We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Somerset Greenways Chennai
Ranked #33 of 405 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Recently we stayed at Somerset Greenways at Chennai. We were very impressed with the quality of the room, cleanliness, service, courteous staff and the location of the hotel. good value for money. I would any day recommend this hotel for a good stay in chennai.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tnbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways and for writing positively about our serviced residence. Our team was very happy to hear about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset Greenways on your next visit to Chennai.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 321 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Great serviced apartment - spotlessly clean, quiet and very spacious, this was an ideal choice for a short business stay. Very comfortable bed and great facilities, including microwave, hob, washing machine etc, not that I was there long enough to make use of them. The staff and general standard of service was excellent.
My only criticism would be in the restaurant - the food was of a good standard, service a little slow, but there was not a drop of red wine to be found, in the bar or the restaurant!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reddersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Somerset Greenways on your last visit to Chennai and also for your very positive review.

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the restaurant. We've stocked up on all our beverages since and also, as we do not handle the operations of the restaurant, we have passed on your comments on the service to the concerned personnel.

We'd be delighted to welcome you back to Somerset Greenways once again.

With Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and had a good stay, enjoying a spacious room and a nice swimming pool on the rooftop overlooking the city/some coastal areas. The room is bigger than a standard business hotel room with a comfortable bed, a big bathroom with a separate bathtub and a shower room, and a small kitchen. It was nice to have free Internet too.

Breakfast is quite basic but adequate. Staff were mostly friendly and very helpful, though the person who handled the bill at the time of check-out did not say anything and was not pleasant (unlike other Somerset staff).

One thing that bothered me was food smell that woke me up in the morning. I think it came from another room where a resident nearby was cooking. The smell did not come every morning but I would have preferred to have woken up fresh without any food smell.

Since the room is generally bigger than a hotel room, and it is quite well-equipped with facilities (e.g. gym, pool, rooftop area, children's play area, etc), it can be a good place to stay for a family with children too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset_Greenways, General Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Somerset Greenways as your accommodation during your recent trip to Chennai. While I was delighted that you rated your stay with us with 4 stars, I read with much concern about the unpleasant experiences you encountered during your stay here. I assure you that this is the first complaint we've received with regards to our staff's attitude or the exhaust system at Somerset.

I would appreciate it if you could please contact me at +91 44 7100 0071 or supriya.malhotra@the-ascott.com, so that my team and I can investigate this further and address both issues appropriately. We would also need more information to identify the apartment you stayed in so we may rectify any issues with the exhaust system in the neighboring apartments.

It is our every intention to provide excellent service and products to our residents. I would like to assure you that this is not the usual standard we strive for. We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm Regards
Supriya Malhotra
General Manager, Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

over all satisfied. clean and biggest room and bathroom. good to sleep. location. need more toiletry things. need more staffs. need more variety of foods in breakfast. need more cable tv channels..need variety of soaps and shampoo..

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohamedjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about you at Somerset Greenways Chennai and for giving us a 4-star rating.

As we are a serviced residence, our manpower strength does differ from a hotel. However, all our departments like housekeeping, security, maintenance and guest services operate 24-hours daily to ensure that the needs of our residents can be attended to and our staff are always ready to assist with any request.

Due to the long stay profile of residents at our serviced residence, we have noticed that most of our residents prefer to stock their kitchen, bathroom and apartment with amenities of their preferred brands. Therefore, we only provide essential bathroom amenities on request. The list of amenities we stock include dental kits, shaving kits, shower caps, sewing kits, hygiene kits with cotton bud, comb etc. This is explained on the tent card placed in the apartments.

We provide a variety of Indian and international cable TV channels to suit the requirements of all our residents, at no extra cost.

We apologize that we were unable to make you feel more at home and comfortable. We would have loved to be able to address your concerns while you were here and had the chance to make your stay more pleasant. We hope that you would reconsider staying with us again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

Warm Regards,
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

What's good: Excellent property, spacious rooms, modern amenities, small kitchenette, washer/dryer,nice bath, nice rooftop pool, decent fitness room, overall a modern and stylish property. Nice staff & service. Efficient front desk. Beautiful lobby. Good free breakfast. Decent menu options for room service. Decent location.

What's not so good: Hotel reservation system can be improved.

For a decent price you get modern spacious room with all amenities with good breakfast. THe staff and the service make it even better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KR_NYC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Somerset Greenways Chennai in detail. We're happy to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for not being able to deliver a smooth booking experience, I assure you this may have been an isolated incident. May I request you to drop a note to reservations.chennai@the-ascott.com at your convenience, elaborating the problem you had encountered. This will allow us to take steps to rectify it immediately. We hope to welcome you to Somerset Greenways Chennai once again.

Regards
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

excellent property to stay in chennai,good ambience,fantastic service,food needs improvement,the lounge was perfect place to unwind,the 3 member team imran,karthick,ganesh provide you a 5 star service, at affordable price..setback is no appetizer..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your pleasant stay at Somerset Greenways Chennai. Your compliments have been passed on to the team at The B Bar - our lounge bar. We are unhappy to note that we were not able to meet your expectations with regards to the food served. We've taken your feedback seriously and are working on improving the options available at Somerset Greenways.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Somerset Greenways once again,

With Warm Regards
The Management
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location. Very central.The rooms were very spacious and fully equipped. Much better than I had expected. The Staff was very courteous and helpful , always with a smile. They were more than helpful when one asked for information or help on anything from Shopping to travel to arranging for an Auto. They also allowed you to call in for food for some restaurants closeby.

However, for a hotel its calibre, the breakfast needs to be improved.

Room Tip: Higher the floor, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UVed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset_Greenways, Public Relations Manager at Somerset Greenways Chennai, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Sir,

We were delighted to read such a positive review from a senior contributor like yourself. Thank you for taking the effort to write about your stay with us. We are disappointed that we could not meet your expectations with reference to the breakfast served. We hope to welcome you back to Somerset Greenways once again so that we may have another chance to not only meet but exceed your expectations as well.

Warm Regards,
The Management,
Somerset Greenways Chennai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
The Leela Palace Chennai
#5 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
1,528 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
1,061 reviews
The Raintree Hotel, St.Mary's
#6 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guindy East
Hilton Chennai
Hilton Chennai
#10 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
1,494 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#13 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
1,191 reviews
Grand by GRT Hotels
#15 of 405 in Chennai (Madras)
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Greenways Chennai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Greenways Chennai

Address: 94 Sathyadev Avenue | MRC Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600028, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#10 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#24 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $76 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Somerset Greenways Chennai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset Greenways Chennai is managed by The Ascott Limited, a member of CapitaLand. Head-quartered in Singapore, The Ascott Limited is the largest international serviced residence owner-operator with more than 200 properties across Asia Pacific, Europe and the Gulf region. It operates three award-winning brands Ascott, Citadines and Somerset in over 80 cities spanning more than 20 countries. The 187 contemporary serviced residences at Somerset Greenways feature fully-equipped kitchens, separate living rooms complete with state-of-the-art home entertainment systems and extensive recreation facilities including an infinity swimming pool, outdoor Jacuzzi, gym with steam and sauna rooms, a residents' lounge, Cubbies Kids' Club and outdoor play area for kids. These extensive features and warm and attentive, personalized services ensure that our guests feel the comforts of home even when they live and work away from home. Located just 10 minutes from the central business district in Chennai, you can travel conveniently throughout the city while enjoying the comforts of home with designer layouts, furnishings and facilities. They are complemented by the extensive services tailored to executives and families. Two international cuisine restaurants and a lounge bar are located within the residence. The rooftop garden offers a secure area for informal social gatherings, barbeques and relaxation. For business or leisure travel, choose the comfort and security of a private apartment with the personalized service and facilities of a Somerset Serviced Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Somerset Greenways Chennai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Greenways Chennai Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing