We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm and classy oasis”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #16 of 519 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My brother and I stayed at Barwara Kothi for four nights and greatly enjoyed how pleasant it was and how well integrated with the history and culture of Jaipur. The guest area is complete with beautiful furniture designed with Indian motifs, the bedspreads, tablecloths, place settings and napkins are made of fabrics featuring local block print designs, and on the walls are photographs and mementos from the history of the owner's family -- who are relatives of the royal family of Jaipur. The bedrooms were very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts and dinners excellent. Deepali Singh, our hostess, not only has prepared a very good guide to taxi services and points of interest but also made some suggestions for not well known walking tours of the Pink City that we found fascinating and off the typical tourist's path.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appleseed108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2013

Hi. I am so glad you both made the most of what the city had to offer. We have tried to put together a folder of places we recommend to see, to eat and to shop and also taxi services..and it was heartening to see that you both made the most of it. You both are intrepid travellers and are well aware of how to go about discovering a city..take care and wish you all the very best..if in this part of the world we look forward to having you with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 293 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

we discovered Barwara Kothi by chance and it was a great discovery !! Barwara is a lovely homely place to stay , clean rooms, clean linen , etc . Kothi has an aura of olden days and give one a feeling of staying in bygone era . Ms Deepali is a very helpful lady and can really help in charting out iternary and things to visit etc if needed . We went to few places because she recommended and enjoyed . Not to forget home cooked food which is served .

All in all a great experience , highly recommended place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajubaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure having you and your lovely wife over to stay with us. Next time we hope to host you along with your accomplished daughters. What gave us great joy was also that you enjoyed our simple home cooked meal more than all the fancy five star restaurants you dined at. Wish you all the very very best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

After a terrible night in Agra where we nearly froze to death in the room, this place just came at a perfect time: big, clean rooms, a wonderful well-working and warm shower, more than friendly owners who will help you plan your stay and assist you with anything you might need, great home-cooked dinner (to order before 6pm), a vast selection at breakfast with continental and Indian options, cosy beds,... anything you might want! They are a bit out of the centre of Jaipur which makes it a perfect place to stay, as there is no noise and you can sleep and get enough rest for the next day to keep on discovering! The cleanliness of the place deserves a special mention: rarely have I seen a place that clean. Not just in India, all over the world!
I would definitely go back and will do so if I get to go back to Jaipur!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Sirup,
It was a pleasure having you both over with us..good luck with the translations and we hope to see you again soon at BK.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My daughter and I had stayed in a Hyatt in Mumbai and a Taj in Chennai before travelling to Jaipur. While those hotels were very nice, the Barbara Kothi was by far my favorite! The other hotels were just slight variations of what you might find anywhere in the world. The Barwara Kothi was unique! It has lovely gardens, beautifully maintained rooms, lovely common areas with interesting furnishings and curios, and an excellent chef! We ate at the Taj Rambagh in Jaipur and were disappointed. The dinners at Barwara were tremendous and reasonable! The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They helped us with arranging transportation and a guide. We had an early flight out, and they made a breakfast to go for us. We didn't even have to ask. We will be returning!

Room Tip: We peeked in many of the rooms. You can't go wrong with any. Don't worry about the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSK517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for the kind comments and observations..we look forward to having you over again and are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the meals..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Came to know about Barwara Kothi through trip advisor. We wanted to experience the feel of staying in a kothi / haveli and were happy that we booked a super delux room in Barwara Kothi. The place is homely and very well maintained. The rooms and the bathroom were big and spic and span clean. The room had a balcony attached to it. The bathroom had a nice shower area with running hot and cold water. The room was equiped with a tea/coffee maker. It is not very far from the market and the railway station. We did not have the meals as we had taken only the room option. The menu was not that elaborate though and seemed a bit expensive. The only thing that we felt lacking was the staff attitude. At times there was not a single staff member available in case we needed anything. Also didnt get a chance to meet the host. Over all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rishi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for the comments, Mr. Rishi..Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Chanced upon Barwara Kothi while planning for my recent trip to Jaipur. I didn't want to stay at a hotel. For a different experience I opted for Barwara Kothi, and am happy to say I made a right choice.
The place is a peaceful oasis, serene and homely. Room was large with spacious ensuite bathroom and a cosy balcony facing the green lawn below. They serve good breakfast comprising of eggs made to order, poha, fresh fruits, cereals, juices and tea.

Would love to come back here.

Room Tip: Opt for room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasirmohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Mohammed,
Thank You for your kind comments. We too look forward to having you over.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Barwara Kothi is small comfortable guest house with large rooms, a pleasant lawn setting, balconies, and history. The Singh Family, Deepall and her mother-in-law, run the guest house with care and professional proficiency. Their small staff people are instantly available.

Nearby street construction knocked out the WiFi to the guest house, and with our need for Internet access, Deepall allowed us to use the office Internet connection (which came through different source). The Singh’s made an extra effort to assist us in all of my wife’s and my needs.

Barwara Kothi is not located in the busy chaotic Jaipur center, but is a short ten minute ride from both the railroad station and from the Pink-City center.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Dear Buzkal,
We enjoyed having you both over. You are both intrepid travellers with a keen sense of adventure. We look forward to having you both over again when in this part of the world.
Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 385 in Jaipur
1,841 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#10 of 385 in Jaipur
1,601 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Jaipur
Hilton Jaipur
#36 of 385 in Jaipur
1,442 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#6 of 385 in Jaipur
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 519 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: $58 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing