We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“drunk staff, dirty hotel, dishonest website.”
Review of Zama Lodge

Zama Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zama Lodge
Ranked #304 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“drunk staff, dirty hotel, dishonest website.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

For 620 rupees on Hostelbookers I didn't expect this place to be clean, and it wasn't. Parts of the hotel smell like someone was using the hallways as a toilet. The sink and shower would barely dribble a little cold water- I recall standing under the shower waiting and waiting to get wet. The wifi they advertise on their web site is an internet cafe 3 blocks away. They also claim cable tv, but I didn't see any. I have no idea what their 'hot water facility' is. But the icing on the cake was the drunk-as-a-skunk manager trying to tell me that 700 rupees minus HB's' 10% equalled 556 rupees, and charging me the full 700 for a late checkout.
If you have the misfortune to find yourself in Chennai, and you're really desperate, Zama might suffice. But I'd look elsewhere. Check the photos.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZamaLodge, Manager at Zama Lodge, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
The photographs of the rooms shown are not the rooms that we give to people who come through Hostelbookers (ie Photo 1 and Photo 2) but the rooms which have been kept aside for alteration. The third picture of a wash basin (Photo 3), is a wash basin in an area meant for cleaning and other staff. This person takes a pictures of some dirty room which is not even used and a picture of a wash basin where it is dirty (to give us a bad name).

The person overstayed and we charged the person for the duration overstayed. Since we charged for the extra stay the person is taking revenge and putting up such a review. Thats why the person is writing such a review.

Moreover if we do not have water we wont be able to run the business. Why such negative remarks.

And about alcohol.. The person who works as night manager is a muslim person working with us for a long time. He could have been sleepy BUT DEFINATELY NOT DRUNK.

This person is angry that we charged for the extra stay and writes TOO MANY WRONG THINGS and puts WRONG PHOTOGRAPHS to tarnish our image.. Thats not right.. Please check with us before you post such a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

i had to pick this lodge in sort of urgency as i was just an hour away from my visa interview and i just wanted to dump my luggage but the reception staff was very cordial and helped me through getting teh right bus numbers. and i was on time. The room was okay okay not too good not too bad as i said , keep in mind u have paid soem 400-500 bucks for this so expect it to be like that. washroom was a little dirty so people finicky about that can avoid this and may be selecting indian style washroom will be a better choice as hygiene can be maintained.

Room Tip: try one with indian styles washrooms high floor rooms may have less traffic noise as the location i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManishRanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stayed in Zama Lodge because there's not many hostel selection in online hostel booking service. When I arrived there, there's no computer on the reception desk. I think I should've got a better room based on the room description during the online booking. The room is dusty, the fan is not even working, the bathroom is terrible. The only advantage of this lodge is it's located in the main street.

Room Tip: If you haven't book the room, just go inside and check the room first. Make sure you get a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed there when i went to the U.S.Consulate. Its an Old Place and they have done it up well. Their tariff was resonable and the staff quite helpful. It is walkable distance from the U.S.Consulate.

they also have a website for booking i guess. www.zamalodge.com. Have a look at the photos there and you would know yourself what it is like.

You will know what iam talking bout.

Room Tip: Higher Floor Rooms are quite better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littletom4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I arrived at Zama Lodge in the early hours of the morning, having booked via Internet. I have never seen such a disgraceful place anywhere. The bathroomj was filthy, and the room had obviously not even been swept, as there were cigarette ends on the floor. The sheet and pillow case were dirty, I did not want to even sit on the bed, let alone sleep on it.
I stayed in the room as it was after 2am, and left at the first opportunity

Room Tip: be more careful with your research
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patriciapom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Hotel Himalaya Residency
#192 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
27 reviews
Hotel Ammu Palace - Budget Hotel
#217 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
134 reviews
Nungambakkam
Hotel Melody
Hotel Melody
#262 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
Sudha Inn
Sudha Inn
#298 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
15 reviews
Aqua Green Hotel And Resort
#82 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
7 reviews
OYO Rooms Saidapet
#317 of 398 in Chennai (Madras)
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zama Lodge

Property: Zama Lodge
Address: 246 Old 245 331 & 333 Anna Salai | Opp.Kamaraj Memorial Hall, Teynampet, Chennai (Madras) 600006, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 398 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Zama Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zama Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing