We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Engagement Function”
Review of Pratap Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pratap Plaza Hotel
Ranked #63 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Indore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Engagement Function”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked this banquet for engagement function of our son on 12/12/2013. We are from Indore Madhya Pradesh and initially we were assisted by Latha Madam in the reception who really made our function a grand success by her polite and able guidance given to us in conducting this function a grand success. In fact she mingled with us like a family member and made us to face all the situations without any tension and the entire team under Latha Madam proved a great help to us and we thank the management for the nice arrangements and courtesy extended to us in this regard which made us to feel very happy and we look forward and recommend people of India that you are home away from home when you are in pratap plaza hotel in Chennai and once again we sincerely thank Mrs. Latha Madam and management from bottom of our heart for all the courtesy extended to us.

Mr. Venkataraman and Mrs. Lakshmi Venkataraman
Indore
Madhya Pradesh

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s_venkatin2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRATAPPLAZA, Front Office Manager at Pratap Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Sir

We thank you for utilizing the Services and understood that you were happy with the arrangements made for the function. We will ensure that the Service standards are maintained in your future as well.

Regards
Frank Arul
Asst Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    31
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
37
4
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

The food are very tasty and rooms are good. Staffs are very Friendly, professional way of treating the guest. Especially female manager who treated us very good for our B'day function whihc is held on Nov 13.

Over All Value for Money and very better than 5* hotels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiva_jolly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRATAPPLAZA, Front Office Manager at Pratap Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We thank you for utilizing the Services and understood that you were happy with the arrangements made for the birthday function. We will ensure that the Service standards are maintained in your future as well.


Frank Arul
Asst Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I used to stay minimum 2 nights on every month in Hotel Prathap Plaza, Kodambakkam.

I am working in a pharmaceutical company and my days are totally tiring and require lots of travel. Hence I look forward a hotel which should be centrally located, good behaviour to my guests and Colleques, offering homely feeling and neat and clean. I feel Hotel Prathap Plaza meets all my expectations. Thanks to all the staff and Management for this initiation.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jharish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRATAPPLAZA, Front Office Manager at Pratap Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We thank you for utilizing the Services and understood that you has a pleasant stay with us. We will ensure that the Service standard s are maintained in your future as well.Looking forward to your support as in the past.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I recently celebrated 50th Wedding Anniversary of my in Laws in the Banquet Hall.
The experience was too good., Especially the service rendered by Mrs. V.Latha, The Banquet Co-Ordinator was exemplary .As per our liking she did arrange the food to be served in plantain leaf, which is not done in many of the banquet hall in the city.The Hall did had a good ambiance.Except for the taste of the Kerala dish especially the sambar, paladaprathaman and not so well cooked rice , every other arrangement was much to our satisfaction. Kudos to the pro-active approach of Mrs. Latha...........
.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 393Jaya1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRATAPPLAZA, Front Office Manager at Pratap Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
We thank you for utilizing Our Banquets and understood that you had a pleasant function especially the Leaf Service.Also we regret for the Taste of Kerala Dish, we will ensure that the service standard will be inproved based on your valuable feed back.



Frank Arul
Asst Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

it is really worse ever experience of room and toilet conditions..seepage in room and bathroom..Stinging Towels...Nothing Good... room service also very pathetic .I had complaint too but seems does not effect.

Breakfast is only good..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Srawat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Though my official visits to Chennai are not so frequent , whenever I visit , I prefer to stay in this hotel. Within our budget it is quite good and comfortable for stay. The reception and the staffs are very polite and co-operative. The breakfast is quite good. Neat and clean.

Room Tip: Premiums are better but standards are also ok for single person.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited Chennai alone for official tour & stayed in this Hotel (as referred by my office colleague); I checked in room no: 103 & stayed there from 8th April to 11th. The hotel is found to be good for the following reasons:-
1. rooms are big & clean, toilet is OK
2. location is good, you can call a taxi & can expect it to come within 15-30 min; or, if you are in a hurry, an auto stand is situated adjacent to this Hotel (although auto fare is extremely high in Chennai); If you need cash money in urgency, 3 ATMs (SBI, ICICI, HDFC) are adjacent to the Hotel.
3. So far the restaurent in the Ground floor (Chennai 24) is concerned, food is OK, & atmosphere is cool.
4. Room Service is also good.

So, next time I will be in Chennai, I will go for this hotel; only one thing, If you are in a personal tour, it might be a little bit expensive. So, think for your budget twice, for that case.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sourav_KoL_WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
Malles Manotaa
#122 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
143 reviews
Nungambakkam
The Belstead
The Belstead
#75 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nungambakkam
The Spring Hotel
The Spring Hotel
#94 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
303 reviews
Orion Residency
#84 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
23 reviews
Park Avenue Hotel
#52 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pratap Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pratap Plaza Hotel

Property: Pratap Plaza Hotel
Address: 168 Kodambakkam High Road | Mahalingapuram, Chennai (Madras) 600034, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras) > Nungambakkam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pratap Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Pratap Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing