We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUt of this world in many ways”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #15 of 530 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2010

To add to a fantastic time in Jaipur which is a beautiful city, with a unique atmosphere, and superb surroundings, Barwara Kothi was THE IDEAL place to be at. It fully fitted what we wanted : something
different, more intimate, like being at home, and being treated as a person rather than a number/a unit. The owners who also manage the place were very curteous, nice, and with time very open and warm. We congratulate Deepali Singh and her mother-in-law, and the various members of the team for the place and atmosphere created there. It takes a lot of courage, audacity and energy. Well done!
Sizeable and very comfortable simple and spacious rooms although the mozzies need to be kept at bay in evenings. And the breakfast is nice, homely and full! Next time, we'll try the bedrooms on the first floor.
The staff should be congratulated for their superb attitude.
The garden is very well kept and weather permitting, we would have spent more time in the garden. Next time!
We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PrashBuddha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

267 - 273 of 301 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2010

We stayed for 2 nights and our stay was extremely comfortable and homely. The staff and management are courteous and helpful. The room tariff is also reasonable for the facilities offered and the washrooms are clean and nice.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gaurav99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

I have always wanted to stay at a place like Barwara Kothi, a private Bunglow style place with seven or so suites. Our travel agent booked it for us and mentioned that other clients had positive feedback about the place.

The rooms were nice, clean and elegant. The bathrooms were big with nice marble floor and ample hot water. The food was also good and the staff is great.

This place is also very conveniently located in Jaipur. The owners, who also manage the place, are very nice people.

Had a great time in Jaipur and very comfortable two nights stay at Barwara Kothi with my wife, kids and in-laws. Hope to visit again sometime and stay at the same place.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfinityJ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2010

Beautiful place, great hosts, very good food, lovely rooms, absolutely fair prices.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travellers1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

This was a very comfortable home stay. The home and grounds were well taken care of. The rooms were lovely, beds comfortable, bathrooms clean. There is a lovely garden area as well as a balcony and it is amazingly quiet for being in the city. Our hostess was warm, gracious, friendly, competent and helpful. The food was delicious. There was also a place to shop nearby with very good quality products and reasonable prices. We enjoyed our stay very much and will definitely make arrangements to stay at Barwara Kothi when we are in Jaipur again. Thanks for making our visit so comfortable. Liv

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LivEstrup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2009

After 30 years of travel throughout India, Barwara Kothi is among the most comfortable, charming and enjoyable places I have stayed. One is hosted in an elegant manor house by members of an elegant Rajasthani royal family. Dignified and helpful in every way, myself and my colleagues felt cared for as we would if we had visited old friends. The rooms are immaculate and tasteful, polished marble floors and bathrooms of five star luxury. The service is excellent and unlike some of the larger hotels, one does not need to worry about the cleanliness of the food or risk getting sick. It is the only place I will stay in Jaipur. Marianne, New York City

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariana888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

This is the best that you could get in the form of luxury and heritage and not having to actually shell out the money for the same. One need not stay in the famed palaces of the Pink City... go to Barwara Kothi. Its the next best thing.. also because you actually live with the real treasures.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
Thank SS1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 393 in Jaipur
480 reviews
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#25 of 393 in Jaipur
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#8 of 393 in Jaipur
1,629 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ikaki Niwas
Ikaki Niwas
#7 of 530 in Jaipur
284 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khatu Haveli
Khatu Haveli
#14 of 530 in Jaipur
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 530 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: $65 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing