We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High Quality Homestay with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Girisadan Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Girisadan Homestay
Ranked #63 of 481 Jaipur B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“High Quality Homestay with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2009

We stayed 2 nights. Captain Singh & wife run a very good Homestay. Friendly. helpful with excellent staff.
Good advice on where to visit in Jaipur - tourist sites, shopping or eating.
I would say this is a premium establishment.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girisadan, Owner at Girisadan Homestay, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for Grading our Small Home stay (B&B) as Premium. We try to give 5 Star Quality in 1 Star Rates .. .. ..

Thank you for your lovely review ..

Best Wishes
Capt. S. K. Singh
Girisadan Homestay
When In Jaipur, Stay With Us .. .. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    22
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
47
60
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2009

A friend and I had this place recommended by my wife and we were not let down. Located fairly close to the city center and very close to the polo and golf club, if you have those interests. Girisadan is a perfect offset for exploring Jaipur. We had 2 rooms on first floor, which was spacy and clean. Each floor has around 4 rooms and a big living room with an attached kitchen and several verandas, where the sun can be enjoyed. We were only 2 visitors on our floor and the service was excellent from the staff. Good food and sufficient cold beers in the fridge, who can ask for more. Capt. Singh and his wife was very friendly and helpful and we even were allowed to use our rooms free of charge on the day of our departure, as we had a late night train to catch. Good karma. In that light I can live with the fact, that when I checked the food/beverage bill later on there was a 1000 rps. miscalculation on a 3.600 rps bill in my disfavour. All in all a very pleasant stay and I will definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MadBeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girisadan, Owner at Girisadan Homestay, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Dear Guest,

Sorry for the Miscalculation in the bill. Sometime we also make mistakes. It was nice having you
over. The second floor where your stayed is actually like a Penthouse. Lucky it was only shared by only two of you.

Thank you for your lovely review ..

Best Wishes
Capt. S. K. Singh
Girisadan Homestay
When In Jaipur, Stay With Us .. .. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2009

We (2 couples) stayed at Girisadan Homestay for 2 nights in late December 2008. It was the perfect remedy to a disappointing experience with a homestay in Agra. The property is a true home, with Capt. Singh and Giri (Mrs. Singh) occupying the ground floor while guests stay on the first and second floors. The Singhs create an atmosphere of warmth and relaxation - we shared dinner with other houseguests downstairs, chatted with Giri and her son upstairs, and relaxed at night in front of our flat-screen TVs. One thing that also really made Girisadan stand out to us was their personal commitment to employing and educating 4 women of impoverished backgrounds. We really had a lovely time, and would recommend Girisadan to anyone looking for a quiet, personable stay in Jaipur.

Reservation process: Very smooth via email. We also spoke to Capt. Singh upon our arrival in India to confirm. He was generous with his time and assistance, giving us his personal mobile number in case we had questions.
.
Location: Superb - tucked away off of a main road, the sprawling green lawn of Devi Niketan Compound is an oasis. The homestay is southwest of central Jaipur, but still very convenient to sightseeing and shopping as it is right along Sardar Patel Marg.

Check-in/out: Easy - Capt. Singh's home office is located on the ground floor.

Owners: Capt. Singh and Giri are the most pleasant, caring, knowledgeable, and attentive hosts. Their English is fluent, and they relish ensuring their guests' comfortable stay. At our request, Giri recommended several shopping stores for us to visit (jewelry, textiles, and shoes). Their son even highlighted a map for us to accommodate our very busy itinerary of shopping and sightseeing.

Home: The guest rooms are arranged on each floor around a central living room/dining room area. The second floor "penthouse" has only 2 guest rooms (vs. 4 rooms on the first floor), and we were upgraded due to a last-minute cancellation. There is a small kitchen on each floor, where the staff will prepare delicious drinks and snacks. The family's main kitchen, where the meals are prepared, is on the ground floor. Guests are invited to eat dinner together in the main dining room on the ground floor where they can converse with other guests and the family. There are also quaint balconies on each floor, with a large wraparound balcony on the penthouse floor.

Room: The rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated. Flat-screen TVs, clean and smooth sheets, plentiful closets and storage space, writing desk. Bathroom is modern and clean with plenty of counter space.

Service: No-tipping rule. Common tip box is shared equally amongst staff. Staff was extremely polite, attentive, and well-trained - there appeared to be a bit of micro-management in this aspect.

Food: Delicious. We ate breakfast outside on the balcony. Fresh squeezed juice, cereal, milk, toast, omelette to order, eggs, sliced fruits, tea, coffee, AND an absolutely delicious traditional Indian breakfast (poha? a sweet rice dish). Giri also made sure the kitchen would accommodate our Western palates (light on the chiles) for dinner, which was a spectacular 8-9 dishes shared amongst the guests. The ice cream with guava syrup (Giri special) was so amazing that we asked for it both days. Drinks like fresh squeezed lime soda and sweet lassis were made on the spot and with care.

Amenities: Speedy wireless DSL was available at reasonable price. Laundry bag was provided for efficient laundry services.

  • Liked — Capt. Singh and Giri, breakfast on the balcony,
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WJ912001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girisadan, Owner at Girisadan Homestay, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Dear WJ912001,
We cant thank you enough for writing such a detailed review. This will surely help other travellers help decide staying with us.

All though a small guest house, Our management is quite efficient i would say. We try our best to do what it takes for the Staff as well as help other poor people. The better we do the more we can give a helping hand ... thus we work harder ..

Hope you will visit us again soon ..

Thank you for your lovely review once again ..

Best Wishes
Capt. S. K. Singh
Girisadan Homestay
When In Jaipur, Stay With Us .. .. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

We arrived at Girisadan after a hectic 6 hour car journey with a 2 year old. Immediately we felt at home and the homestay was absolutely luxurious. The rooms were pristine and the hospitality, good food and peaceful surroundings really recharged our batteries before we set off again on our travels. We even had some help with our son so we could sit down and enjoy a meal without racing around! These touches were what made this a remarkable place to stay and an excellent base to explore the fabulous Jaipur.
Emma, Paul and Archie

  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank visitor008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girisadan, Owner at Girisadan Homestay, responded to this review, March 21, 2015
Dear Emma, Paul and Archie

It was lovely to have you stay with us. Your baby is so adorable. she enjoyed playing in the garden with the turtles.

I hope you will cherish these memories.

Best Wishes and Good Luck.
Thank you for the Lovely Review ...

Capt. S. K. Singh
Girisadan Homestay
When In Jaipur, Stay With Us .. .. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Jaipur, period.

Captain Singh, his wife and the rest are simply beautiful people and very gracious hosts. The house is really nice, and the rooms are great value for the money: clean, spacious and comfortable. Meals were all very tasty. WIFI available. Walking distance to a good bookstore and a couple of shops. If you're going to Agra, I'd even consider leaving early AM by private car/ driver and returning that night after seeing the Taj. Or continue on to Delhi for that night. (5 hours each way though...)

  • Liked — Rooms, hosts, food, location, suggestions from hosts
  • Disliked — charge for breakfast, internet, laundry (kind of high)
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chisamna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girisadan, Owner at Girisadan Homestay, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Guest,
Regret that you disliked our charging you for the services.
Now we have complimentary WiFi
Laundry is still chargeable due to the and high because of the work involved. Water is scarce in Rajasthan, electricity expensive. I hope this will justify our charging a slightly high charge.

Breakfast is now included. with the room

Thank you for a honest opinion ...

Capt S. K. Singh
Girisadan Homestay
When in Jaipur, Stay With Us .. .. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2008

What a great place to stay! It was charming, very clean, and had the best service. The owner was very hospitable and made sure we enjoyed our time in Jaipur. I would recommend this place to anyone and everyone. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there and would go back whenever I am in Jaipur for sure!

  • Liked — The great service and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girisadan, Owner at Girisadan Homestay, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Guest,
We would love to have you over again and again ...

Capt S. K. Singh
Girisadan Homestay
When in Jaipur, Stay With Us .. .. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2008

It was our first time in India. Before we came to Jaipur we spent a few days in chaotic Delhi and we just loved Jaipur and Girisadan.
We had a wonderful time in Jaipur and the Captain and Giri helped us a lot to have that wonderful time. The homestay is perfect. It is central, but quiet, very clean, the food is excellent, the rooms are nice and the hosts are perfect.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cathynzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girisadan, Owner at Girisadan Homestay, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Cathy,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will take back good memories and share them with your loved ones. Please do visit us again soon. . .

Capt S. K. Singh
Girisadan Homestay
When in Jaipur, Stay With Us .. .. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Natraj
Hotel Natraj
#79 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kalyan
Hotel Kalyan
#22 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pratap Bhawan
Pratap Bhawan
#10 of 481 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barwara Kothi
Barwara Kothi
#15 of 481 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bhola Bhawan Bed and Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Naindevi Homestay
Naindevi Homestay
#207 of 481 in Jaipur
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girisadan Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girisadan Homestay

Property: Girisadan Homestay
Address: 8 Devi Niketan Compound | Sardar Patel Marg, Jaipur 302001, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 481 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Girisadan Homestay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Giri” Sanskrit for ‘Mountain’ and “Sadan” Sanskrit for ‘Home’ ensure all guests a warm and welcoming reception, in their tranquil home. Girisadan is a family run, luxuriously furnished home stay that offers all the amenities of modern living. Each guest bedroom has a spacious sit out for a hot cup of tea before the morning rush hour. A friendly atmosphere envelopes the home and soothes your frayed nerves, so you don’t have to reach out for that pack of cigarettes! The convenient location of Girisadan is ideal for the business as well as the leisure travelers, dedicated and disciplined staff is at your service – always with a smile! The home stay is within an hour’s drive to many historical townships like Samode & Chomu. You will experience the warmth and comfort of a family home where you can share your cultural and travel experiences, plan your itineraries, eat and drink together and make your visit memorable every time. With a seasoned Master Mariner – Capt. S.K. Singh at the helm of affairs, your stay with us has to be one of smooth sailing. Welcome aboard! Travelers who do not get a chance to stay with us now have a chance of enjoying our home cooked meals in our new dining hall. Book your dinner with us well in advance and have an indulgent evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Girisadan Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girisadan Homestay Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing