We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hilton Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Chennai
Ranked #10 of 400 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed in Hilton Chennai from 25th - 28th June. My stay in Hilton was excellent. Staff is very friendly. Morning breakfast has lot of varieties. The quality of food is very nice. Q-bar in the roof top has a nice ambiance with good variety of drinks. There is a multi cuisine restaurant, Ayna. I was surprised to see some very authentic regional dishes being offered in the restaurant. There is only one minor drawback, there is a metro construction going on in the area. Hence at times the traffic is really bad in and around that area. All in all my stay was excellent and I thank the Hilton team for making my stay pleasurable in Chennai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Subhasish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, Director of Operations at Hilton Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Subhashish

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am delighted to learn that you not only experienced a very high level of friendly yet professional service but you also enjoyed the variety of food and beverage offerings at Hilton Chennai. I have shared your compliments with my team members at the roof top bar, multi cuisine restaurant Vasco's and speciality Indian restaurant Ayna. I completely agree with you on the current traffic situation due to the metro construction, the work in front of our property is expected to be completed by early next year.
Should you need any assistance in future, please feel free to reach me directly on parag.sawhney@hilton.com. We look forward to welcome you back home.
Kind Regards
Parag Sawhney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Chennai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,168 - 1,174 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staff can provide excellent services and all are very friendly. I felt sick when I stayed at Hilton Chennai. The staff are very helpful and had given me a lot of assistance to help me recover. Excellent services and create piece of mind of customers. Good job

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear C L,

Thank you for commending my team for their outstanding service. It is rewarding for them to know that they contributed well towards your recovery and positive experience at Hilton Chennai. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back home on all your future visits.

Kind Regards
Parag Sawhney
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I did multiple stays @ Hilton Chennai between February and June and my overall experience has been great. Right from reservation to arrival to the actual stay managed very well.

Reservation/Hotel Booking:
On all my trips I did multiple reschedules which were addressed without any questions. The mobile app is great and it instantly syncs your new booking so you don't have to carry paper print outs. A huge plus!.

Location: Hotel is located close to DLF IT Park, close to airport and easily accessible by highway if you are driving down from Bangalore .. Hotel Entrance can be easily missed due to gigantic metro station work right outside this place, guess they didn't see it coming :) Having said this, even the road facing rooms are surprisingly quiet !

Arrival/check-in: Great, helpful staff. Very quick, hassle-free check-in. 3 out of 4 occasions got the room that I had requested for. No complaints there.

Rooms: Rooms are quite ok in size, Found showers to be far better than any other hotels that I had stayed recently. During one of my stays I had given feedback regarding some odour in the bathroom which was very promptly addressed and was brought to my notice during my next stay. They can do with few more complimentary water bottles, 2 aren't enough and I would hate to pay a fortune for a bottle I can get otherwise for 10 bucks.

Breakfast: 10/10! Sumptuous Indo-Continental buffet spread. Wouldn't miss it!

Staff/Service: Excellent service, very helpful staff. I ordered room service a few times and it was pretty quick. Restaurant / 24x7 food is expensive but tasty.

Gym was alright. Didn't get a chance to use pool, heard that it's good.

Overall I will give about 9/10 and would chose this place over nearby hotels or the ones in the city centre for that matter.

Room Tip: I have heard (though not experienced myself) that top floor rooms are noisy due to Q Bar on top floo...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y2ksaurabh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear y2ksaurabh,

Thank you very much for sharing the reason why we have become your preferred hotel in Chennai.

Your continued patronage is of great value to us and to know that we have consistently delivered efficient service and excellent food to you during your stays, gives all my team members a sense of achievement.

I have noted your feedback regarding the complimentary bottled water and will review the same with my team. Should you need any assistance in future, I can be reached at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards,
Parag Sawhney
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in the Hilton Chennai. The hotel was excellent and the complete service from arrival to departure was 100%. The bar in the hotel is pleasant and offers a good selection of bar snacks. The food was also good, one of the best breakfast I have had in a hotel for a long time. Highly recommended for a business stay as it is situated close to major business parks and offices..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank International-Deal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear harrissafety,

It is such a pleasure to know that your five-night stay with us was 100% excellent from arrival to departure. Thank you very much for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back home soon. If I can be of any assistance in future, please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards
Parag Sawhney
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Staff were great and very attentive. Buffet breakfast had a great variety and a real emphasis on healthy food options (but there is a mixture). Indian restaurant had a great choice of dishes in a relaxed setting. Roof top bar had great views over Chennai. Roof top pool was lovely in the morning, and my colleague used the gym which he said was excellent. The road outside can be a bit noisy with the beeping, but you soon get used to it! Overall a great hotel, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bombzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear bombzen,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. I am delighted to read that my team made you feel at home and that you had memorable dining experiences at Vasco's, Ayna and Q Bar.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future and should you need any assistance with making the booking, please feel free to reach me at parag.sawhney@hilton.com.

Kind Regards,
Parag Sawhney
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I spent 2 weeks at the hotel on business and enjoyed my stay. I arrived early and was made welcome at check in despite the hour. On a side note I did advise them in advance and would recommend doing so beforehand. They replied same day when I emailed. The location was close to my business and it's a 15-20 minute trip from the airport. It is not a central chennai hotel but given you will need transportation regardless of where you stay this is not a major problem.

The hotel reception was clean and cooler than the outside making it refreshing for people not used to the temperature.

The room was clean, spacious and modern furnishings. The rooms were cleaned daily and occasionally having towel animals in the room cheered me up.

There are 2 main restaurants Ayna which serves Indian cuisine and Vasco which is a buffet style restaurant. There is also a bar on the 3rd floor that serves a mix of pub grub. I didn't try the rooftop bar so I can't comment on that.

The staff in all the restaurants were friendly and over the 2 week stay I found them pleasant and willing to help. If you were looking for spicy curries I would recommend ayna rather than Vasco as they tame down the spiciness in Vasco. That said everyone was happy to cater for a colleague with specific dietary requirements and make something different for the rest of us after we had worked our way through the menu. A hint about Vasco is to take the buffet and not the a la carte menu as it's the same food.

There is a rooftop bar and swimming pool that give you a chance to relax. The gym is quite small and can get crowded but has modern equipment.

Although I enjoyed my stay some points to consider are:
1) the shop is limited to pricey souvenirs if you are looking for sundries, papers etc they don't stock any.
2) the rooftop bar has a nightclub on Friday and Saturday night and I could hear it 2 floors down but it was in the background and it was the bass I could hear. I would recommend a room at a lower level if you want peace and quiet. I didn't notice any noise from the metro rail being built outside the hotel.
3) use the do not disturb button and sign if you don't want disturbed. The staff will call frequently if you don't. They recommend the sign due to power cuts
4) unfortunately power cuts happen but they don't last long and not limited to the hotel
5) the staff have a comments card that they will handover in the restaurant and leave in the room. Although they are not pushy and it did not bother me I could see it getting people frustrated.

Overall I would happily come back here rather than other similar rated hotels I have stayed at in chennai.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 9th floor and some of the 8th floor will get noise from the rooftop disco at the weeken...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecossetraveller1745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear ecossetraveller1745,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Hilton Chennai, we are delighted that you enjoyed your two weeks with us.

It is so refreshing to read that the food and service at Vasco's and Ayna were outstanding. Positive feedback such as yours certainly encourages my team to deliver the exemplary Hilton service and world class culinary experience to all our guests.

We are reviewing the points you have highlighted and I am personally looking into how best we can address them. I am pleased to know that your overall experience was positive and we all look forward to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,
Parag Sawhney
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Wonderful place to stay with a plesant atmosphere and courteous people around smiling all the time. Nice food and the amenities provided are also of premium quality. I would strongly recommend my friends to stay in Hilton when they in Chennai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Arun G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parag S, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Arun G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Hilton Chennai, my team and I appreciate your valuable feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Parag Sawhney
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,017 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,487 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
2,845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#19 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,677 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,297 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 400 in Chennai (Madras)
1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chennai

Address: 124/1, J.N.Salai, Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Guindy East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#7 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $117 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Chennai reflects the spirit of the city in a blend of tradition and modern style. Located near the main commercial, IT and business districts, we’re within a 15-minute drive from the domestic and international airport as well as 10 minutes from the Chennai Trade Centre. Inside you’ll find plush rooms and suites, fantastic dining options and an array of amenities for business and recreation — everything you need for a memorable stay in Chennai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing