We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Head here to crash”
Review of Kences Inn

Kences Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kences Inn
Ranked #223 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
bangalore, cochin
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Head here to crash”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Yeah. Have all the fun from downstairs, 10 Downing Street, drink, drink and eat all that yummy food and try crawling one floor up to a rather gloomy but well kept big room. Expect not much of service as there are just a couple of boys running errands. No bed coffee can be expected even if requested. The staff seems to be taken off from some cheap lodge with no smiles or expression. But then, you can go take a good sleep if drunk and luxury doesn't matter.

Room Tip: Open the curtains to see nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
1
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ive been to kences twice ... the 1st was ok... but the 2nd time was the last straw.. I had vry bad service which included my shoes getting stolen when I asked for the room to be cleaned and the management behaves like nothing happened... for 2500 a night there are better places to stay...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shem1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chennai (Madras) hotels

Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Worst hotel with poor staff and reception staff.. Rooms are Okay and spacious , but serivce is poor.. They don't allow you to come late nights and ask us to stay way from 10 downing street ..did not expect this in my stay..:( Worst ever experince in chennai stay

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vasublore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

i stay in kences by booking of chennai friends, usually i always stay at broadland hotel. the kences is not anything near to boutiques as its name, everything is very simple to nothing, may be the best thing is front side of the builidng which looks goos but actually it is the famous bar of chennai so quite disturbing noise at night. the inn has no facility at all, no internet, no lounge, living area,etc. they have only small reception desk for check-in. the room is very big with fixed window and it was leaking in the rain. toilet is big too but not very clean which is common in indian standard. i was there for 3 nights and i also saw one hotel near saint thomas church which aslo written boutique but im sure that it is also verycommon hotel without any specials near 'boutiques'. the location of kences is not good unless you ahve own vehicle, forom there you need 15 mins to walk to bus stand and also 15 mins to walk to nearest ok place to eat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank antBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

I traveled to Chennai in November and stayed in Hotel Kences Inn on November 22, for a night. The room was surprisingly big and reasonably keen, although I will rate 2 out of 5 for the bathroom. The staff is lazy but friendly and there is no in-house kitchen except for tea/coffee service, which is also average. There is a very good restaurant rank opposite the Hotel, which serves excellent Idlis. I have now forgotten the name of that restaurant. Overall, for the budget traveler, Kences Inn is value for money, although It is not as such recommended for couples who want to enjoy a vacation.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandeep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Booked this place through lastminute.com as just needed a place close to the airport to get our connecting flight to.

We didnt expect much at all so it's not as if we has stayed in 5 stars hotel throughout India.

We were welcomed by a cockroach crawling over the table, Ants for some reason laced the towell and the pillows, which when moved uncovered dirty sheets with small smearings of blood on them.

We were then moved to an incredibly damp room with wet sheets which had less widelife but i did find it frustrating that the staff asked me not to lift up the bed cover as the previous room did have a whole host of unwelcome surprised.

The staff were friendly and did call at 06:30 to inform us our taxi was arriving in half an hour despite not asking for a wake up call and they did make sure it was on time and were polite.

However, considering that we stayed in hotels for a third / fourth of the price which were better than this I have to say it's better to avoid this place unless you run out of options.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyBadman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Last Month, i visited Chennai with my dad as he had to go there for work purposes. The only reason for me to select this hotel was to visit 10 downing street, one of the most happening pubs in the city which i had heard quite a lot from friends in chennai. The pub is on the groundfloor of this hotel. Now, to be very honest, i really wasn't expecting much from the hotel cuz i was excited bout finally getting a chance to visit the hotel. When i did visit the hotel, i was nothing but surprised. the hotel building was just amazin, makin me feel as though im in a hotel in europe. it was architecturally designed that way to give you those contemporary european bed & breakfast inn feeling!!! The staff was very warm & friendly & the best part was that being in chennai, they knew hindi & english as well. Now this is one city where people think twice before they have to answer you even in english. the check in was quick & in no time we were in the room. the room had a nice cozy setting with twin beds & good lighting. the ac was already switched on so we didnt have to enter & then switch on the ac & wait for the room to get cooled. the bathroom was spick & span. they had nice soft beds & a great quick room service. the filter coffee served by them was really authentic in taste & felt as though ur having it in traditional south indian home. we were surprised on receiving a call from the reception to check out if everything was alright & if we needed anything else. soon my dad left for work & i was in the hotel room waitin for the sun to set so i could hit the pub straight away!!! as soon as i hit the bed i went off to sleep. the bed was so soft, warm & cozy with the pillow comforting you to sleep. i slept off for like 5 hours!!! it was a great relaxing experience. now when i got up in the evening i ordered for some dosas & another cup of their steaming hot coffee. here i must say, never have i had such crispy dosas ever!!!! they were crisp to perfection. the sambhar was sizzling hot & a great blend of authentic south indian spices that i had to order for some more & guess what, the room service delivered it in less than 10mintues!!!! i left the room & headed down to the pub. i returned late night, now i every hotel room gives you just 1 key to enter & since dad was in the room he had the key & i didnt know how would i get in. but i guess the reception staff read my mind & as soon as i enterred the lobby, he came straight out & gave me another key to enter the room so that i dont wake up dad in the middle of the night. this was one of the best customer service experience i ever had!!!! next day unfortunately i could have their breakfast again as i had to head out for an early morning flight back to mumbai & they were so kind to have a taxi ready for me to take me to the airport!!!! would always recommend this place to everyone visitin chennai, be it on work or leisure !!!!!

Stayed November 2010
Helpful?
Thank luv2flykingfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Thyagaraya Nagar
The Residency Towers
The Residency Towers
#25 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
834 reviews
Alwarpet South
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
The Raintree Hotel - Anna Salai
#15 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,126 reviews
The Leela Palace Chennai
#1 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#67 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
137 reviews
ITC Grand Chola, Chennai
#2 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
2,638 reviews
New Woodlands Hotel
#57 of 395 in Chennai (Madras)
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kences Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kences Inn

Property: Kences Inn
Address: 50 N Boag Road | Parthasarathi Puram, T Nagar, Chennai (Madras) 600017, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 395 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kences Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kences Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing