We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed bugs !!!!! And poor management”
Review of Hotel Mars Deluxe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mars Deluxe
Ranked #148 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Negombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bed bugs !!!!! And poor management”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night whilst stopping through chennai for a flight , firstly I will say it is overpriced for what it is , 1100 rps for a fan room , rooms are small are not so clean, they have a certain musty smell to them , towels provided are filthy and stained as we're the bed sheets ... And as for the bed ' bed bugs horrible I was bitten numerous times and killed 6 ' I wish I could up load the pics but can't on my phone app . The tv did not work and when I complained to management they simply said it can't be fixed , on top of all of this I recommend that you secure your payment receipt as management disputed full payment even though I had payed up front. Finally the last blow was I asked for a wake up call at 5 am for my flight and they failed to do so (thankfull for my own alarm ) again when I complained the men at the front desk laughed and offered no apologies . The only good thing about this hotel is location and free air port transfer, as well as day management are very friendly compared to evening operators . I would not stay here again and can only suggest you stay elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bundymon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    12
    6
    20
See reviews for
15
14
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here for a night, tv was not working, electrical switches were not in good condition. But overall it was a value for money room. Luckily I booked the room via goibibo.com, and I was offered a free airport transit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venkatakrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I selected this hotel for one night stay because of waiting time in airport.It was around 1 am i reached this hotel. There was no one at the reception. I just walked straight inside, There was a guy sleeping on a chair. It took me around 2 mins to wake him up and he managed to wake other guy and they made me write details.There is no greeting or any kinda talks.I carried my own bags and walked into my room on first floor.It was an AC room,still it stinks.There was one besdheet over the bed, and under it has some stained bed. I never wanted to lie over the bed. Slept only for about 2 hours.bathroom is filled with mosquitos.walls are dirty and spit marks around, The switches looks yellow and dirty,Open electric sockets.broken dustbin which was never cleaned.The booking said, i will receive complimentary breakfast and wifi. But in the hotel, they said there is no breakfast and wifi is very slow and only available near reception not in the room.Overall, the moment i step in the room, I just wanna leave as soon as possible.i wanted to goto a place which is about 2kms from airport. They told me, they can only take me till airport, and finally charged me Rs.250 to drop me there.. I had no options as i couldn't carry my three bags alone to look for other alternative..There was a big read warning board once i enter the room, it reads "management is not responsible for guest belongings" . Maybe this means if a guest leaves to eat for 30 mins, and the bag is missing, the guest should leave quietly??? Once you enter the room. and read something like there is no safety here, and everywhere around it looks bad, you will regret why did you choose this hotel. I will upload some photos, But the rooms has only yellow lights.. those lights actually hides imperfections somewhat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 461Asher_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Ahmedabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is an average hotel just to catch few hours of sleep while in transit. All you get is a tiny 7*7 cubicle with an 5*5 bed, AC and attached toilet. Recommended only if you need to catch up for few hours of sleep within strict budget.

Pluses: -
Economical - AC room costs you somewhere around 1500 bucks - can bargain.
Free Airport drop & Pickup.

Negatives:-
Very Tiny room.
No restaurant or food arrangement.
None of the staff speaks or undersands any other language than Tamil.

Room Tip: Cannot survive without AC room as there is no ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Milind86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

on dt 7th april we four persons stayed in this hotel in two a/c rooms paid rs 3000/- at the time of arrival. after alloting the room no 204 & 206 man at counter was very rude he neither provide water on cost says frize is not working a/c was not working due to non availabity of power towels was very dirty one towel for two person another one was paid.room cannot closed due to non working of lock asked us to sleep without lock.So no one stay in such type of very bad hotel.

Room Tip: no one should stay in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spgupta_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I reached chennai airport at 11.30, I called a taxi and he took me to this hotel. It is very near to Airport. But the rooms are unclean and very small. Toilet is very very unclean. They brought food from out side it was ok. Bed sheet is very unclean so I asked the room boy to change it, again he brought another unclean bed sheet. I don't know how I managed that night it was a horrible night for me. Rates are very high compared to other hotels in this area. I never stayed in such a bad hotel in my life. There are lot of hotels around this area, you may get room for half the price for this quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SURIE_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We needed a cheap room to spend 8 hours in Chennai before our 1 AM flight to Singapore and ended up at the Mars Deluxe.

We paid 899 INR for a fan room. It looked OK on first inspection - double bed, ceiling fan, TV and simple bathroom - it was a bit rough around the edges and only 1 towel and no toilet paper. But then we found the bedbugs. The sheets were clean but I think they live in the fabric headboard. (This was the first room on the right, ground floor).

We told the staff, and they moved us to another room further down the hall. It had the same lay-out, but no bedbugs that we found.

The location is very close to the airport and there are a few restaurants in walking distance. My phone detected a WiFi signal with the same name as the hotel, but the staff didn't seem to know the password?! There's a guest computer in the lobby at least.

The staff also arranged a car to the airport for us for 200 INR. That's probably too much considering it's literally a 5 minute drive away, but it was a car (not an autorickshaw) and it was waiting for us exactly at the right time - very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank idreamofdurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
AVNB Towers Hotel
#287 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
29 reviews
Hotel Himalaya Residency
#191 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Nungambakkam
Sudha Inn
Sudha Inn
#298 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saibala Grand
#95 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
69 reviews
The Mount Manor
#228 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
133 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Melody
Hotel Melody
#262 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mars Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mars Deluxe

Property: Hotel Mars Deluxe
Address: 8 Shandy Road | Pallavaram, Airport Road, Chennai (Madras) 600043, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mars Deluxe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel mars deluxe, an economic luxury hotel, equipped with compactly designed 29 rooms, offers quality and flawless accommodation. situated parallel to main GST road, is very close to chennai airport and other major business and tourist attractions of suburban city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mars Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing