We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homely Stay... Comfortable Cozy & Classic...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lotus Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lotus Serviced Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Homely Stay... Comfortable Cozy & Classic...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The property located on Venkatraman Street - T Nagar is truly one of the best service apartments in Chennai which is centrally located and easily accessible to railway & bus stations as well as also airport too... Staffs are very cordial and services are extremely good... Food quality and menu is also sufficient for any kind of guest... Overall this is a very peaceful property and even business class travelers would cherish their stay at this lovely classy service apartments which is an associate of the prestigious GRT Hotels and Resorts group

Room Tip: Junior Suites are ideal for families... Deluxe room for couples and Standard room for solo travelers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narayananram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    47
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
27
14
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights, very clean & cozy hotel with a 5 stars service. Price is a little high but the good services & friendly staffs made up for the high price. The extra bed came less than an hour when we checked in....

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley Lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Spent 2 nights at Lotus Serviced Apartments on Venkatraman Street. In terms of location, it was great. In fact, the suite we stayed in was also quite nice, but definitely not worth the price. As such, the hotel does not have any facilities. And the rooms are just good old rooms, not serviced apartments.
The staff were courteous but not overly helpful. The lobby was infested with mosquitoes to the point where I could not stay there for more than 2 minutes at a times, but no matter how many times they were requested, the staff did nothing to sort out the issue.
The room was large and clean, but had a distinct musty odour which could not be rectified. Also, none of the TV's in the hotel rooms have remotes, so you effectively keep your TV on all the time. Rather strange. Also, the hotel does not stock ice and the dinky refrigerator in the room would have taken a lifetime to freeze water.
The breakfast was a disaster. Although there was nothing wrong with the food, everything was cold and the breakfast area wasn't the cleanest. Again faced an issue with some rather vengeful mosquitoes.
A slight change in attitude from the staff (Maybe a focus on being more professional) will really help improve the overall impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nomadazoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

We've been travelling for half a year now, but I have never yet encountered such helpful staff in any accommodation anywhere. I don't know the title of Raga Dharsan at the Lotus Serviced Apartments in Chennai (most call it the Lotus Hotel), but he runs the desk at the hotel and provided us unbelievably good service. We are traveling in India for three months and moving every 5 or 6 days, so the logistics are formidable. We stayed at the Lotus for 5 days to give us time to schedule the next two months. Raga booked all of our trains, found us snorkels and masks for the Andamans, printed our plane reservations and made accurate suggestions on everything from restaurants to buying underwear. The Lotus already wins all sorts of awards as a place to stay, but the hidden gem is Raga. I cannot recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John-and-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel gets great reviews in a popular travel guide, I can only say that generally standards in Chennai must be poor.

A few weeks ago, on new years eve, I was staying in a hotel in central London for not much more than I am paying here so I expected a higher standard.

As i entered the room at check in, the concierge emptied one of the wardrobes of somebodies clothes, however he neglected the half full bottle of water beside the bed.

Most upsetting was, only a few months after recovering from Dengue fever that left me hospitalised for 10 days, I came back to a veritable swarm of mosquitos in the room. In Asia this is normally attributed to cleaning staff leaving the door wide open and the insects migrating in from the corridor. However they arrived in the room, the hotel should not be putting their guests at risk in this way. Enough said.

More effort required

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteamyKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 14, 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We stayed at this property for a day with family. The stay was comfortable as the check in check out was smooth, rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable

Also the location was good as the hotel was near to the best shopping place in Chennai- T nagar...
All major shops are at walkable distance from the property..

The tariff was also reasonable and we felt it was a value for money hotel for stay.

Would definitely recommend the property to family and friends and would ourselves consider coming back here again if needed for our future travel need.

The front desk people were smiling and pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raghavlakshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

There was a hiccup with the check-in as they did not have availability of the room i had booked but they didn't make me wait . I was immediately provided with a temporary room and was told i would be shifted as soon as something was available or i would be upgraded.And as promised i was upgraded to the suite from a standard. The staff are very courteous.Was overall a pleasant experience.

The only thing that i didn't like was that our room was cleaned even though we didn't ask for it to be.Felt like a slight invasion of privacy. But apart from that the whole experience was comfortable and i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get one of the bigger rooms with the queen bed and a kitchenette if you can .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarunthenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm123345, General Manager at The Lotus Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, July 13, 2015
Greetings from The Lotus serviced apartments. Thank you for staying with us. We value your valuable comments. We will act upon it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Star City Hotel & Serviced Apart...
#111 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#24 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
La Woods Hotel
#22 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
FabHotel Blossoms T Nagar
#125 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#14 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
The Residency
#31 of 386 in Chennai (Madras)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lotus Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lotus Serviced Apartments

Property: The Lotus Serviced Apartments
Address: 15, Burkit Road, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 611 Specialty Lodging in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lotus Serviced Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Lotus Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lotus Serviced Apartments Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing