We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home in jaipur”
Review of Jai Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jai Niwas
Ranked #49 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
palermo
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A home in jaipur”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was regular guest in a nice haveli...but for my work i need to spend so long time in Jaipur then i need to look for a nice cleen and less expensive place
I have a lovely room in the garden , new done, very cleen , a big flat television cattle in the room...nice breakfest home made bread, staff very nice,,the only thing is when you go out from the gate you are in the deep India...but if you don t love India there is no point to spend so long time like i do
I am in love with the rural India!

Room Tip: The cottage room section
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sagadawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Greetings from all of us at Jai Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and also for the kind words. All of us are glad that you liked our services and facilities.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    121
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
94
96
29
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had stayed on 12 & 13 night. The property is well maintained, quite neat & clean, with the bonus of being centrally located. Food quality is good. But having said that the services is quite insipid & indifferent. The Manager/ Reception guy ( Subash) in the morning has no idea about Jaipur & dials up Arya Niwas everytime for info. Some of the service gaffe(s) faced were :-

# Guard telling to have a bath so that he can shut the boiler down (around 11am)
# Waiter getting the night tea (on 13th) insisting on payment for Rs.40/- for two cups. When we told him that it was to be put with room bill, he tells us that rest. bills were to be settled seperately. Upon telling him that on earlier orders from rest. nobody had told us this, he releuctantly withdrew. Next day in bill, the charge for tea was Rs. 30/-. The waiter was trying to pull a fast one, i guess!
# Thought we reached the buffet at 9am...first the juice got finished, then aloo paranthas & then tea. We cancelled the buffet for next day.

The property is execllent value for money but needs to be managed little better. Imangine, Subash admitting that service in Arya Niwas is better!

Would recommend for a stay if service improves for non $ tippers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jitsich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and sharing your experience.
I have highlighted your pointers to Mr. Subhash (reception executive), who will be trained better about Jaipur local information and communications. Hot water is available 24 hours and not timed. I regret that there was some waiting time for food service in breakfast buffet, but all the items were replenished. The bill raised for tea was Rs. 30 only and it could be settled with room bill. I have talked to waiter to be clear about this fact in future.
Have a happy healthy and safe year ahead and hope to see you again at Jai Niwas and Jaipur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We staying in Jai Niwas for 3 days. Had planned a family get together. The experience was too good. The rooms were good, clean, well kept. Food was homely. An ideal place to host family get together....

Room Tip: Must visit !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjeevH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words. Have a happy healthy and safe year ahead and hope to see you again at Jai Niwas and Jaipur!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in the Hotel for 2 days during December 2012. The rooms are very clean and well maintained. Even the dining area is well maintained wherein you can have a wide variety of breakfast, which is offered as complementary during your stay. Staffs are very cordial and the location is just 3.5kms from the railway station and the shopping area is also very close to the hotel. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sudheer7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words. Have a happy healthy and safe year ahead and hope to see you again at Jai Niwas and Jaipur!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

On our trip to Rajasthan we crossed jaipur twice.We stayed in Jai niwas and Arya Niwas.Both are under the same management.Both are best under their own domain. Jai Niwas is like homestay while Arya niwas is more aristocratic and a proper 2 star hotel. I really appreciate the honesty with which they run their business.You will never feel that you are wasting money for a single service they offer .Excellent service ,good food ,nice rooms .and proper value for money.The only drawback is that they serve only veg food.But food is undoubtedly very hygenic and tasty.and you will be really surprised at the prices.Only 55 rs /plate for palak paneer/shahi paneer etc.they also serves veg continental food.I even bought the homemade mixed fruit jam which they sell at their restaurant.The best feauture of both the hotels is their beautiful lawn.A morninng breakfast under the umbrellas in the lawn is a real refreshment.

Room Tip: For jai niwas select the lawn facing cottage.and dont miss the veg sandwitch in the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dipmay15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words. Have a happy healthy and safe year ahead and hope to see you again at Jai Niwas and Jaipur!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milpitas, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 days in Jaipur for attending a marriage and finalized Jai Niwas after reading some good reviews on Tripadvisor. Hotel was close to railway station, the marriage place and city sightseeing places also. Great lawns, nice sunshine and birds made our mornings as well as the tasty buffet breakfast. Room and staff was also good. Totally recommended !!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lawn are great.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mukherab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words. Have a happy healthy and safe year ahead and hope to see you again at Jai Niwas and Jaipur!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirsa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

i booked this hotel at 9 P.M and reached the hotel at 12 at night. I was shocked to hear from manager that they have not recd. the mail so, they cann't give you the room. After Giving them voucher from agoda then also they didnot agree. After a long argument they agree to give room.

There is no staff in this hotel. The manager is very much rude in chilling night he after asking for water didn't serve water. also by mistake our voucher was made for 2 persons instead of 4. They were arguing for extra money for 2 persons.

There are so many other hotels nearby. It is in the very lonely place. Completly stay away from this very old property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RohitGaneriwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Jai Niwas, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
New Year Greetings from Jai Niwas,
Thank you for taking out time to write the review.

Guests booked via agoda at 2200 and checked-in 0035 hours at same night. As the booking was done late night, our receptionist was not able to check email and hold booking. On guest arrival, he contacted the manager on phone, who searched the booking on agoda website and gave the rooms. I regret that it took around 25 mins in checkin and if our staff at the reception wasn't able to serve guest in the meantime. We have taken corrective measures in this regard.

But we were right in asking for extra charge for 2 persons as they had paid the agoda only for 2 rooms in single occupancy (instead of double), due to mistake in booking on their part. But the guests REFUSED to pay and on their pressure, we had to waive off this extra charge of Rs. 645 as a discount.

The guests are entitled to be dissatisfied with the check-in and staff service, but once inside the hotel, they had no other complaints as against their poor rating for Value, Location, Sleep Quality, Rooms & Cleanliness. In fact, the noises from their room late in the night led to complaints from other guests.

Warm Regards,
Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Tara Niwas
Tara Niwas
#83 of 381 in Jaipur
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#21 of 381 in Jaipur
1,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 381 in Jaipur
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ratnawali
Hotel Ratnawali
#61 of 381 in Jaipur
305 reviews
0.9 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 381 in Jaipur
1,564 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel H.R. Palace
Hotel H.R. Palace
#54 of 381 in Jaipur
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jai Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jai Niwas

Property: Jai Niwas
Address: 3 Jalupura Scheme | Near LIC office, off M.I. Road, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 381 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jai Niwas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JAI NIWAS is centrally located boutique hotel in Jaipur. Set in a charming old bungalow, it exudes old world charm with its lotus pond, lush gardens, tall trees and open spaces. It is home to many species of birds. It has 19 well-furnished air conditioned rooms. Set around an open courtyard, they are equipped with all modern facilities. Jai Niwas is popular choice for Tourist, Student and Family groups (the whole property can also be booked). Located just 0.3 km from General Post Office, Jai Niwas provides an easy access to MI Road (main road of Jaipur) and yet has a peaceful resort-like feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jai Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing