We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good Family Hotel with few negatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nachiappa Park Hotel
Ranked #292 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Recently I had a chance to visit Chennai,along with my family.Though I have been staying in different star rating hotels,in different cities,countries,this time around,I decided to use the media to corner a better family hotel,at Chennai,I have seen this Nachiappa park site and got attracted though there were several Negative reviews.I have booked a Deluxe suite for my family consist of four members.On check in we did not face any problem,except the fact,that they don't offer complementary breakfast,as advertised by them in Net.Considering this,they offered a discount of 10% on room Tariff,which was accepted by us.The two rooms,in one block was ok.We stayed for three days,and the advantages and inconvenience faced by us ,as disadvantages are given below.

Advantages
1.Locality
2.Safe
3.24 Hours checkout
4.Spacious rooms
5.Well maintained utilities

Disadvantages

1.They don't have their own cafeteria,though they have one in their building block not owned by them or controlled by them.Hence all are pressurized to go outside even for snacks.
2.They don't have sufficient room service boys.Considering the fact,they don't have their own,cafe,we were dependent on these guys.Unfortunately there were only two boys,for such a big place.Hence lets forget their service .
3.Though they have one system common to check mails,most of the time,that is not working.
4.They don't provide the dental kits,Bath needs even in Luxury suit.Hence all are advised to take their own.( I am surprised on this,as even small Lodges are providing these,at lesser prices)

Otherwise our stay was fine and well attended too,by the reception staffs.a praise to them especially Mr.Arjun who cares much of all occupants.I strongly believe,if the management,takes care of the disadvantageous as mentioned,this hotel will become popular in whole Chennai,and the most preferred Family hotel,in near future,

Sethu Palanikumar

Room Tip: If a family choose Deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kumar64187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 69 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2012

Nachiappa Park, on Usman Road, Chennai is an average hotel. The hotel has a great location and but are not able to use it to their potential. Just a few meters off Usman Road, one of Chennai's bustling shopping area.

From outside the hotel looks great and so does the lobby. But the rooms were really in a bad shape. I had booked 2 rooms in the hotel through Cleartrip.com. Despite requesting rooms adjacent, we were assigned rooms a few doors apart. One of the rooms reeked of cigarette smoke (requested non-smoking rooms) and the air-conditioner was not working. The other room was fine but smelt of fresh paint even though there was no painting done clearly as the walls had the paint peeling off. The staff courteously changed the rooms when requested and the rooms were the same kind, on a different floor again a few doors apart. In one room, the AC was working about 60 % but the room was kind of clean. The 2nd room was damp with peeling wall-paint and a stink to complement that. The paint job was shabby and there were drawers & cupboards which were broken. The hotel was full as there were a few tour groups. As mentioned in the other reviews, I didn't see any LCD TVs in the four rooms we saw.

We decided to stay as we just wanted to use the rooms for 8 hrs of sleep before heading off to the airport and it was convenient for the ladies to shop.

The hotel staff is courteous, friendly and quick. The hotel does not have their own restaurant but have an authentic Chettinad place in the hotel building, with a separate entrance. The food was great. Tea & coffee are served but are form a vending machine. For breakfast, Usman road is a great place with many joints within walking distance from the hotel.

In short, the hotel is poor as compared to the photos especially for the price offered. The hotel could do a major renovation of the rooms on the right wing of the building. I am wondering whether the rooms were specially assigned for Expedia or Cleartrip reservations :D and I will surely suggest to the travel sites to review all the hotels (esp. quality of rooms) they put up on the sites.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the left wing of the hotel building ( left when you come out of the elevator) DO c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amdya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I couldn't believe such a nice hotel very near to Shopping area "Ranganathan street". With free wifi and better room services and to top that morning buffet was really good. We had hard time getting into the place as not many autos and taxis know about this address. Nice quite location very near to Anjappar and Saravana bhavan. A better place for shop,eat and stay if you are mainly planning a better shopping visit in heart of shopping areas of chennai.

Room Tip: Wifi best works on second floor lobby. If you have plans to use wifi choose one closer to the modem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayanthisingar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

We have been there for one night on 16th dec on the way to my Tirupati visit with my family. This was recommended by one of my friend from chennai. it's in busy t nagar area and most of the shopping malls are with in 5 minutes walking distance. we have taken two double bedded room. rooms are quite spacious but little stinking. any way if someone does not expect more may choose this hotel for sleeping only.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihirdebnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here for 3 days, great room, the room i stayed had a Large LCD TV, Was here on a personal visit here for shopping for my daughters marraige, The whole shopping haven is just beside the hotel. Great savings on autos, they had a great restaurant ..hated since it was packed and we had to wait for seats. The hotel's location is situated in a busy area but the hotel is startegically tucked in a quite road away from the honking sounds and pollution, Guys in the front office were helpful giving tips in shopping, a great lovely hotel.

Ms Gupta
Delhi

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balaji2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Was searching for a hotel when I came thru this on the web, Was a liitle bit skeptical reading some negative reviews, But it was nothing of that sort of a hotel, Should say one of the best available hotels in this price. Staff were quite friendly and room was quite spacious, stayed here for 4 days, would definetly would stay again.


Hema,
Bangalore.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hema_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

I actually stayed here in November 2010. Excellent location in the T. Nagar Shopping District. Saravanan Stores & other famous stores are all located at a short walk away. Eateries such as Anjappar Restaurant & Saravana Bhavan are also located at a short walk away. Heard that Mambalam Railway Station is also located at a short walk away, across the main road outside the hotel. Hotel is really clean with strong Air-Conditioners (A/C) in all rooms. Complimentary Wi-Fi is also available for use in rooms. Toilets are also very clean. Prepaid taxis can also be arranged at cheap prices. Staffs were friendly and helpful to us. Would definitely stay in this hotel during any of my trips to Chennai.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiwari2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Lake View Park Hotel
#211 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
48 reviews
Mala Inn
#289 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
10 reviews
BKR Grand Hotel
#294 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thyagaraya Nagar
Taz Kamar Inn
Taz Kamar Inn
#38 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
269 reviews
GLM Meridian
#121 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
84 reviews
Aadvik Sai Residency
#107 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nachiappa Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nachiappa Park Hotel

Address: Mahalakshmi Street | Usman Road, T Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #292 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $32 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nachiappa Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
60 spacious and well appointed rooms. Located in heart of T. Nagar, the shopping paradise for tourists. Multi-cuisine restaurant. Bar. Free Wi-Fi internet access, laundry, 24 hr check-out, 24 hr room service. Near Mambalam Railway Station. From airport 12 km, central railway station 8 km. Safty lockers, TV with satellite dish connections. Travel desk. Close to Ranganathan Street and famous Silk and jewelry shops. Ample car parking. star facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Nachiappa Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing