We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service needs upgrade”
Review of Savista Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savista Retreat
Ranked #64 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Service needs upgrade”
Reviewed March 25, 2009

Savista Retreat has only been open less than a year. The owners have been renovating the maginificent old building for 7 years. It is 45 mins from Jaipur in the countryside. The setting is great, it is peaceful and there are plenty of birds to see. The problem is the place is not yet up to speed. At $200 Australian dollars a night, the place is expensive. Once the quality of the service has improved, the owners can justify the price. But not yet. For example, we were lured by the idea of a swimming pool, but the pool only had 2 feet of water in it, and the surface of the water was covered in bird droppings and feathers. Apparently they have pump problems
( electricity is rationed in the countryside), but if you are going to charge top dollar, you have to have a full swimming pool. There is no service desk or reception, so it is not always easy to find a staff member if you want a drink or snack. The food is adequate, nothing more. The hosts were charming and the ambience great. It's a pity they have opened their doors to guests before they have got the service to match their prices. We'll try again in another year.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    28
    10
    11
    6
See reviews for
37
106
28
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2009

We have stayed in the Savista Retreat for 3 nights. I loved the architecture and large garden around the hotel. During our stay we visited a restaurant in Jaipur and then we have suffered of gastrointestinal problems. The owners took care of us, prepared special meal and were very careful. This is an eco-friendly place, very peaceful, out of noisy town. Rooms are clean, equiped with nice decoration, beds are comfortable...The only thing I didn´t like is the location. You have to drive trough muddy road and this is very uncomfortable, especially when arriving in dark.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

The exterior of the building is beautiful but thats about all it has going for it. The road, as others have mentioned, is very very rough and at the moment they are building huge developments with housing, shops etc very near to this hotel. Jaipur really is on the up and up.

This hotel is a long way from the airport and a good 20mins drive once you turn off the main road so the drive to the airport takes over 45mins and that was when the traffic was light.

Once at the hotel it was very cold, dark and with a desolate feeling. Everyone was walking around draped in blankets. The room was cold until we requested a fan heater, a small one was provided. The pool was half empty and although it was too cold to swim it looked sad and neglected. The gardens are very sparse with not much wild life to see. Even when it was sunny the next day things were not any better.

The restaurant is quite a walk away from the main hotel. They dont mention this. People with mobility problems would have a problem. You have to be 'escorted' by a member of staff. When you get there its very dark and again cold. The staff are friendly but the food was plain.

Breakfast was outside the restaurant and was mainly Indian style which may not be to everyones taste. Curry at 8am is not my favourite. There was not much else on offer. You did not get asked for your preference. The owners are very keen to offer their 'pure' water from their own sourse. They leave a jug in the room and it is offered at dinner etc. I would advise against drinking it, even the glass of home made lemonade which is diluted. It was the only time we experienced the dreaded DB the whole month we were away.

There are much better and more convenient places to stay in Jaipur and this is definitly not a retreat, more a run away!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Our stay at Savista was exactly what we’d hoped for. The comforts of a superior branded hotel with the added charm and character of a lovingly restored, historical home. The owners were truly warm and gracious, offering us a high level of personalized service. They were always present and available to chat, advise or arrange but with great sensitivity to our personal space. It was a quiet and idyllic haven from the bustle and chaos of Jaipur, yet close enough to go into the city whenever we wished. The beds with their cosy down duvets, were our most comfortable nights in India. The rain head showers and instant hot water were wonderful after an afternoon camel cart ride or just soaking up the rays on our private deck. Food was fresh and tasty and they were more than happy to accommodate special requests. We booked in for four nights and stayed five. Not to be missed !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danleyrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Savista is a special place to stay: a lovingly renovated traditional home in the countryside outside of Jaipur. The hosts (academics by background) have created an inviting homestay where you feel like a very welcome family guest. After a guided tour of the immediate countryside on our arrival, we enjoyed the outstanding homestyle food and interesting dinner table conversation. Radhika kindly shared her soup recipe - and her computer.

Our stay at Savista was one of the highlights of our travel in India. And note: anyone who needs to plan a small conference or working group - Savista would be an ideal place. Few distractions, lots of support.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TalkofTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2009

Dr Rishyasringa and his wife, Radhika, are charming and attentive hosts. Savista is their home and they invite you to treat it as yours during your stay. Our rooms were simply decorated in local style, with a separate sitting area looking out over the garden and fields. The cooking, supervised by Radhika Rishyasringa, was delicious and varied; we ate our supper outside one evening, by the warmth of a log fire. Service from all members of the team was good. The hotel is in a beautiful rural setting and we saw lots of birds while we were there.
We used the hotel as a base for our sightseeing in Jaipur. It is a good one hour's drive out of the city and we found it difficult to find the right road out of Jaipur. Although it was lovely to come back to this rural haven after a busy day's sighseeing, it's probably that much more enjoyable to spend a few days here just relaxing and enjoying the local scenery.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodalinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We spent two nights in this delightful hotel. Very comfortable beds with large soft pillows. Beautiful setting and delicious and interesting food. In the middle of a rural area; wheat and vegetables; lots of birds. Large swimming pool which we didn't use as still cold at night so water too cold, but which will be wonderful in a couple of weeks' time. Wonderful hosts.
Is about an hour's drive from the centre of Jaipur.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelhiElizabeth23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
10.5 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#2 of 380 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Raj Palace Grand Heritage Hotel
16.0 mi away
Samode Haveli
Samode Haveli
#12 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
SUJAN Rajmahal Palace, Jaipur - Relais & Chateaux
18.3 mi away
Lebua Resort Jaipur
Lebua Resort Jaipur
#87 of 380 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
13.0 mi away
Shahpura House
Shahpura House
#30 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savista Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savista Retreat

Property: Savista Retreat
Address: Sanjharia,P.O. Thikaria | Off Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302026, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Jaipur
#27 Spa Hotel in Jaipur
#57 Family Hotel in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Savista Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savista Retreat is a boutique hotel in Jaipur, Rajasthan. A stand-alone property, Savista Hotel/Resort's location and design make it a welcoming environment and a lifestyle destination for individuals and small groups looking for a special experience of Rajasthan. It is an excellent base for combining sightseeing in Jaipur with eco travel, wellness, and cultural enrichment within a single travel plan and at an unhurried pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Savista Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savista Retreat Jaipur
Savista Retreat Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing