We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hilton chennai”
Review of Hilton Chennai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Chennai
Ranked #9 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Pune, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
“hilton chennai”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

hilton chennai give the best of service and hospitality. rooms are extremely clean and nicely done. Breakfast and dinner buffet is excellent. staff is warm and knowledgable. Business lounge is very useful although access is not complementory. choice of cuisine during breakfast and dinner is lavish and serves all kinds of choices and nationalities. only shortcoming which can be improved is the absence of a inhouse spa. i am sure Hilton can adress that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mva12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear mva12_13,

My team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hilton Chennai, thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is very rewarding for the team to realise that their warm hospitality and efficient service highlighted your stay experience. Our Food and Beverage team truly appreciate your compliments on the breakfast and dinner buffet spreads.

Please allow us to clarify that access to our Executive Lounge is reserved for guests who have paid to upgrade their room package and for Hilton HHonors Gold and Diamond members. We currently do not have an in-house spa but it has been planned for the hotel's future expansion. In the meantime, our Concierge team are happy to recommend good spas in the city.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Chennai.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    341
    76
    31
    25
See reviews for
183
91
68
964
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I stayed there to celebrate New Year's Eve on 31st December and my overall experience was:

Great

I got the room in a new year package and the room, bath, food and the overall hospitality will make you come back here again and also recommend the same to you friends.

Vascos is a good multi cuisine restaurant but the DJ what they had arranged was in fact the most horrible one you would ever listen.

Breakfast what was served in the room was to simply die for.

The staff is kind enough to provide you with late check out and the later is also very smooth.

People at the entrance are really attentive and warm and remember your car by your face without even giving them the valet ticket your car will be called.

So overall a highly recommended hotel if chennai is on your list of visits.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRSRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear DRSRG,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Chennai and for celebrating the new year with us!

We really appreciate your insights on our room and the level of service delivered by the team. Whilst we are sorry to learn that the DJ at Vasco's was below your expectations, we are very pleased that you were happy with the food quality and expecially our breakfast buffet spread.

Thank you once again for your review and recommendation, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great hotel for business purpose and excellent service from the hotel staff. Very clean rooms and hospitality was good (perhaps not as great as the Taj or ITC). Room's infact where excellent and decor was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhemchand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear rhemchand,

Thank you for your kind review of Hilton Chennai, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We very much appreciate your feedback on our guest room and the good service you received from the team. It is also good to know that our business facilities suited your requirements.

Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you with us again and to extending the exemplary Hilton hospitality experience that we always seek to deliver.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed last month at Hilton during my business trip to Chennai. Right at the reception you feel homely due to great hospitality The Rooms are really clean, Room service was excellent. I am HH member.

Regards,

C V Deshpande

Room Tip: I would recommend to select this Hotel. Relax, since you are in the safe hands.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CVD109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear CVD109,

Thank you for your valuable membership with Hilton HHonors, it was a pleasure having you with us.

It is wonderful to learn that our warm hospitality made you feel at home, and that you were happy with our room and in-room dining experience. We truly appreciate your recommendation and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I was rather apprehensive of staying at this property after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. However being a HH member, i decided to take a chance. The location of the hotel is very decent . The rooms were nice and well furnished. Staff was polite and helpful. The restaurants are very nice and service decent. The rooftop bar was nice and beautiful views. However the quality of the cocktails are sub-standard. Stick to a beer or a straight drink. The property does get noisy around 2 am. I could hear some screeching noises, tables being moved, clanking etc. Not sure where the noise was coming for but it happened every night. Also avoid rooms facing the road. Their is a metro station being constructued right outside and get noisy and the construction lights can be too bright. Hilton need to get its act together. it is a beautiful property and has everything going for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear raop,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hilton Chennai, your membership with Hilton HHonors is very much appreciated and it was a pleasure having you with us.

I am pleased to learn that you were generally satisfied with the hotel's location, the warm hospitality and service you received from the team, and our food and beverage outlets. However, we are very sorry for the inconvenience caused by the noise and I can assure you that the relevant departments have received your feedback for the necessary actions to be taken. The team have also noted your comments regarding the quality of cocktails served at Q Bar and are taking steps to address this.

With regard to the current construction activities outside the hotel, we understand that the Metro rail is scheduled to be operational by the end of 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back and extending our Hilton hospitality experience to you when you are next in Chennai.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Impossible to sleep before 2/3 am due to the heavy electronic music on the Terreasse (top floor). As from 11pm the terrasse becomes a bar-club. Music stops on Friday at 2 am and on Saturday it's up to 3am.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the top floors w/ an even number.The U building becomes resonance chamber for the mus...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank pcarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear pcarra,

I am very sorry to learn of the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us.

I wish to assure you that the comfort and well-being of all our guests remain our utmost priority and you will be glad to know that we are working towards installing effective acoustic insulation in the near future.

Should you be planning your future trips to Chennai, I would be happy to personally assist you with all your requirements. Please feel free to contact me on manish.garg@hilton.com.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to be of service to you, should you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hello,
Last night was my second visit to Q Bar and i was totally shocked and surprised by the way i was being treated. I work with an international banking firm, and i have travelled to various countries of the world and i have never experienced something like this before, i was very upset about their rude behavior.
I walked out of the lift only to find the place crowded of people trying to get in to Q Bar. I came with a bunch of friends and in some confusion they got in a little earlier than me. So when me and a friend approached the counter we were shocked to see that there were security guards handling guests, usually there is someone more approachable who would also know how to speak with a guest of the hotel. Infact one of the security guards told me to "get out", now that is pushing the fine line of the hospitality industry. I wonder if these are Hilton standards. Then our friends who were inside had to come and get us in. I wonder if i would come here again, i highly doubt it after my experience last night.
The property is wonderful, Q Bar is serene and beautiful. But things like this can happen to anyone else too. So if you could look into this matter and make sure that glitches like this dont spoil your name and reputation in the market.
One last point, do not let your security guards come into contact or handle a guest cause they do not know how to.

Richard.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 1richardmichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manish_Garg_DOPS, General Manager at Hilton Chennai, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear 1richardmichael,

Please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointing experience at Q Bar. It is certainly not the typical standard of service that we at Hilton Chennai continuously seek to deliver.

I have personally reviewed your case in-depth with all the team members involved and wish to assure you that we have reviewed the proper ways on how this should have been handled. We are also heavily emphasising the importance of customer-focused service delivery and communications through our on-going training programmes.

Contrary to what you have experienced, we truly value our guests and I respectfully request that you provide further feedback to me directly on manish.garg@hilton.com. My team and I look forward to continuing being of service to you as a valued guest.

We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to deliver a better experience to you when you next visit Q Bar.

Yours sincerely,
Manish Garg
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
996 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,457 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
2,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Hotel Chennai
#21 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,651 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#28 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,271 reviews
Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
The Westin Chennai Velachery
#3 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Chennai

Property: Hilton Chennai
Address: 124/1, J.N.Salai, Guindy, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Guindy East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#5 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#6 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Chennai 5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Chennai reflects the spirit of the city in a blend of tradition and modern style. Located near the main commercial, IT and business districts, we’re within a 15-minute drive from the domestic and international airport as well as 10 minutes from the Chennai Trade Centre. Inside you’ll find plush rooms and suites, fantastic dining options and an array of amenities for business and recreation — everything you need for a memorable stay in Chennai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing