We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Kerala Food”
Review of Ente Keralam

Ente Keralam
Ranked #62 of 6,637 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Teynampet
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely Kerala Food”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A keralite friend of ours had had taken us to this resturent last year.Since then we are visiting Ente Kerala various outlets at least once a month.We used to order parotas ,mutton stu ,vegetable dishes in rotation and payasam .For the first time a few days back we tried their Kari mean and app ams beside mutton stu etc.We were totally thrilled .Kari mean was very tasty and quite unique .The special masala was really great .On the whole food is very good.Price is slightly on higher side and the desert portions could be little larger.Kari mean though very tasty is quite expensive.mostly Kerala people come here and I did not see any north Indian during our visits.Since the food is of new type for non keralites they may reduce the prices a little and advertise to make the hotel more popular .There is a good potential

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmotpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    94
    24
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
207 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Authentic Kerala and Mangalore cuisine”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The place is very expensive but what you get is great. Cannot go here regularly due to its prohibitve pricing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank oppraveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Kerala Sadhya”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our little family went to Ente Keralam on a Sunday when I was too lazy to cook. Kerala cuisine is our favorite among the variety we have in India. Ente Keralam is usually considered to be on the pricier side so we don't go there very often. This time however, we wanted to check out their buffet menu.
We called up the restaurant to book a table and asked them if they had a buffet spread. The answered in the affirmative. However on reaching there, we found out they didn't have one. They did however have the traditional Kerala Sashya (festive meal - vegetarian) We got our first surprise when the menu came. One Kerala Sadhya cost only Rs.225! We had expected a lot more!
The meal included starters, rice, sambhar, moru curry( spiced buttermilk curry), rasam, thoran (veg stir fry), one curry, raw mango & coconut chutney, kadu manga pickle, avial, injicurry (sweet and sour ginger chutney) and pappadam. The dessert that came with the meal were 2 kinds of payasam. Quite a bit for Rs.225, don't you think?
We also ordered their prawn masala fry, one karimeen pollichadu and syrian beef fry. The food was excellent. Spicy (hubby asked for that) and delectable.
"This is exactly how home cooked food should taste like" Hubby said to me. Hmmm... I get the hint, mister!
Half way through the meal, my precious offspring sitting high on her high chair announced that she needed to go potty. Uff!! What timing! Anyway I marched her off to the loo. And here comes the twist in the tale. Everything isn't fine and dandy at Ente Keralam. The washroom stinks, is poorly maintained, there weren't enough paper towels, the floor was wet, the toilet seat made of some cheap plastic had brown scratch marks on it.... ugh!! It was hard to manage potty time with a little child.
For a restaurant of its kind of reputation, Ente Keralam should try to keep their premises better maintained.
It was hard to go back and enjoy the rest of my meal. Hubby though, had filled his tummy to the brim and was s full he couldn't drive back home and I had to!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndigoMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Craving Kerala”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A well conceived range of regional food delivered in a modern restaurant environment make Ente Keralam another welcome addition to the Chennai dining scene. We ate some of the best appams in town complemented by a family favorite, prawn moelle. a spicy but light crab curry and a less memorable tomato curry. All were light, spicy and delicious. The service was attentive and friendly and the added touches made it a good experience for a quick casual meal or a more formal celebration. The room we were in could have been better thought through as a designed interior - cheesey pictures and a huge free standing AC unit compromised the ambience somewhat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucy u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Service was very lousy even though the restaurant was quite empty. Appams were good but the rest of the food was average. The pineapple rasam was very spicy and had very little pineapple flavor. The steamed fish was very unappetising.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeSinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ente Keralam also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Ente Keralam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing