back

Warm Regards

M. Srinivasan
The Spring Hotel
fom@thespringhotel.com
98415 77774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

The lighting conditions are very poor,
The deluxe single room is very less spacious
Room service is very costly like a five star. Staff is courteous. I have been to the restaurant in the past so there's nothing new to say. It's good.
I would never return since the room lights are too poor. Few LED lights like spot lights can't light up your room

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Sir

Greetings from the spring!

It is a great pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments to the team at front desk and service are also very much appreciated.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, which not only gives us an idea of where our strengths are but also provides important insights into where we can make improvements. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments for appropriate action to be taken.

Once again thanks for your feedback.

We certainly hope to see you again when you next return to Chennai.

Yours sincerely,

M.Srinivasan
The Spring Hotel
fom@thespringhotel.com
98415 77774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed at The Spring hotel chennai for a night . The stay was awesome with a minor glitch of picking me up at the railway station. The driver took almost an hour to locate us which was very irritating. The check in was super fast. The room I booked was very small so upgraded myself to a suite which was very big and luxurious by all standards. The rooms require some maintenance work if they want to compete with the best. Overall it was a good experience and is quite a place to stay in. The staff was very helpful and courteous . They took extra care to help me out with my travel arrangements( specially a guy named as Vikas ).

Room Tip: Suite rooms are large and very luxuriously decorated. Opt for the buffet lunch as it is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZerbadePankaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Pankaj Zerbade,

Greetings from the Spring!

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. I have shared your valuable feedback with concerned departments.

Guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. Your comments not only gives us an idea of where our strengths are but also provides important insights into where we can make improvements. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments for appropriate action to be taken.

Team The Spring looks forward to welcoming you back.


Kind Regards

M. Srinivasan
The Spring hotel
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Nice place to stay, staff was courteous.
Food was good with variety(Buffet).
Only thing that I encountered was DIM light in the rooms, had to use my phones light to look for things in corners( dropped my USB).
And the net connection was dead slow.
Told the manager regarding the same.
But rest it was all in all pleasant and nice stay.

Room Tip: Hotel is good, rooms are situated in long corridors, you can ask for the end rooms coz elevator is i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macbhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the spring!

It is a great pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments to the team at front desk and service are also very much appreciated.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, which not only gives us an idea of where our strengths are but also provides important insights into where we can make improvements. Your comments have been shared our management to brightening the lights in the rooms. And also we have increase the speed of the wi-fi connectivity.

Once again thanks for your feedback.

We certainly hope to see you again when you next return to Chennai.

Yours sincerely,

M.Srinivasan 
Front Office manager
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#48 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,549 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#15 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
282 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#54 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chariot
#257 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
66 reviews
Nungambakkam
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Pratap Plaza Hotel
#62 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
96 reviews
Nungambakkam
Treebo Elan
Treebo Elan
#122 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Property: The Spring Hotel
Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing