We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”
Review of Barwara Kothi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barwara Kothi
Ranked #16 of 528 Jaipur B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had the most peaceful and lovely stay at Barwara Kothi, where we experienced the completely genteel hospitality of our hosts (primarily Deepali). It is worth the stay just to learn about the history of this royal family and see the old photographs. I think that a stay here really creates a sense of the city, its founders and its history that would be hard to find elsewhere. Deepali could not have been more down to earth, kind and helpful. Our room was quiet, private, stylish and spotless. The grounds of the home are a haven from Jaipur's busy streets and it is is a really lovely neighbourhood, filled with nice shops and close to good restaurants. Could not recommend this place more highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 299 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2012

it was our first visit to Jaipur and were quite apprehensive about our experience. Deepali- Host at Barwara was more than welcoming and we felt so much at ease. She guided us on how to plan our stay at Jaipur, recommended cabs and even arranged an agent for our Railway ticket to Agra. Without a host like Deepali it would have been difficult to move around a totally new place.

Back in the Kothi I would use all the best adjectives to describe our stay. The rooms were very clean and most of all the bathrooms were exceptionally well kept. The A.C worked well and amenities were self sufficient. Rudra the houseboy was very prompt and courteous and he attended to all our needs without any delay.

I would recommend Barwara without any resrvations for any tourist planning to visit Jaipur.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shineshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I found the Barwara Kothi experience a very fulfilling one. The place is wonderful, the staff and the management were very helpful and welcoming.

The food was made as per my choice. Definitely a place I will recommend and look forward to going there again next time I visit Jaipur.

There is a small harmless looking dog, took a fancy for my trousers though.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anshumanpune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at the Barwara Kothi on the final 3 nights of a month long trip through India. This home stay was one of the most comfortable lodgings we experienced. The room was well proportioned, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was satisfactory and sufficient for our needs. The location is on a fairly busy road and from a distance you can hear trains. We did not find this to disturb our sleep but would suggest if you consider yourself a light sleeper to try other accommodation (bearing in mind India is fairly noisey from any angle). We did not find any taxi or auto-rickshaw driver who did not understand "civil lines" and we found our way home easily. Overall a pleasant stay and would recommend this home stay to others. When in Jaipur make sure you go to the Raj Mandir for a Bollywood movie and to visit Ladli for some community goodness (look this up in things to do in Jaipur).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesandjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We stayed at Barwara Kothi for 1 night on our trip to Jaipur May 2012. Well its true value for money. It is cheap and yet fully furnished. Those looking for a homely yet royal magestic envrionment & feeling and best faciltiies, without doubt & a thought must go to this place, instead of spending loads of money on some five start hotel. It has everthing one can think of and require. Plus there is no waiting in anything you require. Its done immediately. Mrs. Singh Thank you very much for all your help, advice & efforts and more for putting up this place. Next visit surely at Barwara Kothi, that goes without saying.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, since all give you that Royal Magestic feeling
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shardul_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were travelling with 3 under 10s and this was a better option for us than a conventional hotel room. Clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms. Very secure. Very elegant ambience. Nice breakfast choices.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majumdars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed at Barwara Kothi for two nights on our last visit to Jaipur. This is a well maintained, clean and quiet home stay. The rooms are large and comfortable. The bathrooms are very clean .The breakfast is sumptuous and healthy. The service is really good. The house has a majestic feel. It has a very nice garden and is well located. Deepali really took personal care to see that we were comfortable and made us feel ‘at home’. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a good, clean, economical, peaceful home stay in a chaotic city like Jaipur!

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are better, quieter and cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
1.2 mi away
Umaid Bhawan Heritage House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Arya Niwas
Arya Niwas
#26 of 389 in Jaipur
1,222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Meghniwas
Hotel Meghniwas
#9 of 389 in Jaipur
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nahargarh Haveli
Nahargarh Haveli
#8 of 389 in Jaipur
1,613 reviews
1.1 mi away
Umaid Mahal
Umaid Mahal
#23 of 389 in Jaipur
1,862 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearl Palace Heritage - The Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barwara Kothi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barwara Kothi

Address: 5 Jacob Road | Civil Lines, Jaipur 302006, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 528 B&Bs / Inns in Jaipur
Price Range: $63 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Barwara Kothi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a heritage homestay located close to the city centre. It is a colonial mansion built in the 1940s with green lawns surrounding the building. It is ideal for guests who are looking for a place with clean, beautiful rooms(some have attached balconies to lounge and read) and home cooked food. The rooms have marble flooring and a few have large french windows to usher in the sunlight and a view of the lawns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Barwara Kothi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing