We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Chennai”
Review of Hilton Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Chennai
Ranked #10 of 394 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hilton Chennai”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A swanky property, not too far from the airport. Sumptuous breakfast, average service. Team is good, some members not too cooperative. Room size is small, basic amenities, like comb, tooth brush, missing. Surprisingly, south Indian coffee not too good. We wanted to watch the Budget in the lobby and were discouraged. In the room too, the sound of TV is controlled. An expensive business hotel compared to the regular ones we are used to staying in.

Room Tip: Rooms the inner courtyard are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Chennai. I fully agree with you that our restaurants serve very sumptuous cuisines and our chefs take a lot of pride in delivering a high class meal experience. However, I am terribly sorry to learn of your partially satisfactory experience. We will shortly be in touch with you in order to gain further understanding.

Please rest assured that your experience is not reflective of our usual high standards.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future and please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards,

Parag Sawhney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    335
    73
    31
    25
See reviews for
170
87
67
940
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice location close to the airport. Great service from all the team. Wide selection of food and incredible variety of desserts and sweets down at the lobby Est.

The availability of drivers and cars taking you to all corners of chennai were prompted, knowledgable and fantastic navigators of the chennai traffic.

Had great experience at this Hilton and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Garry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for posting your valuable comments on Trip Advisor. It is such a delight to read that you were impressed with the service standards and professionalism with which the team serves all our guests.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for yet another memorable Hilton experience.

For any assistance, please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards

Parag Sawhney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Good hotel and stay. Close to airport as well. Pleasant experience. Nice roof-top bar although swimming pool was closed. Take care of each item as desired. Excellent for business stays. Hotel staff courtesy was also decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SkyWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Many thanks for choosing to stay at Hilton Chennai. I am delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed the hotel facilities, especially Qbar which has roof top view of the city.

Should you need any assistance with your future stays, please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Parag Sawhney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
2 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

located at the centre of Chennai, though in close vicinity to the airport, this hotel could host you in royal style. Accommodation is comfortable, staffs are excellent and helpful. Restaurants are good. Only problem could be the approach due to the construction work of Metro Rail.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ugangsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
It is indeed very refreshing to read your review on your recent stay at Hilton Chennai. I am absolutely delighted to learn of your outstandingly enjoyable stay. Please rest assured as I have shared your compliments with my entire team. The metro work being carried out throughout the city certainly hampers the outlook of the surroundings and we hope the situation improves soon.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

For any assistance, please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards

Parag Sawhney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is ok for India Chennai Standard. Rooms are clean and they surprise you from time to time with a little sweet or something.
Top floor rooms are very noisy during the night. The run a rooftop bar with laud music you may not feel like enjoying from the distance of your room.
Food is very good with multiple choices in particular in Vascos the main restaurant. They have some other bar and India local restaurant... but nothing really to remark from them. Go to Vascos, multiple choices in a buffet or in a menu. From western to Asian food.
If you want to drink a glass of wine or something there... make sure you understand price an tax. Like everywhere in India... they really charge you for that and on top, major tax is applied.
Airport pick up is reliable and welcome in the hotel is warm and professional.
Please be aware of the noisy road in front of the hotel. That is India and horns do not stop because you want to catch some sleep. Ask for a room that do not faces the main road and the railway in construction that is going on as we speak.
In summary a good choice for the challenging Chennai India environment.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms in the top floor and facing main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justatraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time out to share your experience at Hilton Chennai. Apart from the fantastic modern product that we have, it indeed is the warm and friendly customer service which differentiates Hilton Chennai from the rest. I have made a note of your feedback on the music from Qbar and corrective actions are being implemented. I agree that the on-going metro work right in front of the hotel slows the traffic down which certainly hampers the outlook of the surroundings and we hope the situation improves soon.

We look forward to your return and should you need any assistance, please reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards

Parag Sawhney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fabulous all round. Staff where very welcoming and attentive from start to finish. As we arrived at the Hotel and waited for our friends to join us, the staff where helpful and very attentive. Nice cool temperature in the reception area and decor interesting and nicely designed.
We arrived at our table for dinner and what a lovely surprise to see a buffet with such vast choices to suit all. We are european and living here and crave for some of the european dishes and everything fitted the bill perfectly. Thank you.
Lovely staff always looking to see if there was anything else that could be provided.
A young lady on a guitar singing in the corner was very professional and nice to here. The Hilton has so much to offer everyone from all the world. Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
It is indeed a pleasure to read your review, thank you very much for taking the time to share your fantastic experience at Hilton Chennai. I fully agree with you that the entire team at Hilton Chennai is committed to ensure that every guest receives a crisp and personalised service.

If I can be of any assistance to you in future, please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

We cannot wait to welcome you back for yet another memorable Hilton experience.

Kind Regards

Parag Sawhney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent 2 nights end of June. Very nice hotel with pool on the top of the roof. Gym looked nice but not used. Various type of restaurant/bar available. Pick up service at the airport is very good. A Airport Service executive wait in full uniform. You feel safe straight away. Rooms are clean and quiet. Internet is fast. However, it would be nice if pick up and drop off at the airport as well as internet would be free

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you very much for staying at the Hilton Chennai. I would like to bring to your kind attention that the internet access in public areas is complimentary and our Hilton Honors Gold and Diamond members also enjoy complimentary access in their rooms.

I understand that you have had a very comfortable stay with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards

Parag Sawhney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
960 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,359 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#22 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,609 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#4 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
1,016 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 394 in Chennai (Madras)
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chennai

Property: Hilton Chennai
Address: 124/1, J.N.Salai, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Guindy East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#7 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Chennai hotel reflects the spirit of the city in a harmonious blend of tradition and contemporary style to create a memorable stay in Chennai. Strategically located near the main commercial, IT parks and business districts in Guindy, the hotel is within a 15 minute drive from the domestic and international airports as well as the Chennai Trade Centre. Onsite amenities include Wi-Fi, a fully equipped business center and meeting rooms to facilitate both small and large corporate gatherings. Experience global cuisine when you dine at any of Hilton Chennai's five bars and restaurants. Choose from authentic pan-Indian flavors at Ayna, or global cuisine at Vasco's, the all-day-dining restaurant. Indulge with a glass of wine at Vintage Bank, the hotel's trendy wine and cheese bar, and finally, visit Q Bar, the hotel's rooftop bar and grill for relaxing under the stars. The hotel provides easy access to the major shopping districts and tourist attractions such as the Guindy National Park, Marina Beach, old town of Mylapore, San Thome Basilica and Government Museum. After a long day, relax by the hotel's outdoor infinity pool or work out at the 24-hour fitness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing