We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chennai (Madras)
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buharis Blue Lagoon Resort
Ranked #159 of 436 Hotels in Chennai (Madras)
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We travelled to this resort for a wedding. The wedding venue is pleasant enough. However the rooms were very basic which was unexpected given that this is a "resort ". There was no hot water and the mattresses were hard as nails. We received no new towels or bed sheets over the course of 4 days. The rooms were only cleaned twice and even then, this was completed upon request and to a poor standard. Hotel staff seemed reluctant to do anything at all for guests so our stay was very disappointing. Breakfast was only available when kitchen staff chose to work - the one day it was available, they served cold dry toast and nothing else.
I was very disappointed. I would not recommend staying here at all. There are literally hundreds of other possible options. Choose any one of them..

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank RJR_004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 39 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is an old resort but immaculately clean with liquor banned. Hence very good for families. Just next to beach. We stayed over for the New Year and it was great. The program me conducted by an TV actress was extraordinary. She involved all the audience which made the evening great, unlike other events where u just look and there is no chance to go on stage. The staff very pleasant and the food was good. Keep up your traditional work.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Prashanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were a group of friends with families that had a party. The place is fabulous with nice trees all around. There are a few party halls/decks/lawns. And there is always more than a couple of parties which can be a negative. They have nice sports options like cricket, badminton, volleyball etc. The beach is so near and beckons the visitors. The food is average fare and service is ok.

Room Tip: Don't book here as you will have a lot of disturbance from parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PremPandurangam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Dated place with no up to date facilities. Took children for a swim and was told I needed to pay to even watch them swim! Was asked to sit outside a fence inspite of an empty pool and children aged just 8 and 10. This after we had made preliminary enquires on the phone and even at the desk before the children entered the pool. Waterfall in swimming pool not functional. Staff were discourteous and lacked any knowledge of customer care. Best avoided unless desperate!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank PaulD121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Went to this resort on an Official Team outing. This resort posses an Old - under-maintained look. Its not attractive. Seems like the management has neglected this for renovation.

Comming to food, its not good either. The waiters are very much stringent while serving the buffet food. Food quality is not good. It doesn't worth the money which we paid.

Though I didn't stay in this Hotel, but still I wont recommend this to any body.
For official team outing also it should be avoided.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Goutam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

It has a central location and well connected to all important places of interest in Chennai. It also has a comfortable business center where one can conduct short meetings and discussions. I had booked the hotel through their website. The check in was smooth with professionals handling the space. Fantastic food and great hospitality. The hotel has beautiful interiors, cozy... more

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank manojkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Our office colleagues went for a weekend break tour to Blue Lagoon Resort. They have a very very vast area for entertainment spread across almost 15 acres of land. The location is too good nearby to the city as well as on the ECR road. So travelling time reduces a lot. They have four different locations out there for conducting events. One is at total lawn. One very close to the beach. Two others have a lawn as well as trees scenario. The beach one is the best but it is good only at the evening times. Else it is very hot out there. They have all the outdoor game facilities including volley ball, basket ball, cricket etc. There is a nice little swimming pool. The rooms are also well placed near beaches and in the midst of a lawn garden. The food quality is good but since they provide buffet in the open, you may have the insect problem at times. Overall it is a complete entertainer for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shanu_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chennai (Madras)
VGP Golden Beach Resort
#209 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
101 reviews
CRESCENT iNN
#91 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
86 reviews
MGM Beach Resorts
#1 of 1 in Muttukadu
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Crescent Crest
#193 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
11 reviews
Mylapore
Sangeetha Sea View
Sangeetha Sea View
#244 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
13 reviews
Holiday Inn Express Chennai Old ...
#61 of 436 in Chennai (Madras)
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buharis Blue Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buharis Blue Lagoon Resort

Address: 79/A East Coast Road | Neelankarai, Chennai (Madras) 600041, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Chennai District > Chennai (Madras)
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chennai (Madras)
Price Range: $39 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Buharis Blue Lagoon Hotel Chennai (Madras)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing