We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Taz Kamar Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Taz Kamar Inn
Ranked #39 of 407 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2012

It was an unexpected stay in Chennai and it was a real pleasant surprise. At Rs 2400 ( USD 48 ) per night with continental breakfast was a real cool deal. Enjoyed our stay and I had my own inhibitions before visiting it but convinced on a days stay. Rooms were well appointed and maintained., room services were good. it is in the heart of the shopping paradise of Chennai (T Nagar) and the right place for people who's primary objective is shopping. and the restaurant serves authentic south Indian dishes.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank afsermuhasin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 270 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

This was our last stop after a whirlwind two-day visit to Kalahasti and Thirupati. I had earlier read the not so complimentary reviews in TripAdvisor, and was wary of staying there. However, my tour agent assured me otherwise. He was wrong. My room left a lot to be desired. Lumpy mattress. Crude bedlinen. Non existent hot water. Supposedly wifi enabled but I couldn't access it at all. The service staff, however, were amiable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shikinleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

poor service level - front desk. housekeeping and room service are better.

hot water won;t work after a day. bed creaks. some lights don;t work. you'd wish you were somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BaskarenRChandran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

It was a tiring journey to Chennai. But my trip was pr-planned and I had a booking in Taz Kumar , I felt a bit comfortable when I reached there. It was like visiting a smooth place as compared to the heat of Chennai which is almost unbearable if u stand under the naked Sun. I was amazed with the hospitality of the Hotel. Write from the reception at Airport, to the comfortable suit, lavish Lunch and Dinner with Deserts and cushions, wow, everything was mouth watering. U know, I am fond of delicious food and this was the right place for me. Of course, the large swimming pools and leisure experience was something which one cannot afford to miss. I am planning my next visit to Chinnai very soon and forward to the hospitality of Taz Kumar.

Room Tip: Rooms near swimming pool are quite cool and more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MITTAL120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

My family and I were 'lucky' enough to stay here for 8 whole days. Here's a list of what we didn't like:

1. Non-existent service - it seems you have to hand over your room keys at the service desk each day, when you leave the "hotel" and explicitly tell them to clean your room. Otherwise, expect to use the same wet towels and soiled bed sheets for another night. Even if you did remember to 'ask' them to clean your room for the day, you might come home to the same room. A common 'reason' is "we had too many check-ins and check-outs today".

2. Lack of cleanliness - This hotel is "deceptively new". The hallway is new, boasting large LCD screen TVs and leather couches, but don't fall for them. The rooms themselves have stained bed sheets (that you will only notice the next morning as they are covered with the blanket tucked in) and the bathroom is an eyesore. Expect to see brown coloured water in the sink and shower. Also, if the cleaning service deems you worthy of a clean room, they will only change your sheets and towels (that too, with new-but-stained ones), the dust bunnies on the floor will be preserved. Their cleaners do not have a vacuum cleaner.

3. Lack of comfort - During my stay, twice there were guests walking around in nothing but their towels from room to room. More interestingly were guests who showered with their room doors open. The icing on the cake were guests who smoked indoors, right in the hallway at night, gracing us with the smell of smoke for the next couple of days. Hotel management did not rebuke them, let alone ask them to stop doing so based on the grounds that they were merely a "serviced apartment".

4. Lack of honesty - When you pay your bill (assuming you feel like paying after receiving such 'hospitality'), make sure you check the numbers correctly. This is a hotel that is famous for adding numbers to your bill. First they told me they accidentally added my dry-cleaning bill (which I had already paid for) into the hotel bill. Later they told me they missed a day's charge in my bill when I was checking out (after having settled the bill completely the day before).

So, what did we like about this place?

1. The location - it is right in the middle of T. Nagar so you can save some auto money by walking to your favourite stores. Pondy Bazaar is a 10 minute auto ride away.

2. Shallots Restaurant - this restaurant is technically joined to the hotel. Their lunch and dinner options provide a nice variety to choose from. The food was really good (especially the vegetarian fried rice) and not once did we get sick from eating here. They also stock Aquafina water bottles that will come in handy.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank equitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Horrible reception
Third class food
Complementary breakfast is a SHAM
One has to beg to clean the room
More eager to charge you for everything then service you.
Ideal set for a Horror movie

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank pravin1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

As u enter they said only executive room is available and the charge is 2600 all inclusive. the room is verse then o normal lodge. even suferring after staing and the charge 2900/- and in the bottom part thry added a 5000/- and told the bill when asking they worked every where and finaly sadid it's mitake pay without the 5000/- asking asking why overcharged the teriff they said will look in to and refund u. nextday morning they said papers are gone to auditing and they can not help.
dear friends because of the foreign people are says hotel is good becarefull these kind of hotel. they talk like big hotel but inside nothing is available. be carefull.. .... becarefulll...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemtravels304556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
La Woods Hotel
#14 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
369 reviews
BKR Grand Hotel
#293 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
129 reviews
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Residency
#30 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
587 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
Southern Crest
Southern Crest
#286 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
90 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#56 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taz Kamar Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taz Kamar Inn

Address: Rangan Street | T.Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Thyagaraya Nagar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#15 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $33 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Taz Kamar Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chennai, well known for its matchless hospitality and cultural diversity is a choice among many travelers. At Taz Kamar Inn Hotel, we strive to provide the best when it comes to giving our guests more than just a ‘stay’. We offer them experiences. In other words, they comes as strangers and leave as friends. Taz Kamar offers cleanest of rooms and tidy service which brings repeated guests time and again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Taz Kamar Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taz Kamar Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing