We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable & Best !”
Review of Hotel Karni Niwas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Karni Niwas
Ranked #78 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Certificate of Excellence
Cuttack, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable & Best !”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The home stay is not very fancy, but surely the best option for the price you pay. The food is good, esp the cheese and mushroom omelette is a must try, which you can order even very early in the morning. The staff are very well mannered and attend to your needs. Over all a very good bed and breakfast without any flamboyancy !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank animeshsingh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    123
    23
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
106
50
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom and USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

After 10 days of small, dirty, smelly budget rooms in Delhi this was a nice change. The hotel itself is very airy with many terraces to sit on and the more pricy rooms have their own terraces. All rooms have screen doors and wiindows, very nice to let some air circulate in the room. The most basic rooms are 700-800rps and the nicer ones around 1100. Also I found the location to be relatively quiet and got the best sleep of my trip so far. Hotel is very close to bus stand and railway station and they offer free pick up and drop of to these locations so this makes the price of the room more budget. If you order food or drinks here be very patient because you will grow a beard waiting, but that is India I think, and on the bright side that suggests that your meal is being made to order and is not sitting around waiting to be reheated. Overall I liked this place and I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shantiom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Compared to other midrange hotels in India this hotel was the best value for money that we've found. We splashed out on the suite room which only set us back 1,500rps a night including taxes. The room was clean and the water was hot (once we'd figured out how to turn the heater on). The furnishings were a little sparse but for 1,500rps a night you can't expect much more. The in room tv had a number of western films showing which was a good bonus. The wifi was free but was quite sporadic. It didn't work in our room but did work on the middle floor but not with my mac, there are two in-house computers which are free to use though so we never had a problem getting online. The old town is a 70rps tuk tuk ride away. The hotel managers were very helpful in assisting us in finding a guide and a driver. I would recommend this hotel for value, cleanliness & location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLadyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Though located near to the railway station, it is really quiet. Owners are really helpful when it comes to any query or service. Food is also good & well served. Walking distance from MI Road & Bus station. Good Internet but near to reception. Comfortable rooms & clean loos.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DurgeshSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in Oct 2012 in a basic non A/C room, and we've got nothing but good things to say about this place. The owners are very helpful in providing free pickup/drop off, guidance on sight seeing, booking further destinations. The hotel is located in a convenient spot in in the city and the major sights are a Rs 60-70 auto ride away. The rooms are basic but CLEAN which was very important to us. The neighbourhood is quiet at night (except for the neighbours dog kept barking). The only downside in our eyes was that there aren't a lot of food places to eat around here so it was a struggle to get food. The hotel has a menu and they cater from somewhere but we never tried it since it looked blah and overpriced.

At the end of the day for I thought I got the best bang for my buck by staying at this place.

Room Tip: Ask to look at different rooms before you decide. We skipped an expensive room because the cheaper r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at karni niwas for 4 nights. We stayed one day longer because one of us got sick. They were very helpful and made us feel at home.

The location of the guesthouse is good. It's short rickshaw ride to the old centre and near the train station. Its located in a quiet street so a good night sleep.

We stayed in the rs. 700 Non airco room which was spacious and very clean. We had a very good breakfast on our shared balcony each morning, a good start of the day!

Also, the free pick-up and drop at the train station is very nice. Overall, an excellent guesthouse!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a basic non AC room for 700Rs. The bathroom and bedroom was spacious, tidy but dated and worn. The bathroom could do with a decent deep clean.
There are numerous balconies and common areas to hang out in.
Located off the very busy, noisy and dusty main roads.
Free wifi could no be picked up in room, only near the front area of the hotel.
Owner dropped us off for free to the railway station at 3am.
We did not eat here.
Bottom line is good for price.

Room Tip: Beware of Mosquitos in the rainy season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
330.4 mi away
Atithi Guest House
Atithi Guest House
#46 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunder Palace Guest House
1.4 mi away
Hotel Moon Light Palace
Hotel Moon Light Palace
#36 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#21 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 380 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Homestay Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karni Niwas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karni Niwas

Property: Hotel Karni Niwas
Address: Motilal Atal Road | Behind Neelam Hotel, Jaipur 302016, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Karni Niwas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Karni Niwas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing