We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home stay”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #16 of 507 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home stay”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Came to know about Barwara Kothi through trip advisor. We wanted to experience the feel of staying in a kothi / haveli and were happy that we booked a super delux room in Barwara Kothi. The place is homely and very well maintained. The rooms and the bathroom were big and spic and span clean. The room had a balcony attached to it. The bathroom had a nice shower area with running hot and cold water. The room was equiped with a tea/coffee maker. It is not very far from the market and the railway station. We did not have the meals as we had taken only the room option. The menu was not that elaborate though and seemed a bit expensive. The only thing that we felt lacking was the staff attitude. At times there was not a single staff member available in case we needed anything. Also didnt get a chance to meet the host. Over all it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rishi_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for the comments, Mr. Rishi..Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    85
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
97
101
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Chanced upon Barwara Kothi while planning for my recent trip to Jaipur. I didn't want to stay at a hotel. For a different experience I opted for Barwara Kothi, and am happy to say I made a right choice.
The place is a peaceful oasis, serene and homely. Room was large with spacious ensuite bathroom and a cosy balcony facing the green lawn below. They serve good breakfast comprising of eggs made to order, poha, fresh fruits, cereals, juices and tea.

Would love to come back here.

Room Tip: Opt for room on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasirmohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Mr. Mohammed,
Thank You for your kind comments. We too look forward to having you over.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Barwara Kothi is small comfortable guest house with large rooms, a pleasant lawn setting, balconies, and history. The Singh Family, Deepall and her mother-in-law, run the guest house with care and professional proficiency. Their small staff people are instantly available.

Nearby street construction knocked out the WiFi to the guest house, and with our need for Internet access, Deepall allowed us to use the office Internet connection (which came through different source). The Singh’s made an extra effort to assist us in all of my wife’s and my needs.

Barwara Kothi is not located in the busy chaotic Jaipur center, but is a short ten minute ride from both the railroad station and from the Pink-City center.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buzkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Buzkal,
We enjoyed having you both over. You are both intrepid travellers with a keen sense of adventure. We look forward to having you both over again when in this part of the world.
Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited Jaipur in December 2011 as a couple , stayed for 3 days .
We stayed in the super deluxe room at first floor with a private balcony .
our room was large and airy with and LCD TV in room .
The bathroom had a nice shower area with running hot and cold water.
The stay was comfortable , we did not have any meals ( took W/o BF option ) .
But did ordered some sandwiches, tea, pakoras(fritters), which were nothing much special.
The host is quite warm and did help us in giving some useful tips for itinerary.

But yes it is located very near to crossroads, with Metro work going on , a bit off the main tourist places, near to a railway line , and is near a banquet too .
I guess once metro work completes, it will be easy to access different places in city from here , will be a plus point in future.
By God's grace I sleep like a baby so was not a problem for me .

Overall I was satisfied with my stay :)

Room Tip: try to get a room with a private sit out with Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nehamalhotra9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Neha,
Thank you for appreciating the property. It is our home and we try and ensure the upkeep of the guest rooms is the same as our personal rooms.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2013

A really beautiful space. Run personally by the owners, its not quite a hotel, and yet much more than a B and B. All I know is that there were lovely rooms, lovely service, and real thought to every item in our rooms.

The food was great, and its in a pretty part of Jaipur a bit off the main track, but not by much at all. We were driving from Mumbai to Delhi and it was a great place to put our feet up for the night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JehanSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEEPALI-BARWARA, Owner at Barwara Kothi, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear JehanSam,
Thank you for your kind comments. You are right - we are not a hotel..ours is a heritage homestay..akin to a B&B but we serve dinner too. Do stay with us when you visit Jaipur again.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for one nite in Barwara Kothi this early August. Our room was at the garden and it was big and clean. The toilet is huge too. Especially like the clean marble floor. Staff are friendly and helpful. Deepali was not around but we enjoyed our stay there. There is a restaurant opposite the hotel called, Spice Garden which serve good food and has a very nice compound. For certain time of the nite, they have India dance performance. The only shortfall is that most of the power points in the rooms are not working and so it was very hard to charge all the gadgets.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CYS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Although we only stayed in two hotels/guest houses on this trip to India, so not a lot to compare it to, we were terribly impressed with Barwara Kothi. It was peaceful and friendly, and the dinner we had there was outstanding. The air-conditioning was great (we were there in the monsoon), our room was big and tastefully decorated, the bathroom large and clean, and there was a big library of books to read. Deepali asked us each morning if there was anything she could do to help sort out our day which was great, and the driver she recommended was excellent. We look forward to staying there another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
0.4 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Taj Jai Mahal Palace Jaipur
1.3 mi away
Jas Vilas
Jas Vilas
#6 of 386 in Jaipur
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#9 of 386 in Jaipur
1,574 reviews
2.7 mi away
Royal Heritage Haveli
Royal Heritage Haveli
#5 of 386 in Jaipur
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Property: Barwara Kothi
Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing