We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation”
Review of Hotel Kalyan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Kalyan
Ranked #26 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great accomodation”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel Kalyan provided us with comfortable accommodation during our brief stay in Jaipur. The staff are friendly, the room was clean, and the roof top restaurant were all great. We arrived to Jaipur by train at 2:00am. Before we arrived we inquired via the webpage about staying in the 800 rupee per night standard room. By the time they got back to us we no longer had internet and we were on our way. As we were unable to confirm that we were coming they had already rented out all of the 800 rupee rooms, but they upgraded us without question. As a matter of fact we didn't even know until we were told that our room was one of the more expensive rooms. (No wonder we thought we found the best 800 rupee room in India)! So on that front the customer service was great. Also, the shower was HOT and had great pressure. I believe this to be the case throughout the hotel.

The only downside is that spending time on the rooftop in the evening we were a bit uncomfortable with the owner asking us repetitively to write our trip advisor review, and when we left for a walk and returned she asked us again to write it. We explained to her that we will do it after we leave, because at the time we were enjoying a relaxing evening. She seemed a bit upset after this. Bottom line though, this hotel has clean rooms, accommodating and friendly staff, and good information for things to see and do, as well as a passion for their city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,335
    549
    108
    39
    30
See reviews for
326
320
164
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013

What rocks
1. Rooms are very clean.
2. Good Wi-Fi connectivity 24 hours.
3. Very polite room service.
4. Good seating arrangement on terrace with swing (feels like home).
5. Personal introduction and assistance by hotel owners.
6. Nice decorations giving complete Rajasthani touch to the entire hotel.

What shocks
1. Even deluxe rooms are small. Hardly any space was left after an extra cot was placed in the room for the third person. Expected a larger room since it was for 3 people and a deluxe room. Room change request was not entertained.
2. Constant noise on terrace rooms
3. Limited seating capacity in indoor restaurant as well as staff in kitchen. Had to wait for around 1 hour for our turn to come during dinner time.
4. The bed made a lot of noise (room specific issue)
5. The flush in the washroom was pathetic (again room specific)

Considering everything, this is a good hotel to stay. Indeed better than average but not exceptional. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Fauzan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is clean and beautiful, good range of prices. Very good location, reachable by foot from railway. Good place to rest for backpackers, with hot shower, free WiFi and clean beds. Restaurant terrace is very romantic and green. Use luggage deposit service if you need. Quiet neibourhood with lots of alternative hotels if this one is fully booked.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindaugas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We traveled in India for 2 weeks and got used to all kind of issues, related to Indian hotels. We came to this hotel after reading good reviews and were very happy we did. For the same price we previously were given dark small dirty rooms with spotty bedding in other hotels. Here we got the room on the top floor where a lovely terrace with restaurant is located. Clean room with shower, nice view to city center, clean bed, tv and free wi-fi in all hotel. The area is very clean and quiet - it's a rare case in India :) It's located between railway station and city center. Hotel staff is very friendly. When we were on the roof terrace the owner came to ask is everything ok, how can they become even better. They do try to become the best hotel here. I'm sure it will soon become Lonely Planet top choice so choose it before it becomes expensive

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meshkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

A lovely place to stay in jaipur! The owners are really nice people who will help you in everything you want! The staff is really friendly and there is a rooftop restaurant with and awesome atmosphery!
The wifi is free and works perfectly in the rooms! The rooms very clean and nice. Bhuvnesh is the son of the owner and he help us a lot with all the sightseeing that we couldnt miss and the best shops to buy silver and silk. I will totally recomend this place

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights, and the place was really nice, it has a rooftop with a beautiful view and all the place is decorated with ethnic things. It's nice to spend the night sharing a couple of beers, and eating some traditional food. Also the rooms were beautiful and CLEAN. The family that runs the place were very interested to make us happy and to make sure that we were comfortable, they are really nice and very good people. We recommend it for sure!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms and standard rooms are both good and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaikBermudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Very good! Hotel good owner good people and good staff.the location is good away from the hustle and bustle of Jaipur.room is good and bathrooms are clean.very nice one.hot water is always hot.wifi is fast.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Anuraag Villa
Hotel Anuraag Villa
#11 of 380 in Jaipur
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunder Palace Guest House
1.0 mi away
Krishna Palace
Krishna Palace
#91 of 380 in Jaipur
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pearl Palace
Hotel Pearl Palace
#8 of 380 in Jaipur
1,949 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 380 in Jaipur
1,547 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#20 of 380 in Jaipur
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kalyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kalyan

Property: Hotel Kalyan
Address: 59 Hathroi Fort Ajmer Road, Jaipur 302001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 380 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Kalyan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kalyan is a 2 star hotel approved by the Ministry of Tourism, Govt. of India, New Delhi. It is a full facility, having a nice and a very good heritage exterior. It is 1 km from railway station (central) & bus stand (central). It provides free pick up from the railway station and central bus stand. The hotel is 13 kms from airport. We stand ready to serve the guests 24x7 and will provide all kinds of information regarding places of interest in and around the city. We have free WiFi, free parking, 24 hour check in service, 24 hour front desk, 24 hour room service, 24 hour power backup by generator, beautiful rooftop restaurant. Accommodation information: the property's rooms have an aesthetically pleasing interior and functional facilities. The rooms are thoughtfully provided with telephones, television, and refrigerators. Room service available 24 hours a day. The hotel offers these facilities 24 hours: power backup, free WiFi. Our motto is stay well planted - we have many plants in our hotel to make your stay well planted. Rooftop too has lots of plants. Lift, 24 hour reception (front desk), beautiful decorated rooftop restaurant with a lot of green plants. Beautiful indoor restaurant. We have CWH (central water heating systems for continuous hot water 24 hours in every room). All 35 rooms have attached bathrooms with hot & cold running water 24 hours. Spacious rooftop restaurant with an outstanding view of city, well-decorated rooms with modern amenities. Lift, Channel Music, EPABX with STD, ISD, PCO facility. Online room reservation facility fax, free internet, E-mail facilities, refrigerators in rooms, also round the clock room services serving Indian, continental & Chinese cuisine, color TV in all rooms with multi channel system, running hot & cold water/shower for 24 hours. All rooms have cross ventilation. Marriage & group bookings accommodate about 150 persons. Check out time 12 noon. Parking space with inside premises, travel desk and doctor on call, laundry service. Hotel Kalyan where cleanliness, hygiene and comfort are the main concern. Pollution free and quiet place. We interact regularly with our guests and take their feedback. If they have any problem we try to solve it as early as possible. I with my wife Mr & Mrs. Gupta are present at the property. We are running the hotel from last 32 years. We stand ready to serve the guests 24x7 and will provide all kinds of information regarding places of interest in and around the city. For any problems or queries we also have a 24 hour front desk for fast removal of problems. We are present at the site so we owners will personally try to solve the problems and create a homely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Kalyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing