We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tara Niwas/Home Away from Home”
Review of Tara Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tara Niwas
Ranked #80 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa City, Iowa USA
1 review
“Tara Niwas/Home Away from Home”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Fantastic welcoming place to stay as well as clean, comfortable, and friendly. Not to mention great home cooked food! Located in a quiet area with easy access to all you want to do while visiting Jaipur, pleasant dining area and wonderful balconies to relax on after your busy activities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_E_Jung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and also for the kind words. All of us at Tara Niwas are glad you liked our services and hope you had a good time at our beautiful city of Jaipur.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    77
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
65
28
20
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stumbled on Tara Niwas at the recommendation of friends and weren't disappointed. it's sort of older accommodations, fairly spacious and designed for longer stays (the proprietors also run a more traditional hotel called Arya Niwas that I would check out as well). We were there briefly so I'm not sure we benefited from the larger refrigeror or extra space. At about 3000 rupees it was pretty fairly priced midlevel rooming.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellling_NYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked our services.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I usually stay at Tara Niwas during my frequent visits to Jaipur. It has become a 'home away from home' as some of my stays have been more than a week at a stretch. For it's price, it offers the cleanest rooms, free wifi, and excellent food options (all made fresh) in its kitchen. Even the bread, jam and pickle are home made. I used their cars on my last visit and found all of them clean and the drivers pleasant and safe. The hotel is frequented by guests who are professors or artists or writers so it's a good place to meet up with people.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the ones in front have some noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, Owner at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Greetings from all of us here at Tara Niwas.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words. All of us here are glad you liked our services.
It has been a pleasure to serve your groups over the years. It has been very satisfying to know that they have generally been happy with the services offered, notwithstanding certain irritating bill mix ups!

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I had stayed in this hotel during my trip ( December, 2012) to Jaipur with family friends. My first choice was Arya Niwas (belonging to the saame group) where I had stayed earlier during my previous trip. However since Arya Niwas was booked I was advised that I can stay in Tara niwas by their reservation executive, I was skeptical eventhough the reivews about the hotel was good in trip advisor. The price at which this guest house room comes ( total 19 rooms) and the efficient manner the rooms are maintained is excellent. The ammenities provided are all essential ( may not be extravagant as we see in the high priced star hotels) but well thought. The room was clean, well maintained, they had a smal resturant but food waas good. Overall best budget option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saurabh2173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words.
All of us at Tara Niwas are glad you liked our services, and hope to see you soon in our lovely home town of Jaipur!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My first experience of this hotel, and it was worthwhile. Phone booking, early check in and courteous reception staff was flawless even though this was my first booking with this unit of arya niwas group. Housekeeping and staff are timely, efficient and well mannered. Decently decorated rooms and spacious clean bathroom didn't leave much to ask for other than something look out from the window, tea maker in the room was very nice and helpful feature. Located in the peaceful area still very near to the railway station and bus station but nearby eating joints are hard to find and area is dark; so take dinner at the hotel. Breakfast with many options was bliss. I wish they keep the standards up in all their properties and the budget in check.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jignesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review, and also for the kind words.
All of us at Tara Niwas are glad you liked our services, and hope to see you soon in our lovely home town of Jaipur!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We arrived at 6 am and the person at the reception was very helpful. The room was very clean. What we liked most about this guest house was the location. Even though it is located very close to the bus stand and railway station (as well as the old city), the neighborhood is very quiet.

We didn't eat here but they do have a lot of options at their restaurant at very reasonable rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for taking out the time to write a review. Thank you also for the kind words. Have a happy healthy and safe year ahead and hope to see you again at Tara Niwas and Jaipur!

Tarun Bansal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This was our third stay at this excellent property. Squeaky clean, very very comfortable, food is hot and tasty, staff very attentive and courteous., they even have rabbits in their garden to keep the lil' tykes engaged and very thoughtfully an aquarium in the dining room.
Mr Tarun Bansal goes all out to keep you happy and he actually made the folk performers who were leaving, to step out of their cab and perform for my dejected kids who had missed the performance at the hotel lawns, Truly touched.
You couldnt get anything like this at any price in jaipur.
Thanks to the entire team of Tara and Arya Niwas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xplorerindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarun_Bansal_Jaipur, General Manager at Tara Niwas, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
New Year Greetings from Tara Niwas Jaipur.

Thank you for taking out the time to write a review and for the kind words.

Tarun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.8 mi away
Jai Niwas
Jai Niwas
#48 of 386 in Jaipur
317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#23 of 386 in Jaipur
1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Om Niwas
Om Niwas
#71 of 386 in Jaipur
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Laxmi Palace - A Heritage Home
0.4 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 386 in Jaipur
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#91 of 386 in Jaipur
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tara Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tara Niwas

Property: Tara Niwas
Address: B - 22 - B Shiv Marg | (besides Chandni Crafts), Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 386 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tara Niwas 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tara Niwas - a small friendly hotel set in a quiet and green part of central Jaipur. Tara Niwas offers a pleasant environment, modern amenities and friendly service at attractive prices. Charming garden and sit outs, with a great collection of bonsai landscapes, an aviary, water bodies with lotus and fishes, rabbits on the lawn, tall trees and the visiting peacocks and above all a peaceful atmosphere make Tara Niwas the ideal retreat to retire to after a hard day's work, travel or sightseeing. We have a sunny and cheerful restaurant with an open kitchen and daily changing menus to ensure freshness of produce. We make food using very less chilly and oil, we have our own bakery, we ensure quality of raw material is always of the highest standards and the food remains tasty and homely, healthy and hygienically prepared from an open kitchen that you are welcome to visit. We serve vegetarian plus eggs fare from Indian and continental cuisine. Our room services include air-conditioning, running hot and cold water bathtubs and showers, 32 inch LCD TV sets with local and English channels, telephone with distance dial facility, electronic safe deposit lockers, writing desk and room clocks. All deluxe rooms also have tea coffee makers and fridge. We are a family managed hotel with personalized services and attention to details. Our other services include, travel desk, train air and bus ticket booking, foreign exchange, doctor on call, elevator to all floors, backup power, rainwater harvesting, same day laundry, business facilities and a wi-fi enabled building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Tara Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing