We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat and clean”
Review of Nayagara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nayagara Hotel
Ranked #154 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed July 2, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 2 days.. we booked ac delux room for us ..we 2 couples with 3 kids checked in this hotel..the room size is enough for 2+1 kid... the bathrooms r very clean. Mr.Venkat is honest and dutiful person. He gave us good advises for shopping and sight seeing.. as the hotel is just 5 min away from Kodambakkam station.. he advised us to catch train to go to Tnagar or any other sight..which was really very helpful..we reached T nagar in just about 15 mns..did our shopping and we were back in 2 hrs at hotel. room rates r quite reasonable as breakfast was included and as complimentary he gave us bed tea also. Buffet breakfast was southindian. For lunch and dinner u get nominal varieties so no issues in having food at their restaurant Online booking was only option with us but it turned out well. They served as they promised on our emails conversations. Overall stay was pleasant.. Thank you mr.Venkat..All the best...:-)

Room Tip: Keep options open for choosing rooms If you r nt going in peak season.. as after seeing rooms you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhagyashri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 34 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Appalled by the service
1. All travelers must produce Identity cards
2. If traveling with spouse, must carry marriage certificate
3. the receptionist insisted that he needed to scan my entire passport (including visas and immigration stamps) for "security purposes"
None of the above were informed by clear-trip at the time of booking, otherwise would not have booked this hotel
Other negatives:
1. cockroaches on bed in the first room
2. cockroaches on floor in the second room
3. AC was working at bare minimum in Chennai heat
4. towels were not clean and had spots
5. Overall shabby rooms for 2k

Would have spent another 1k and stayed in a better hotel, had this not been rated as #3 value hotel in Chennai on TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Siddhartha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very good hotel in this rate.
Clean rooms with very good food quality. Efficient service team. Overall a very good experience of staying in this hotel. Now I am regularly staying in this hotel. Great Job

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Akhil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The hotel is located in the heart of the city and hence the slightly over rated tariff.
There is a free buffet breakfast which is good. Rooms are not spacious but moderately clean and neat. The hotel is a little old and that shows up everywhere. Otherwise it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeyrosalind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was very near to the kodambakkam railway station from which connectivity to chennai central is very good by local trains. So, even if i was new to chennai, did not feel any difficulty in reaching the hotel. Actually i went for an exam at a school in arcot road which was walkable from this hotel and so, everything went very well. Totally, i can say that its good and worth the amount we spent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank vishnuvardhan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The staff made me feel welcome and provided excellent service. No complaints, save to say that a repaint of the interior walls would make a big difference to the overall appearance of the place. I was very satisfied and from what I have seen of other hotels on the web I think Nayagara was good value for the price.The hotel is also very close (100m) to a trainstation, very convenient for getting to/from the airport and a lot faster and cheaper than taking a taxi - get off at the Koddambakkam station for the Nayagara Hotel. Wifi was also very efficient.
I have no immediate plans for returning to Chennai, but if I did I shall be happy to stay with them again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are not more expensive than budget and you can negotiate discount and free breakfast fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The name Nayagara is perhaps a phonetic translate of Niagara. I noticed that there's a gigantic oil painting of Niagara Falls USA behind the front desk.
We didn't know what to expect as our friend chose this hotel for us, but it was a surprisingly good stay. The hotel was doing a lot of construction during our stay so it was perhaps a bit dustier than normal. Don't expect state-of-the-art decor, or special security keys for your rooms. It's a simple hotel for locals (mostly).
The front desk person was extra helpful in getting/negotiating auto-rickshaws for two obvious tourist. Everyone was very friendly.
If your taxi driver doesn't know the area well, it's rather hard to find the first few times. Take their business card with you when you go out.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fongie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
Vadapalani
Hotel Bhimaas
Hotel Bhimaas
#315 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
37 reviews
T. Nagar
Audi Residency
Audi Residency
#190 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
5 reviews
Liberty Park Hotel
#199 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#73 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
145 reviews
T. Nagar
The Chariot
The Chariot
#227 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
68 reviews
Royapettah
Mount Residency
Mount Residency
#97 of 437 in Chennai (Madras)
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nayagara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nayagara Hotel

Address: 15, United India Colony | Station View Road, Kodambakkam, Chennai (Madras) 600024, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 437 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $22 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nayagara Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Nayagara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing