We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor and lack of sphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Naila Bagh Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Naila Bagh Palace
Ranked #107 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor and lack of sphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Although our room was not bad, and we were upgraded, it didn't look at all like the photo's on the internet. Firstvwe had to hang the pictures horizontally and that was a bit about the atmosphere. The inner court had tables without chairs and a lot of rubish, while it could have been an intimate place yo rest. Flowers, seats, no rubbish and lying chairs without covers can help. On the other hand we got towels immediatly when we went swimming.
The staf is nice and try there best and have a bit dirty traditional clothes. Clean and ironed it would have impressed with the musicplayer during breakfast. That was realy nice.
We stayed in a comparible hotel in Jodphur for the same price and that was a very nice experience. I can not believe that both have the same level at tripadvisor. Instead of the booked three nights, we styed only one.
Good about the place: not so far from the red city and the staf.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elsevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NailaBagh, Owner at Naila Bagh Palace, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear sir,

Thank you for reviewing our property. At Naila bagh palace, we strive hard to make our guests stay comfortable and are only happy when you are happy. This is the reason why tripadvisor gave us an award “excellence in performance for years 2011-2012.

We did face challenges due to incessant torrential rains in the month of august.
The inner courtyard is basically an open space and the tables were without there(muddas) chairs because it had been raining frequently and the muddas could have got damaged, hence they were piled up and put under the pool table covered area, if it was about to rain or raining. On request, they would have been definitely put out for you. While the cleaning staff cleans all the open spaces 3 times a day, due to the unstoppable rains tree leaves,twigs and flowers were spreading out on the courtyard ever so often, our staff was working through the rain and hence in very few cases there white uniforms tore or got dirty faster.All such uniforms are already replaced.
Lastly, The rooms are exactly photographed and even travelers have put various pictures on tripadvisor of our rooms.Further, there is a video of the property on our website showing clearly what every room looks like. We believe in making our guests enjoy an authentic heritage experience and the entire team at Naila Bagh Palace is dedicated towards this goal.

Thank you
Pallavi S Naila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    94
    38
    19
    10
See reviews for
62
115
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I was very excited at the thought of staying in this heritage hotel but I am afraid there were a few things that really let this hotel down (compared to our other heritage hotel in Deogragh)
Pros-Our suite was beautiful with lovely furniture and a large comfortable bed,fast Internet and TV Cons-The standard of cleanliness around the pool and the pool itself left a lot to be desired and consequently there were more flies here than at any other hotel on our India trip.The support staff wore dirty uniforms and despite the desire to please had poor levels of English.The breakfast and food offered was extremely simple.Finally the water was cold/cool at the least -which made showering quite unpleasant despite the hot weather.The level of service was poor-When we complained about a broken TV in our children's room-we were told it would be fixed at the end of the season and despite the hotel being half full and the children's shower door hanging half off we were not offered another room only a shoulder shrug!
This hotel could be really lovely if a bit more attention was paid to the maintenance of the inside and outside of the building and level of service improved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drdrjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lovely old colonial building which is still owned by decendents of the family who built this family home. Service is not always 100% efficient but always friendly, charming and with a smile.

We booked here last minute when the hotel we were going to stay in closed their swimming pool, we were so glad we changed our plans. We paid 1/3 of the price of where we were going to stay and could not fault it really. Yes the grounds are not perfectly manicured but the shaded pool area was a lovely area to retreat to after sight-seeing in the hot June weather.

We stayed in the heritage mahataja suite in the main building which is their 'best' room. It was huge, cleanliness was fine (everywhere seems covered in Jaipur dust) and full of family hierlooms. Loads of lovely little details, laying in the free-standing bath you can imagine what it was like when it was a family home. In fact, in some ways it felt like staying with family as it still decorated as a family house.

I think the evening meals are bought in from a local restuarant, the menu as limited but pretty good and we were not ill until we decided to treat ourselves to a meal in a so called superior hotel on our last night in Jaipur. We got food poisioning from another hotel, eating at Naila Bagh Palace is very safe.

If you want an authentic stay in Jaipur then stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walkertravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place is a little bit out of the centre of Jaipur. It is an old building with a nice front garden, which, however,need some maintenance. In the back courtyard is a nice swimmingpool. The water is rather clean, but they need to clean the pool occasionally. Around the pool there are some chairs. There are fence around the terrain and some plants. They also can use some attention.
On arrival we had the oppertunity for an upgrade to a maharadja room, but the royal room was only a bit smaller and better situated. In the room you could see the old ambiance in the furniture and in the build up electrical system. The a.c. worked perfectly.
As we had a visit in the low season, there were not many guests. Breakfast is a bit simple. It is served in a former coservatory, with only 2 fans and no a.c.. The general sitting room of the hotel is superb, but in the summer quite hot.
The staff is very helpful. One of us got sick and within 15 minutes the necessary medicines were delevered by them. They also tried to be helpful as much as possible.
In a place like this you have to enjoy the history of the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Naila Bagh Palace is recommended for several reasons, but I have to highlight the service. When we were unfortunate enough to leave an Iphone in our room when we left the hotel, the manager contacted us at once when it was discovered - and actually drove from Jaipur to Delhi himself to deliver it (for a small fee of course)! Also, when we got sick, they were very helpful, running out and buying thermometers and bringing us room service at all times.

The hotel itself is a wonderful house, with a large garden and a swimming pool. The room we had was a suite, large and with a high ceiling. Would recommend booking a suite, as the price difference between room and suite is very small and worth it.
Peacocks wander around in the garden area, but will not bother you - they run away if you get close :)

Naila Bagh is located a little bit outside the centre of Jaipur, but only a short tuk-tuk drive away from the old city.

The hotel serves good food, and it is possible to order snacks all day.

Room Tip: If possible, get a suite (as the price difference is so small).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This hotel is hidden away from the centre of Jaipur, yet is within a few minutes taxi ride from the centre of the old city.
The hotel - a former palace - has been tastefully renovated to accept guests. A lovely swimming pool is the jewel in the crown of the hotel.
The rooms are comfortable and the staff are extremely helpful. Wifi is available for guests.

Remember, though - this is a heritage hotel, NOT a chain hotel, so you will not find a concierge, massage parlour etc. You WILL find a particularly helpful management team who go out of their way to give you personal attention

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richardinprague_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

If you've seen the best exotic marigold hotel movie this hotel reminds me of it except better. The rooms were very clean and beautiful decorated. The AC was adequate especially for such big rooms (it was also 112 degrees outside). The pool looks like a fountain it's so beautiful. There are peacocks everywhere, you feel like you're on safari in a lavish castle. The grounds could use a little cleaning up, but otherwise everything was really magical.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra_Peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.8 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#101 of 376 in Jaipur
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alsisar Haveli
Alsisar Haveli
#33 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sajjan Niwas
Sajjan Niwas
#128 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#63 of 376 in Jaipur
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
6.2 mi away
Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel
0.6 mi away
Diggi Palace
Diggi Palace
#61 of 376 in Jaipur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Naila Bagh Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Naila Bagh Palace

Property: Naila Bagh Palace
Address: Moti Doongari Road, Jaipur 302004, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 376 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Naila Bagh Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Naila Bagh Palace is one of the oldest boutique Heritage properties of the pink city (Jaipur). Originally built in 1870, it was the then Prime Minister's residency. Now run by descendants of Fateh Singh Ji (ex prime minister), it is conveniently located in the heart of Jaipur. Close to almost all historical sights. The hotel has a billiard room, swimming pool and artwork on display amongst other facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Naila Bagh Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Naila Bagh Palace - Authentic Heritage Home Hotel Hotel Jaipur
Naila Bagh Palace Jaipur
Naila Bagh Palace Hotel Jaipur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing