We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KERALA ON A PLATE”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ente Keralam

Ente Keralam
Ranked #59 of 6,613 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Teynampet
chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“KERALA ON A PLATE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lunched at this very charming, and cosy Kerala restaurant with a couple of friends in April. Since it was a few days from Vishu and Tamil New Year's day, we ordered the special, vegetarian thali, and also a few of their signature sea-food dishes. We really enjoyed every morsel. The service was also very good. In fact, since we loved their "chai" which is usually served at the end of the meal so much, we were indulged with a few extra glasses by the beaming waiters. They were also quite happy to give us a few extra papads.

Tucked away in a shady by-lane, it really is an oasis in every sense of the word !

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adamtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Ente Keralam, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a delight to read your review of our restaurant on Tripadvisor. It is our endeavour to consistently bring the best of Kerala cuisine for our guests. Thank you for your appreciation of our food and service, our teams are truly encouraged by it. Looking forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    94
    24
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“For excellent Syrian Christian, Mopallah and Namboodri Cuisines from Kerala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Tucked away on a quiet tree lined street in Poes Garden, Ente Keralam serves the best, most authentic Syrian Christian, Mopallah and Namboodri cuisines from God's own country. Spotlessly clean, good service, nice interiors and great food is the offering. The food is authentic and the kind you will get in a Kerala home. Unique as the foods are, often cooked with coconut and in coconut oil, most folks from if fervent parts of India and foreigners not only don't have problems enjoying the food but also end up moving again for more of it. The Rajakeeyam Thali is for the seriously hungry and a major tour de force of Kerala Cuisines. The vegetarian Sadya thali is excellent as a stand alone meal and combines very well with the various meat and fish dishes too. Happy dining!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rathinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Ente Keralam, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Rathinroy,

Thank you for your detailed review of Ente Keralam on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear of your experience at our restaurant. Our Sadhya and Rajakeeyam are loved by many, and we are glad you recommend them as well. Our gratitude for your appreciation. The team looks forward to serving you soon again.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent food from Kerala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The restaurant is well located and pretty much in the "centre" of the city. I would imagine that this restaurant serves authentic Kerala cuisine in a fine dining ambience. The fact that the staff have been there for long and are familiar speaks a lot about how employees are treated by the establishment.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gangapriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Ente Keralam, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Gangapriya,

We appreciate your review of Ente Keralam on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your kind words; our teams are very important to us. We will appreciate them on your behalf and look forward to serving you again soon.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Most horrible restaurant I have ever been to”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

I chose this place just because I thought oriental cuisines have set some standards for themselves but.....

I was completely proven wrong by the fact

Seating given was just awfull and also full of mosquitoes, insects and what not.

Chairs are dirty as if we're never cleaned

I ordered a thali and my wife ordered separately and both the experiences were just terrible

Starters in the form of chicken, prawn and will the most pathetic thing you will keep in your mouth and would feel pukish on that.

Appams served were burnt and all the dishes made me almost puke my intestine out.

Biryani served here is the biggest black mark on the word biryani if any exists.

Lastly fruit salad is served with stale fruits.

So the food aspect is just a nightmare.

Also the washroom here stinks and looks as if never cleaned.

So at the end I would just recommend this restaurant for people if you wanna take revenge on somebody.

They don't even give you the comments card as they know what they are worth of.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DRSRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Ente Keralam, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review of Ente Keralam on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear of your experience and are taking all the points you have raised seriously. We would like an opportunity to speak to you to understand this better. Please write to us at ceo@orientalcuisines.in with your contact number and our team will get in touch with you. Our apologies once again.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
242 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
“Awesome! Gorgeous food and heartfelt service! Definite visit: Ente Keralam: MRC Nagar Outlet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visited this outlet one afternoon with a friend of mine and I did end up taking another two colleagues as well. Superb food, good ambience, fresh and delicious thalis and the service was always heartfelt. The beef fry and the appams, the stew and their payasam....my mouth still waters every time I end up thinking.
I have not visited their other outlet, which other reviewers have written about, but the MRC Nagar outlet, first floor opposite the newly built Leela Palace, is gorgeous!
The lady who makes the fresh appams in front of you is a treat to watch because of her expertise.
Must visit, while in Chennai!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobeDiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narendrasmalhotra, CEO at Ente Keralam, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to hear of your experience at Ente Keralam. Your feedback is encouraging for our chefs and service teams; we will appreciate them on your behalf. We look forward to your continued patronage.

Warm regards
Narendra Malhotra
CEO, Oriental Cuisines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ente Keralam also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Ente Keralam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing