We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, bad service.”

Sangeetha, Gandhi Nagar
Ranked #62 of 6,638 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent food, bad service.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We went to breakfast. The place was busy but they had only 1 person to take order and 1 person to serve. So it was a painful process to get their attention. If there was additional order, I had to walk up to the person to give the order as he would not come near our tables.

The food was as usual, but some items took more than 20 mins.

What bothered me most was that the cockroaches on tables, in AC. what am I paying for?

Tried to talk to the staff but hey did not bother as they had people waiting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SatishChn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    95
    19
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean south indian restaurant with great food & reasonable price .”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

South India filter Coffee is the best in Chennai . Great idly & sambar . good south indian meals . The service standards is also good .

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vj1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Super Soup (Tomato)”
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Tasty South Indian food , Parking and crowd is an issue. Awesome quality.tomato soup is yummy. Service depends on crowd

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sivaramshunmugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great South indian ! Rest - Average !”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This place is crowed for most time ! Have been there more than 5 times ! Latest on Feb ! Few a times I have ordered Chinese and was really disappointed ! But the fact is they serve very good south Indian food. Their Platters are also good.
Overall Good place for south Indian food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bala49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good, Decent & VFM South Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Six of our family members visited the restaurant of the well-known chain of veg restaurants in Chennai for lunch to celiebrate the 70th birtday of our sister. We had ordered a mix of south-Indian, Chinese & north-Indian food, from ala carte menu. To our dismay, we found the food not upto the mark except for the south-Indian items and the chinese fried rice. Sangeetha is good only for South-Indian meals and tiffin like iddlies, dosas, etc
(Most restaurants who claim multi-cuisine are not good in all cuisines except very few like Copper Chimney, Hot Chips, etc.)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DittakaviS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sangeetha, Gandhi Nagar also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Sangeetha, Gandhi Nagar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing