We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Spring, value for money”
Review of The Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Spring Hotel
Ranked #98 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Spring, value for money”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Spring, continue to be my favorite hotel in Chennai. Why, I still experience the same feel, when I stay there 2 day ago equally like my last 2 visit.
Modern Touch - a different makeup from conventional South India hotel setup gives the hipp feeling. Cosy design - rooms interior design speakable, ambient lighting, well maintained, comfy beds and perfect for 2. Tasty food, while I enjoyed a great meal(breakfast&dinner), the cinematic theme(pictures&cinefacts) gives the restaurant 'the movie' a filmambiente ambience while dining. Splendid choice of food including "nasi lemak and stay" for Malaysian like me. Whats more, 24x7 open kitchen, not many hotel caters this. Excellence service - front staff, housekeeping and f&b staff beside courteous demonstrate speed and agility when requested. Well located - a brief drive to Chennai’s most famous shopping outlets. Free and speedy wifi, that helps me to be prepared before heads out for the day. In short, value for money.

What I would like to have, a slightly bigger room for family stay, non-distorted TV Channels(skynet)-noticeable when it rains, probably a simple add-on 'restaurant' word next to "The Movie" signature.

Look forward for a next stay !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kumar_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Mr Kumar,

Greetings from the Spring!

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. I have shared your valuable feedback with concerned departments.

Guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. Team The Spring looks forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks & Regards

M. Srinivasan
Front Office Manager
The Spring hotel
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    84
    32
    24
See reviews for
44
38
40
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have to say this hotel is small. but their prices aren't expensive comparing to other hotels. If you're going to stay only one or two nights then it should be fine. I was staying at this hotel for five days. on arrival i was given a soft drink and they gave me a room on a second floor. i was bit worried about the mosquitoes thankfully they was none in my hotel room. another good thing about this hotel is a location. Marina beach and Shopping Centers are close to the hotel.

DAY 1: I noticed that SAFE DEPOSIT BOX in the room wasn't working and i rang the reception twice to notify them. ( Their response was they'll send someone to fix it..... but never been fixed while am there)

Secondly there was a small sign saying 'DO NOT TOUCH THE SHOWER'. I assume the main Shower is broken and there was an another Shower Tab but it was difficult to use as i have to hold the shower tab on my hand all the time.

DAY 2: I was away all day and night

DAY 3: I noticed that House Keeping Staff was making a bed with out removing the sheets and the don't do the corners. they not wiping the mirror and i have to ask them for a toilet paper :(

i also noticed there was NO Mini Bar fridge in my room. Just a empty space for the mini-bar,

DAY 4: The Movie Restaurant was good. Mostly everyone is friendly and food is OK. (Avoid drinking Water/ Milk in India) . Mineral water bottle was provided by the hotel everyday.

Indian family moved in next to me and they had a kids. what surprise me was the kids were using the hotel corridor as a play ground...... and some guests left their door open and they talk all the time with a loud voice specially the local men. lol

DAY 5: I booked the hotel Car on my Second day to drop me off at the Airport on Day5. The exact date and time was given to the Reception Staff. However when i checked-out on day 5. there was no car, i been told that i have to wait for an another 30mins if i need a hotel car. I was ended up taking a three wheeler to the airport as i was required to be at the airport minimum two hours before the departure. I am glad at least the reception guy arranged me a three wheeler in a last minute. not quite sure why this incident was happened.

I was bit disappointed about the Spring Hotel. On other hand its my fault to expect more or above average standard from the small Boutique Hotel. Staff are friendly. I don't mind staying in this hotel again however i expect these issues won't happen again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Sam_Aus257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Mr. Sam,

Greetings from the spring!

It is a great pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments to the team at front desk and service are also very much appreciated.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, which not only gives us an idea of where our strengths are but also provides important insights into where we can make improvements. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments for appropriate action to be taken.

Once again thanks for your feedback.

We certainly hope to see you again when you next return to Chennai.

Yours sincerely,

M.Srinivasan 
Front Office manager
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Vernon Hills, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my wify as she had the visa interview appointment with the US cousulate.This hotel is about 20 mins walk from the US embassy. Comfortable for 1-2 days stay. The breakfast the hotel provides is good and mostly Indian. The main door has 3-4 inch gap at the bottom, so it’s noisy when somebody walks and voice is clearly audible when somebody talks outside even when the doors are closed. There are some nice South Indian restaurants at the door steps that you can choose from.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mageshwaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Mr. Mageshwaran,

Greetings from the Spring!

Thank you so much for your review posted on Trip Advisor. We are delighted by your positive feedbacks, also noted the issues you have highlighted with concern and assure you that the respective corrective measures are taken with no time spared to ensure the same never reoccur.

Look forward to have you stay with us again.

We assure you the best service at all times.

Thanks & Regards

M. Srinivasan
The Spring Hotel
fom@thespringhotel.com
98415 77774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at The Spring for two nights
it's a perfect business hotel type if
You are traveling alone rooms are
apt.Morning breakfast (included) is
good.Location vise is also very good.
This hotel is done in a cinematic theme.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jktomjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Spring!

We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service you received. I have shared your valuable feedback with concerned departments.

Guest experience is our highest priority and it is always gratifying to receive such valuable comments. Team The Spring looks forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

M. Srinivasan
The Spring hotel
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As described by many in the comments, the concept of this boutique hotel is superb.
It's like entering Bollywood. The staff is very friendly. At the end of the stay anybody will feel sad to say goodbye to them. They are really helpful to the complete strangers to the city. Location is very good. Just one high jump over the bridge for the visa applicants. Found good restaurants nearby for the dinner. The taste of the nearby restaurant "Dindigul Thalappakatti" is unique. Deluxe room is very small and gloomy because of the LED lights. The restaurant has not much of a variety of food. Restaurant seems busy for the tourists who are on vacation because of the morning news cast on giant screen. It cannot also be blamed as the theme of the hotel is more targeted the business crowd.
What is fascinating is the courtesy of the staff, taste of the masaala tea in the Cafeteria called "Caffeine", night club, and also the neatness of the room.

Room Tip: If you look for a spacious room, better speak to hotel reservation directly without dealing with a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie2258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Guest

Greetings from The Spring!!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor.

It is heartening to note that our services provided by the team were appreciated. It was our pleasure to have been of service to you. It is a continuous endeavor to offer our discerning travelers indigenous, luxury experiences through our commitment to quality service.

We truly value your patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in your future visits.

Best Regards,

M.Srinivasan
The Spring Hotel
fom@thespringhotel.com
98415 77774
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The first thing that catches your eye as you enter the lobby at the Spring is the modern and contemporary design. The Spring is essentially, a boutique hotel. I loved the decor, modern, quirky details in the lobby. Funky furnishings and lovely use of bling in the foyer and waiting lobby. The coffee shop in the lobby seemed inviting enough but we were dead tired after a busy day and just wanted to kick up our heels and snooze before the busy day ahead the enxt day.
The room-well, small is an understatement. But being located bang in the middle of the city, at the heart of where all the action is, and at the price that we got, I would still say it was a steal. The room was small but what irked me was the lighting. I couldnt move around without tripping over-so there is dim lighting and there is darkness and this was more tending towards the latter. But the contemporary decor extended to the rooms. Bathroom was cramped but really neat and clean. Modern fittings gave it a luxe feel!
Next up is the food. We ordered Indian fare and were not disappointed. The food was adequate and though not extraordinary, was not bad either. We were only suprised to see that the cuisine did not have any resonance with the rest of the hotel. A boring multi cuisine menu for a fun, quirky hotel (Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde..hmmm!)..
Service was patchy but good in most parts. Check in and check out was smooth. Our cab for the airport was horribly late and we almost missed our early morning flight. But the desk promptly helped us with a replacement. So full marks to them for that!
Overall, good experience. highly recommended if you are in Chennai on work or for shopping.

Room Tip: with such a great location, try some interesting dining choices outside..all a small stroll away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AswathyGovind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Ms. Aswathy Govind,

Greetings from the spring!

It is a great pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your compliments to the team at front desk and service are also very much appreciated.

Thank you for your valuable feedback, which not only gives us an idea of where our strengths are but also provides important insights into where we can make improvements. Your comments have been shared with the relevant departments for appropriate action to be taken.

Once again thanks for your feedback.

We certainly hope to see you again when you next return to Chennai.

Yours sincerely,

M.Srinivasan
Front Office manager
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good Hotel with feel of Bollywood, interior is all filmy, Rooms are very dark and lights only from LED. Room interiors are very Shiny and full of Silver and other colours. Rooms are spacious but need to choose. Good restaurants nearby. Overall its Good experience. Morning breakfast is average.

Room Tip: Pls. choose your room, in same price they have small as well as large rooms, Choose your room on 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dipendra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muthusrinivasan, Front Office Manager at The Spring Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Mr. Dipendra

Greetings from the spring!

Thank you for staying at The Spring Chennai, it was a pleasure having you with us.

We very much appreciate your encouraging feedback on our facilities and services. We look forward to being of service to you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

M.Srinivasan
Front Office manager
98415 77774
fom@thespringhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Park Chennai
#49 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,582 reviews
Nungambakkam
ibis Chennai City Centre
ibis Chennai City Centre
#16 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
288 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#57 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Chariot
#260 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
66 reviews
Nungambakkam
Treebo Elan
Treebo Elan
#106 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
53 reviews
Savera Hotel
#42 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Hotel

Property: The Spring Hotel
Address: No 11 Kodambakkam High Road | Nungambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Spring is cool, hip, playful and intimate, offering chic yet informal environments for travelers who want to get away from predictability and convention. Conveniently located in the heart of Chennai, The Spring Hotel is a tasteful sanctuary of unique elegance! This trendy boutique hotel is imbued with designer interiors thematically organized to radiate an inviting aura and specifically with keeping you, our guest, in mind - A perfect blend of aesthetics and culture. Be prepared to be pampered, enjoy the impeccable service and the first rate amenities, including the broadband Wi-Fi connectivity that a discerning traveler has come to expect. We look forward to welcoming you soon. Putting people first just makes good common sense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing