We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience. Great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai
Ranked #18 of 415 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Visited this hotel with friends on 15 Aug 2014 for a brief get-together.

The restaurant cum bar is small, but the ambience is great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We started with drinks at 8 PM and stayed upto 11 PM. The drinks and starters were really good.

The food was good but the native indian food like Aviyar were average. We had indian bread, gravy and fried rice.

Overall a very good experience. Very good property at the prime location. Great for such gatherings.

Room Tip: Any road facing room should be good. Higher floors should give view of ITC grand chola hotel and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank RamsMurugan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We look forward to welcoming you soon with our friendly smiles and signature lemon fragrance.

Sincere regards,

Sanjay Kumar Das
Hotel General Manager – Chennai Region

15 cities. 25 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

805 - 811 of 1,450 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2014

I was in chennai recently and I went to this hotel for attending an in house training program of my company in this hotel.Excellent service by the staff and food was also excellent.As I was attending a training program I didnt get a chance to try other facilities

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jishnutno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services .

We look forward to welcoming you soon with our friendly smiles and signature lemon fragrance.

Sincere regards,

Sanjay Kumar Das
Hotel General Manager – Chennai Region

15 cities. 25 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2014

If you want to know how a restaurant should not be run this is the place to visit. The service is so, so... the food is terrible. We were a family of four that had dinner last sunday. A dhaba gives better food than this hotel, and at a fraction of the cost. Inspite of complaining, there was hardly a response from the team. They were least concerned that someone was complaining.

We are new to Chennai and have been trying out restaurants in the vicinity. This has been the worst ever !

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Vishnu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2014

Response:

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai. We are sorry you did not enjoy your food at our restaurant on your recent visit.

We have noted your comments regarding the service levels and quality and variety of food, and have shared the same with our Food Production team. We continuously upgrade and refresh our menus and buffet offering at our restaurants to try and ensure that customers enjoy their experience. Your perceptive inputs will only help us improve and get better from here. We assure you of a better experience on your future visits.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.cn@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Sanjay Das
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai

15 cities. 25 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I ve stayed at the hotel for 15 days as i relocated from Bangalore to Chennai , I ve had an awesome stay there , the facilities and service which they provide are really commendable. The food over there was really good and delicious, had lots of varieties , there is no repetitive food there.

Mr Binoy and Sarin , The Chefs of the hotels having good in the cafe and the way of approach towards the guests are really good.

Live kitchen is one of the attractive thing in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jishnu6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially about Binoy & Sarin.

We look forward to welcoming you soon with our friendly smiles and signature lemon fragrance.

Sincere regards,

Sanjay Kumar Das
Hotel General Manager – Chennai Region

15 cities. 25 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed on 19th July,2014.It was great ,very comfortable.Food was very nice. Room comfortable. Quality of service in dining was very good and people nice to make you eat comfortable. House keeping service was also very good

Room Tip: Close to airport;price worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dhanpatraj D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services.

We look forward to welcoming you soon with our friendly smiles and signature lemon fragrance.

Sincere regards,

Sanjay Kumar Das
Hotel General Manager – Chennai Region

15 cities. 25 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

I was staying with Lemon Tree from 26th to 27th July 2014. Had asked for an airport pick-up. The car they sent looked very old and had torn seat covers. It was smelling of smoke too. They charged me for an early check-in which I am fine with, but then they would not give me an additional water bottle. I was told it would be charged since the policy of the hotel is 1 bottle per day. Fail to understand how that is the case. Their chef does not understand what is "Vetta Kozhambu", even though this is a hotel in Chennai!!!! I requested for sambar to be made with the "small reddish onions' or "madras onions" as they are called. The chef accepted the request, but sent it with regular onions. Filter coffee was requested without sugar, they mixed sugar and served. The food quality leaves a lot to be desired. Overall service was not very prompt.

I asked for a car for city use in the evening. It was shambolic to say the least. The front seat's adjustment knobs were missing, a spanner was being used. The vehicle was not clean, lot of dust in it. Also was emancipating smoke stink. It was an old Ford. Not work the 2300+ they charge for 8 hours given the quality and the condition of the vehicle. Their travel service is horrible.

Room Tip: Ask for road facing rooms. Ones with their back to the other side have a horrible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Narayan1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2014

Response:

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai and taking our call to help us understand your feedback better. While I am happy to know you stay with us often and like our Aurangabad property, I apologize for not living up to your expectations during your current stay with us.

We have made a serious note of all your observations and concerns and assure you that corrective action has already been taken to ensure no other guest is inconvenienced.

Our Front Desk and the cab vendor have been rebriefed to follow predefined procedures as per Lemon Tree standards at all times. We have also re-briefed our Food Production team to ensure standard recipes and processes are followed in the preparation of food items and guests are briefed about the ingredients and type of dish at the time of taking orders. Our attempt is to ascertain guests are happy and comfortable during their stay with us, and we thank you for your intuitive inputs, as they will help us improve. We assure you of a better experience on your next visit.

Please give us an opportunity to make amends. Should you accede to my request, please email me at gm.cn@lemontreehotels.com and I will be happy to handle the arrangements personally.

Best regards,

Sanjay Das
Hotel General Manager
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai

15 cities. 25 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The business trip was a long one and the hotel staff made it a pleasurable and comfortable one to stay in.The room was a tidy one and the housekeeping staff always ensured the room was spick and span. The housekeeping staff was very courteous and all the requests were tended to with great care. Alam( housekeeping)needs a special mention for this.
The buffet spread was varied and much enjoyed( though at a higher price range). The restaurant was an enjoyable place to be around with the staff always on their toes.Thanks to Ramesh, Habib, Washim and Samresh.
The internet was a bummer though considering you had wi fi access for only an hour a day. I think this service could be dealt with in a better way as internet is needed for more than an hour in a day.
This is definitely a place I would like to put up at the next time I visit the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank avishekpradhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLemonTreeHotels, General Manager at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2014

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai on your recent visit. I take this opportunity to thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services. We are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are truly grateful for the wonderful things you have said about our hotel, team and services especially about Alam, Ramesh, Habib, Washim & Samresh.

We look forward to welcoming you soon with our friendly smiles and signature lemon fragrance.

Sincere regards,

Sanjay Kumar Das
Hotel General Manager – Chennai Region

15 cities. 25 hotels. 2800 rooms. Refreshing India.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Lemon Tree Hotel Shimona
#42 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
312 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,204 reviews
Alwarpet
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
T. Nagar
The Residency
The Residency
#29 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
600 reviews
Guindy East
Hablis Hotel
Hablis Hotel
#46 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
778 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 415 in Chennai (Madras)
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai

Address: 72 Sardar Patel Road, Chennai (Madras) 600032, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#18 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#38 Best Value Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $63 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centrally air conditioned hotel offer 108 rooms, studio rooms and suites, business center, meeting rooms, a 24x7 multi-cuisine coffee shop - Citrus Café, a hip recreation bar – Slounge, as well as an outdoor pool and fitness center to keep you feeling fresh-as-a-lemon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing