We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel in Chennai”
Review of Taj Club House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Club House
Ranked #18 of 397 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best Hotel in Chennai”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel in a interconnecting suite for one month and I have absolutly nothing negative to say about it!

Nice modern big clean rooms with everything you need.

Staff is very serviceminded and friendly, helpfull in any task.

Theres 3 really good resturants in the hotell, a medterian at the top floor that offer delicius meze.
An indian, where i ate My best indian food ever...
And a ordinary resturant thats serves everything from pasta to thai.

Nice pool at the top floor...

I Will return...

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompatiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    606
    380
    90
    25
    37
See reviews for
119
100
79
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
APuschel
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Overall, the rooms are nice and the staff puts forth the effort to achieve decent service. However, the infrastructure in the hotel is as old as the Taj brand itself. The internet is painfully slow and the facilities at the business center are reminiscent of the 1990s, replete with poor color printers and projectors that are best married with Office 2000 graphics. Stay here if you don't want to communicate with the outside world, and if so, you'll have a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APuschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Taj Club House staff have catapulted this pretty ordinary hotel into a highly memorable one which I am pleased to rate as 'excellent'. For me to give an excellent rating, normally the hotel or rooms have to really be amazing/distinct in design and the staff provide very good service. With Taj Club House, the facilities are actually quite comparable to most five star business hotels in that the rooms are clean, contemporary, spacious, and comfortable. What puts Taj Club House into the excellent rating is driven by truly outstanding customer service, personalized attention, responsiveness, and professionalism at all levels of staff.

Going to India can be quite overwhelming in itself. Basing a the Taj Club House made my trip stress free in all ways from transport to tours, to meals, to connectivity to fitness. If I returned to Chennai for work or pleasure, I would book at Taj Clubhouse again without hesitation.

The good:
-personalized attention: guest services found out about a special milestone and offered well-wishes personally in the lobby as well as sending card, cake and flowers to the room (when dining in the evening, more complimentary cake and bubbly)
-several staff at various stations knew our names on the first day even though we did not stay on the Executive floors
-we asked for an iron upon arrival and it was delivered within 2 minutes
-pool side attendants were so prompt and responsive bringing us bottles of water as soon as we arrived, and bringing us more bottles just as we emptied the first ones
-travel desk attendants were knowledgeable and helpful; in one instance when I suddenly felt faint, there were literally three people at my side immediately to offer assistance, bring water, get me seated and stay with me until I was fine
-there was an air of tranquility and calm in the lobby
-gym bright, equipped with Life Fitness and not busy
-pool about 20 m long and wide enough for 3-4 ppl at a time doing laps (rooftop poolside not crowded either)
- restaurants of good quality, value and taste; room service prompt and tasty too, when they remove the plates, they give you some chocolates in return
- breakfast featured plenty of local fare. Plus, the standard eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, juices, breads and cheese were also available.
-all hotel drivers professional, courteous and aimed to please
-location is very close to Spencer Plaza (across the street) and other shops if you feel like a bit of bargain hunting
-did day tour through hotel to Mahabalipuram and to Kanchipuram: while more expensive than outside operators, I was thrilled to be coccooned from the daily frustrations and inconveniences of transport, directions, and to be taken to reputable shops (I like blending in when I travel and doing as locals do, but I was so glad I trusted the hotel to provide a stress-free experience. When we got to the airport to leave, we realized how much the hotel had sheltered us from some of the harsh realities of normal Indian life which can take the holiday out of holiday pretty fast!)


Notes:
-given that Chennai is so humid, be prepared for that musty smell (similar to many places in SE Asia like Hong Kong, Vietnamese, Indonesia, etc where air conditioning is constantly combatting the heat and humidity in the air)
-the walls are not very sound-proof: either our neighbor had the TV on top volume or the walls were not insulated for sound (could also hear people walking outside in corridor)
-if you want a local experience, walk early in the morning to avoid most of the crowds while still getting the vibes from the street

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
270 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights during the 2011/2012 party period in this hotel.
What to say, it is all excellent. Great room in second attempt, which we switched because there was construction work going on with a lot of noise above us. Was done within a flash.

Restaurant Beyond Indus, wish we had such a cuisine at home, what a great food and ambiance.
Service sometimes a bit too much for my taste ( probably has to do with difference in culture) felt sometimes a bit akward. But well intended and extremely friendly. Also at the reception desk and the people at the swimmingpool.

Joined the buffet dinner during the December 31st evening which was well organized and again with excellent food. They went out of their way to make it a night to remember.

All and all a great experience with one small negative ponit: the screaming and running children in the corridor during our stay. I completely understand that children want to play and make noise but this was extreme and if you asked them or their parents to keep it a bit down they were looking at you with a stare like, what are you talking about?

If I ever go back to Chennai I would definetly ga back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Another feather on Taj Hotels Hat.
I recently stayed in this property during my business visit to chennai. I loved their roof top restaurant with bar, it has an amazing view of the city.
The staffs are very friendly and caring. Kudos to Neha (Receptionist)...!
Enjoyed the stay...!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Visited the hotel a couple of times for team dinner and a business conference. The ambience is very good. The food is also great. The pub is pretty popular too!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PremPandurangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I have stayed at the Club House twice and have found it to be an exceptional hotel. The staff are excellent, particularly those in the rooftop bar and Beyond Indus. A DVD player, (which play UK DVDs), toblerones in the mini bar and a pillow menu in the bedroom also helped to make my stay a good one. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Nungambakkam
Taj Coromandel Chennai
Taj Coromandel Chennai
#4 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,093 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#7 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,436 reviews
Park Hyatt Chennai
#8 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
2,718 reviews
Hyatt Regency Chennai
#27 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
1,250 reviews
Nungambakkam
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chennai
Vivanta by Taj - Connemara, Chen...
#17 of 397 in Chennai (Madras)
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Club House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Club House

Property: Taj Club House
Address: No 2, Club House Road | Landmark - Off Mount Rd, Near Spencer Signal, Chennai (Madras) 600002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#12 Spa Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Business Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#14 Romantic Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Club House 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Clubhouse Road – famous for its magnificent homes of British luminaries and as the original site of the renowned Madras Club.Taj Club House is a stylish contemporary hotel, with young and trendy food & beverage outlets & cutting edge technology. Taj Club House is the latest offering from Taj to Chennai, geared to meet the requirements of the "modern traveler" from offering ease of access to the modern fast paced world, to the comfort and style that the environs of the hotel offers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Club House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Club House Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing