We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A oasis of green in heart of the city”
Review of Jai Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jai Niwas
Ranked #47 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A oasis of green in heart of the city”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a very good value hotel with clean accommodation and very helpful front desk. The public areas are nice to relax in especially the garden at the front of the property. We stayed just one night but were able to get laundry done and it was helpful to have the PCs for guest use too.
The restaurant is a bit sombre but we were happy with the food we ate there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blueheron5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Greetings from Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words.
All of us here are glad you liked the location and our services. Will try to cheer up the restaurant!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
96
29
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Part of well known Arya Bhavan group, in middle of city, a most unassuming one. In the garden, you can see plenty of birds and parrots in the morning. Ideal setting for lazing around. Closer to most of the sightseeing places with plenty of public and private transport option. A budget hotel but service and offerings are superior to price, a real value for money. Managed by the family of owners, so very particular about the facilities and cleanliness. Breakfast os pretty decent at the fixed price. Food taste pretty decent. I am looking forward for my next trip and stay at the same property.

Room Tip: Ask for the room specially with Toilet Papaer or Faucet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niticn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Greetings from Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words.
All of us here are glad you liked the location and our services. Looking forward to the next visit!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at Jai Niwas for 3 days and then for 2 days at Tara Niwas (decided to extend our stay, Mr. Mahesh at Jai Niwas helped us to move in without any hassle!) during our recent trip to Jaipur.
We had a very pleasant stay at both the places. The hotels are centrally located but with a calm and serene atmosphere. The rooms are neat and clean and the food was good (my 5 year old son liked it a lot as the preparation was just the way he wanted!).I would like to suggest that it would be good if they could add few traditional Rajastani recepies to their menu…
Arrangement for holi celebrations done were excellent…there was traditional music and dance while playing with colours.
It was a wonderful trip with a pleasant stay…

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Syam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Greetings from Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words.
All of us here are glad you liked the location and our services at Jai as well as at Tara Niwas.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have been in India for 16 days now, have stayed in 8 different guesthouses/hotels and this has far been the best one. The room was clean, spacious and nicely decorated and the bathroom even had a separate shower with a shower curtain - much different to the usual wet rooms in India. We had a large plasma sky TV and a paper delivered each morning. The staff were fabulous and very attentive. The location was set back from the road so no noise to be heard (apart from the houses at the back). The setting in the garden also made it a nic retreat from the bustling city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaznewsome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Greetings from Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words.
All of us here are glad you liked the location and our services.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Period of Stay: 24th Mar - 27th Mar 2013 (3 nights)

Cost (per night): 1070 INR (including taxes, via Booking.com)

Room No.: 16

I chose this hotel because this was one of the hotels with pretty good ratings on Booking.com at a good price and the rooms looked pretty decent from the photos I saw on Booking.com. Overall I was reasonably satisfied (was hesistant about giving it 4 stars, more like a 7/10 for me) and details are below!

+ points:
(1) Room was decent size and looked pretty clean (toilet is a bit small though and looked a little dingy because of the poor lighting). Bedsheets and pillow case looked clean (but I wasn't so sure about the comforter and cover on top of it because they looked a bit old) and quite firm mattress and pillow so actually quite comfortable.

(2) For the price, I felt it was pretty good value compared to another hotel in India that I stayed in and also the managers speak pretty good English so it was easy to communicate (not that I needed much because I didn't eat there nor did I ask for them to arrange anything for me as I had already hired a tour guide / driver).

- points:
(1) I had strange noises disturbing my sleep in the middle of the night for the few nights that I was there. First night I think at about midnight there were huge banging / blast sounds then the second night at about 5am I heard a lot of people shouting.

(2) The Wifi service was quite frustrating. Firstly, you need to ask everytime for a user name + password because each log in only lasts you for 5 or 10 hours (you can tell them what you prefer). It is free of charge but just a slight hassle to have to ask everyday.

More importantly, each day I experienced weak connection at times and I was unable to access the Internet, which was important for me because I needed to book a hotel in the next city that I was travelling to (at least they do have a computer terminal at the main office so you could use it and I saw another guest using it because she had problems with the Wifi as well).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrLukeLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Greetings from Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words.
Sorry for the noise in the night, domestic trouble between a married couple spilling over! We tried reasoning with them and they were OK after a few minutes, fortunately. Will try to get the wifi right, sorry you had to face difficulty with it. It normally works fine and fast, but sometimes it acts up!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are going to Jaipur on a budget, this little guest house is awesome. Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean . There is a little restaurant right in the complex and a garden to relax in. Every thing is just a rickshaw ride away or even in walking distance if you like a stroll. They have interent and can help with other bookings. Its great for couples or families , business etc.. The only other thing that can be helpful for anyone traveling in India not just here, but eye mask and ear plugs. Even tho' it is a very quiet place , if someone is sitting and talking close by it can echo , but that doesn't happen to much....We stayed a week and would go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopazR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Greetings from Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked our services. I am glad you found the place peaceful, overall; and loved your comment on earplugs :)
Looking forward to be of service in the future as well!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Perfect place for the budget and convenience. Highly recommend for folks looking for an economical, safe, decent and convenient option.

It's next to a school and can get noisy during the day. But most of the time you would be out and about exploring the city. :-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GanatBostonHelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked our services.
The weather is changing now but still pleasant. The trees at Jai Niwas are shedding old leaves and the flowers are all abloom. Perfect weather to plan another trip!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Tara Niwas
Tara Niwas
#81 of 382 in Jaipur
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#21 of 382 in Jaipur
1,191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 382 in Jaipur
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ratnawali
Hotel Ratnawali
#58 of 382 in Jaipur
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 382 in Jaipur
1,564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel H.R. Palace
Hotel H.R. Palace
#53 of 382 in Jaipur
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jai Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jai Niwas

Property: Jai Niwas
Address: 3 Jalupura Scheme | Near LIC office, off M.I. Road, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jai Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JAI NIWAS is centrally located boutique hotel in Jaipur. Set in a charming old bungalow, it exudes old world charm with its lotus pond, lush gardens, tall trees and open spaces. It is home to many species of birds. It has 19 well-furnished air conditioned rooms. Set around an open courtyard, they are equipped with all modern facilities. Jai Niwas is popular choice for Tourist, Student and Family groups (the whole property can also be booked). Located just 0.3 km from General Post Office, Jai Niwas provides an easy access to MI Road (main road of Jaipur) and yet has a peaceful resort-like feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jai Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing