We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idlis 4 Breakfast, Idlis 4 Lunch, Idlis 4 Dinner”
Review of Murugan Idli Shop

Murugan Idli Shop
Ranked #12 of 6,671 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Takeout
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
525 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 494 helpful votes
“Idlis 4 Breakfast, Idlis 4 Lunch, Idlis 4 Dinner”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I normally do not prefer to repeat same items in mealsbut when it comes too Murugan I dont mind having their idlis for all 3 meals. A few days back i reviewed 3 restaurants, one famous for its idlis another one famous for its chutneys. & a third one famous for its sambar. Murugan idli shop excels in all the three with its soft and supple idlis, 4 tastee chutneys giving 4 different tastes & an mouth watering sambar with an unbeatable taste.A must visit place. I wish they start an outlet in Mumbai.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShreyasMalkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    355
    158
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lost its charm”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Poor Quality Food...they really lost their charm ...it was real horrible food and the service is also very slow...Once loved to have Idly but nowadays real bad idly...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shivakumar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“It is more than Idli !”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

They have a dozen outlets in Chennai alone. I visited their outlet at North Usman Road, T.Nagar, Chennai. If you are there early in the morning for breakfast, then there no crowd and the service is just about average. But if happen to get there during peak hours, then the place is a mess. The food is very good, but somehow even with so many otlets, they do not know how to handle crowd. We asked for a certain dosa ( you also get many other items and the name Idli is a misnomer) and something else came and the server in his anxiety to serve us fast, almost threw it on the banana leaf, but we were faster than him to say that it was the wrong dosa he was serving. He almost touched the dosa on our already used banana leaf, but retrieved it before it fully hit the banana lead. I don't know what he did with that doasa. You don't feel comfortable. Hygiene is an issue at peak hours. Lesson - Business cannot scale if you don't invest in training people.. Will I go there again - May be because the food is good. At least they got one thing right !!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NewDelhiFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Very good South Indian Food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The idlis they provide are very delicious and soft. The best thing is that they serve 3-4 side dishes to go along with idly apart from sambar. The recent inclusion in the menu is Bajji (a deep fried south indian snack). This place is extremely crowded and you may have to wait got upto 20 minutes expecially on week ends. One of the special items they have is a drink called "Jigerdhanda" which is a mixture of milk, cream, jelly, ice cream. The only thing that I hate here is the presentation. When they serve you the side dishes, your leaf (food is served not on plates but leaf), it tends to get soiled. They may also spill on your clothes sometimes. Remember to carry cash as they do not accept food coupons or Credit/debit cards

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adithyanag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Why the hype?”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My experience was pretty bad. The dosas were drooping with oil, The chutneys were not good either. I have had better food on the road side...All hype...no good!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank shortckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Murugan Idli Shop also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Murugan Idli Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing