We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.. we went twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pleasant Stay Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Great guest house to first experience Chennai and India. George and his wife are extremely helpful when it comes to taxis, places to see and provides information to all his guests in both english and the local language. Located near the airport and by St. Thomas Mount and a quick rickshaw ride to many amenities.

Thanks again for the hospitality and we enjoyed our first stay so much that we went back before leaving India on our three week trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsyeung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hello Rsyeung,

Thanks for your comments made on our Guest House.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our Guest House.

It was a pleasure meeting you.

With best regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 307 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

This is an excellent guest house run efficiently and in a very friendly way by the much-traveled Mr. George. The large house is beautiful, and not far from the airport, and the steps up St. Thomas Mount are just down the road. The rooms were comfortable and very clean, and breakfast (South Indian or Continental) was great. I recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3204Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hello 3204Maggie,

Thanks for making the comments about our Guest House.

YES. Our Guest House is located at the bottom of St. Thomas Mountain. Our guests can walk to the entrance and take the steps that will take them to the top of the mountain. From the top of the mountain they can see the whole Chennai city. They can also view the Chennai airport and see the planes taking off and landing. The best time to go on top of the mountain is in the morning around 7.00AM or around 6.00PM. There is no fees. It is free. There is also a beautiful Portuguese built chapel on top of the mountain.

We are glad to note that you enjoyed the stay in our Guest House.

With best regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

As name suggest, my stay at Pleasant Stay Guest House was very pleasant. A beautiful well managed house. Above all Mr. Gerard George was very helpful and his guidance helped me during my stay in Chennai. Thank you George and family for making our stay at Chennai a memorable one!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Namrata_Shrestha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Hello Namrata Shrestha,

Thanks for making comments about our Guest House.

You being in the Travel and Tourism industry, have done a lot of research in selecting the place for your own stay. To select our Guest House and to receive a good comment from you shows the quality and good service from our Guest House.

We thank you for the same.

You also told us that you will be recommending our Guest House to others coming from Napal and the northern part of India.

With best regards,

George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed for a short time before our 4am flight. We had no trouble booking. George the owner, was so helpfull. The room was large and clean , with tv, ac, wifi etc. George arranged two meals to be delivered, and arranged midnight car to airport. We can only say how good our brief stay was. Thanks George. All the best, Martin & Mathilde.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTourist2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello Martin & Mathilde,

Thanks for your comments. Having stayed in various places in India, I could understand that you feel very comfortable in places like our Guest House. All we are offering is a very clean place to stay for a reasonable price. I hope you had a wonderful time in India. We look forward to see you again in our Guest House in the future. George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Pleasant Stay Guest House lives up to it's excellent and well deserved reputation.
Communication with Mr George regarding booking and prior to arrival was great and highly reliable.
I was traveling as a single female, staying at the Guesthouse for 2 nights before departing on an organized group tour through the south of India.
Mr George arranged a trusted driver to pick me up from the airport. Furthermore he gave me a mobile phone for the time of my stay to be able to contact him any time.
The house is in a nice christian neighbourhood a bit away from the hectic center of town. In the evening it's well worth walking up the Mount St Thomas for a beautiful sunset panorama over Chennai.
Mr George and his family were extraordinarily helpful in every way. Whether it was advice on activities in Chennai, sending me on a shopping spree, booking a driver, ordering tasty food for breakfast, lunch and dinner - I felt very well looked after and more than just a guest.

Yet most grateful I am for Mr George and his niece's tireless efforts to retrieve my lost luggage from Air India officials. From Wednesday to Friday (the day of my departure) they were chasing the Airport and Airline for me. Without their great efforts I would have been in India without my luggage.

I can only highly recommend staying at Pleasant Stay while in Chennai and would definitely love to come back again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Hello Aniya,

Thanks for making such a good comment about our Guest House and our service. Yes, we have worked very hard to get your lost luggage before you leave our Guest House. Being the local people, we know how to get such things done. I hope you had a wonderful time in India. We look forward to see you again in our Guest House in the future. George.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Excellent value for money!
A lovely quiet relaxing place to stay. We stayed in a Deluxe Suite with A/C, western bathrooms etc. Everything was clean and well maintained with a TV in the room and access to free wifi and computer if you want it.
The staff are really helpful and the service is good. Pleasant Stay does not do their own food (including breakfasts) but we ordered breakfast in from outside at very reasonable cost and it arrived on time (unusual in India!). George was always extremely helpful and organised some trips out for us - at very affordable prices.
The location is good with easy access to the airport and also to the Fort Area.
This really is a little gem with facilities more suited to a hotel than a guesthouse but at a fraction of the cost.
Excellent value for money. Depending on the breakfast we ordered we paid around Rs 3,200 for 2 sharing Deluxe A/C accommodation including taxes and breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2013gotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments in TripAdvisor.

We appreciate you for sparing time to write the review.

Your kind words of appreciation go a long way in encouraging us to continue to offer our guests with highest care and personal attention.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the help and service extended to you at our Pleasant Stay Guest House during your visit to Chennai. We thank you for your patronage.

Centrally located, our property offers an easy access to popular attractions while catering to the needs of various travelers. Our main aim is to offer our guests a relaxing stay and help them in every way by which they feel comfortable. We feel great to learn that you appreciate our dining, accommodation & services among other aspects of our property.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at The Pleasant Stay Guest House when you visit Chennai next time.

We are confident that you would prefer to stay at our place.

Similarly, your comments will assure those who are looking out for a place to stay in Chennai, that if they select our Guest House for their stay, they will not be disappointed.


With best regards,

George
Pleasant Stay Guest House
Chennai. India.
Phone: 0091 9841123642.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Arriving at 1am exhausted, we were greeted by Leanne who was so helpful during our stay. The room was large, cheerful and clean. Leanne organised reliable and courteous drivers for us both in Chennai and for our next destination to Pondicherry. While it does not have a restaurant they organised very good vegetarian food to be delivered. My husband and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasantstay2004, Owner at Pleasant Stay Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Elvey,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your valuable review on TripAdvisor. It’s an absolute pleasure when we get to hear from one of our loyal customers. Your kind words of appreciation go a long way in encouraging us to continue to offer our guests with highest care and personal attention.

Your special acknowledgement and words of appreciation about Ms. Leanne have been duly conveyed to her and she is cheerful to provide the best to our esteemed customers.

We are confident that you would prefer to stay at our place.

Similarly, your comments will assure those who are looking out for a place to stay in Chennai, that if they select our Guest House for their stay, they will not be disappointed.

With best regards,

George
Pleasant Stay Guest House
Chennai. India.
Phone: 0091 9841123642.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
8.5 mi away
The Residency
The Residency
#30 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
587 reviews
8.8 mi away
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
928 reviews
4.3 mi away
Feathers A Radha Hotel
Feathers A Radha Hotel
#1 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 407 in Chennai (Madras)
2,954 reviews
9.7 mi away
Springhaven
Springhaven
#1 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
131 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Garden
Hanu Reddy Residences,Wallace Ga...
#3 of 414 in Chennai (Madras)
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pleasant Stay Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pleasant Stay Guest House

Address: 4/18. St. Patricks Church Main Road | St. Thomas Mount, Chennai (Madras) 600016, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 414 B&Bs / Inns in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $45 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest House and Furnished Accommodation of International Standard offered for foreign tourists, Non-Resident Indians ( NRIs)and for those coming on work assignments to Chennai, India. Exceptionally clean and safe accommodation at a very reasonable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pleasant Stay Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing