We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great and friendly Art gallery”

The Faraway Tree Gallery
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great and friendly Art gallery”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were most impressed by the professionalism and sincerity of the director of the Faraway Tree Gallery , Mr Palaniappan Ramanathan,,who gave considerable time to enlighten us on the back ground of various artists and works which were on display

I understand that his collections were acquired individually though his personal contact with the variou artist over a period of time.They also have some bronze art reasonably priced

Some of his represented works on the walls were also placed in accessible lots in his office.

We recommend this gallery as a must visit for art lovers in Chennai.

My son bought his first painting from this gallery.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Pepe48400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Art Gallery in Chennai”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

In our recent trip to Chennai we visited "The Faraway Tree Gallery" and we were quite impressed with the selection. The gallery has a diverse selection of Indian artists, all very well displayed. The inventory that was not on the walls was stored in a way that did not damage the paintings, which was something we noticed about many of the other galleries in town. The owner, Palaniappan, was also very passionate and knowledgeable about Indian artists and was able to answer all questions we had. To anyone in the market for Indian art who happens to be visiting Chennai, the Faraway Tree gallery is a great place to check out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank busjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtinmyHeart, Owner at The Faraway Tree Gallery, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hello,

It was a pleasure helping you'll and I hope to be able to help build your art collection. Also, thank you very much for the really nice things you've said about us.

It is our endeavor to sell really high quality Modern & Contemporary Indian art and we make an effort to source and sell good quality work by established and promising Indian artists.

Regards,
Palaniappan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Professionalism”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I found with Palaniappan Ramanathan holding the art gallery The faraway Tree - in Chennai on the first floor in a residential street - not only a warm welcome but all expected by a collector professional advice.
I discovered the Indian artists he presents with passion and am very happy for having bought an oil painting
This is a gallery that I highly recommend and where you can take your time to look at the works.
Marin ( Paris - France)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank maisondugris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtinmyHeart, Owner at The Faraway Tree Gallery, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Marin,

I'm happy we found one another. It was wonderful interacting with and helping you'll. I'm glad your Chennai visit turned out to be good and I look forward to seeing you'll again sometime.

May be in Paris :-)

Warm regards,
Palaniappan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Faraway Tree Gallery also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to The Faraway Tree Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing