We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel”
Review of Maris Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maris Hotel
Ranked #116 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel rooms are big and the bathrooms are also really big when compared to this class of hotel but both are with a old look. The food are very good but with less selection. The tariff is reasonable .

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lakshmanan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 59 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is large and good. The cleanliness and service must be improved.. Bathroom must be added with more utensils... The food variety must be more wider with more south indian dishes specifically like from kerala..

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Subbaiah12031961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I have always stayed at Maris, this is one of the oldest hotels in Chennai. The rooms & bathrooms are really big & very clean. The tariff is very reasonable. This hotel is perfect for business as well as family holidays. I have always noticed that the hotel is very careful in giving out the rooms to certain class of people, I mean in a very good way, so that all guest feel very comfortable.

The GM of this hotel Mr.Vijay is a great guy (Mr.Vijay if you are reading this, I am the guy whom you gave room 203 on 23 Jan 2013), as this time he gave me the room on arrival as I was on a unplanned one day trip to Chennai. Please make a note that this is a very busy & most popular hotel in Chennai, so kindly make your reservations in advance. "Try to take rooms in the back side as they have nice view & very peaceful."

This hotel have a great restaurant on the ground floor, they serve amazing South Indian food, the hygiene levels are very well maintained.

This hotel is about 30 to 45 minutes from airport as well Chennai central railway station, subject to traffic. It has great restaurants around 100 to 200 meters.

Room Tip: Try to take back side rooms, nice green view & quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naresh B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

I am staying here after 5 yrs. The hotel is just okay with rooms not under good maintenance. The rooms are old with peeling wall paint and bathrooms just okay and could be cleaned better. I see that it is under going renovations but I got a room that was not renovated - hence my not so good rating. Also the room TV has only a few channels available that are mostly Tamil. There are restaurants close-by that are good. Maris also has a vegetarian restaurant that serves good breakfast - South Indian style.

Overall this hotel needs to improve a lot to keep up with the current times.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lodget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Location is fantastic, on left hand adjoining building is MY Fortune hotel, bang opposite the road is Chinese restaurant and Copper Chimney- the North Indian restaurant. On corner of road a restaurant complex with amazing Andhra, food and for North Indian food - Palki restaurant which is superb.

Value for money - The rooms are big, clean with a bit of odour but house keeping will send room freshener immediately. 24 hours chk out time and rooms @ 2200/2500, no where in chennai u will find such hotel with these rates and quality.

Its a 8 story property so take room on higher floor for great view, french windows.

Downside : Restaurant serves horrible north Indian food, but south indian food is very good, waiters hardly understand any language other than Tamil. But the hotel waiters and front office staff is courteous and helpful.

Overall not a luxurious option but great value for money.

Room Tip: Higher floor room and don't expect too much on food front, specially north indian, there are gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maniji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in the newly renovated rooms in the 5th floor. The rooms were nice, clean and the bathroom too was clean. Must mention about the services, be a lil generous in tipping, and you can expect yourself to be treated like a king. The food was awesome and the prices were low too, but only vegetarian there. If you want, they can help you procure non veg food from outside.
The location was awesome and the hotel is right next to chola Sheraton .
Would definitely recommend this hotel to stay with family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bala305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

i stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and loved everything about this place. The location is ideal and central. The Restaurant at the Hotel is vegetarian and excellent in every respect. The rooms are large , clean , bright and it has lovely broad corridors.

The staff is helpful in every respect. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: the 5 th floor is better than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chennai (Madras) hotels
0.4 mi away
New Woodlands Hotel
New Woodlands Hotel
#58 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
355 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savera Hotel
Savera Hotel
#43 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raj Park Chennai
Raj Park Chennai
#76 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Clarion Chennai
Clarion Chennai
#57 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
659 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bell Hotel - Chennai
Bell Hotel - Chennai
#66 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
Courtyard by Marriott Chennai
#16 of 403 in Chennai (Madras)
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maris Hotel

Address: 11 Cathedral Road | Gopalapuram, Chennai (Madras) 600086, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 403 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $28 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Cathedral road and ideally located in the heart of the city, Maris makes you experience the unrivalled combination of warm South Indian hospitality and efficient service, making you feel right at home. The guestrooms are neat and spacious and the simple yet delectable cuisine is highly recommended. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing