We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Onion Uthappam”
Review of Murugan Idli Shop

Murugan Idli Shop
Ranked #11 of 6,632 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious Onion Uthappam”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Only restaurant giving sambar ( small ) onion uthappam with different chutnies.Good taste and Milk shake ( jigardhanda ) is no comparison with any otehr drink.But diabetic be careful.Keep it up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sriramseshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    336
    150
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A hotel for Excellent food. You can have varieties of Idly, Dosa & all other South Indian items which would make you to taste again and again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lenact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid simple eats”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

One of the few eateries to remain open late. And by late, I mean beyond 11 pm. Definitely one of the only places around Elliott's Beach. Nothing fancy, but the food is good, service is quick, ambience is pleasantly plain... just what you want when a filling meal is what you need.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank quick_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“The Best IDLI i have ever had in my life!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Im from mumbai and you cannot compare south indian food u get in mumbai compared to Chennai.
But in chennai as well i ate idli and dosas at 4-5 different places.

But trust me, Murugan Idli is SUPERB!!! The Idli melts the moment it goes in your mouth. It is sooooo soft. They serve on that banana leaf in authentic fashion. The variety of Chutney's is also amazing

Go and get blown away by some amazinggg Idli and Dosa's!!!

Helpful?
Thank Pratik D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High priced for low value foods”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Its really bugging when i see the menu card,Vada for Rs.22? What the heck?? I dont think i eat the vada made in some space?????

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ragav_indar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murugan Idli Shop also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Murugan Idli Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing