We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel
Ranked #145 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Very disppointing and expensive hotel. Nice place and nice rooms (Haveli) but service, even if always nice and smiling, is almost terrible. Nothing is done if you don't ask and insist. 20 min ride from centre of Jaipur, and they try to fetch you some taxi charging 700 Rs to go there...
Restaurant is quite good even is tables are very dirty.
Avoid staying for this price!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unamnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
28
18
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This is an amazing hotel, outside of Jaipur with about 80 to 100 rupees taxi (tuk tuk) ride, the taxis normally ask foreigners around 150 to 200 but have the energy to haggle! The hotel staff are very dodgy, so please read your receipts carefully when checking out, they will add some unusual charges and will ask for cash. They charge 120 rupees for 20min wifi but if you give them the cash they will put the password on your phone or laptop so you can use it unlimited but you need to be closer to reception wifi area. The staff pressurise for tips, which is annoying! I stayed there for 3 nights before heading to Udaipur. Also the bar staff are so slow, I asked one of the staff how long does it take to pour whiskey and coke? All three nights drinks were so slow and by the time they arrived, lost appetite! Beautiful hotel but such dodgy staff!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We had two rooms for our three travellers and both were large and pleasant. Maybe there are smaller rooms in other parts of the hotel, but ours were big and comfortable. There were the usual minor irritations with Indian hotels - the lock on the bathroom door didn't work, the TV sometimes just stopped working for no reason then would spring back to life half an hour later, the shower managed to wet everything in the bathroom due to poor design - but that's India. There was no big issues.

The photos on the walls were very interesting, well I'm a history buff so I found them interesting! It's a long climb to the top floor, so stopping to admire the photos made the climb more pleasant.

Breakfast was basic - cereal, toast, fruit, tea and coffee. Then I heard someone on another table ordering an omelette. It turns out that you can have any kind of eggs you want - you just have to ask. So we did. It would have been better if we had been told this on the first day. So if you do stay here, don't forget to ask for eggs at breakfast.

The staff in the restaurant are over-worked, so service was slow. The food was good, without being great, and was a little bland for our tastes, but that will suit some people.

There seemed to be mainly large groups of travellers here, and this was very irritating on the first night when the tour guide of one group decided to stand up and LOUDLY tell everyone at his huge table a lot of nonsense about India (he claimed that the caste system no longer existed; that no-one paid dowries any more; that women in India are treated completely equally to men - I think he should get out more). He was speaking so loudly that the rest of us in the restaraunt couldn't converse.

In summary, this was a good, clean hotel with all the facilities that we needed. And yes, we had our own car, as some other reviewers have commented about the lack of transport.

Room Tip: The stairs are very steep, so if you have difficulty climbing stairs, ask for a room on the lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stourton1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We asked our travel agent to book us this hotel since we thought it was heritage hotel and pictures on the website looked good.

We drove from Agra to reach Jaipur, we entered Jaipur at 3.45 p.m and we were very happy thinking that we would be able to go to our room and relax before we head out for Chokhi Dhani.. but were in for the shock of our life, this hotel is so far away from city center that it actually took us an hour and half hour to reach the hotel. Then again two hours to reach chokhi Dhani ( but it is really on the outskirts so probably far away from any hotel in Jaipur). There is not a single shop near the hotel, so if you want even a bottle of water don't expect to get it near the hotel. This place is far away from both new Jaipur city center i.e MI road and also old city shopping joints i.e pink city.

The hotel is supposed to be a heritage hotel can not comment on that, however what I can confirm is that their hotel room is so small that you feel claustrophobic. The bathroom so small in addition to being basic my husband who is a 6footer could barely fit in. This hotel even does not have running hot water 24 hrs , we even called reception to tell this but hardly got any resolution.

The receptionist is polite enough though very clueless and helpless on anything. They are very unknowledgeable on Jaipur and its tourist spots. He didnt even know how far away amber fort was!!! ( anyways this hotel was 45 mins away from amber fort at 7.30 i the morning with absolutely no traffic)And he didnt try to do anything about any of our requests.

The complimentary breakfast here has one great advantage - you dont need to decide what you want to eat cause there is no choice at all!!! You have either cornflakes or toast for breakfast.

Staying here was a big big mistake and this place surely not worth even one rupee of Rs. 2500 that they charge. May be okay for people who plan to stay for longer times in Jaipur and go about seeing the tourist places in leisure and can afford 4 hours in travel from and to the hotel!!! My sincere advice avoid this place plague.

I would have given this hotel '-3' sadly the lowest rating on tripadvisor is 1....

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aparnaka11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jaipur hotels

New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This place has a nice, small hotel ambience and not expensive. The rooms are of decent size and adequately furnished.
But their systems are non-existent. We had asked for an extra bed and again reminded them at the time of check in. However, despite repeated requests, no extra bed was placed in the room till midnight. Also, as per the booking terms (booked through a travel portal) we were to be charged only Rs 100 extra for the extra bed, but actually had to pay Rs 600. The manager was unable to explain why this was so.
The staff at the restaurant was minimal, resulting in very long waits for dinner & breakfast. Even a drink took 30 minutes to be delivered.
If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay and do not have any expectations of service, you can choose this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VijayToley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

We booked this hotel from an online travel website as there was nothing available for the prices and days we were looking at. The rooms are a mix of old and new world. The furniture was of old design but the presentation was new, clean, and not squeaky. Our room had a big window and was on the top floor with a common terrace not visited by anyone. The bath was basic but clean. On one side of our room, there were small village houses like you would find in most cities in India. It is not as big as a haveli, but the stairs are very steep like the ones you would find in old palaces. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for people who have knee problems or any other walking problem. The rooms do not have minibars and fridge, at least mine didn't.

We didn't eat at the hotel and so I wouldn't comment on the food quality / quantity at all except breakfast included in the deal. The breakfast was very basic - papaya, corn cereal & milk, toast and choice of tea / coffee, more like what we have at home rather than at a hotel.

It seemed like the hotel is more into "group" bookings of foreigners who have their own transport as in the form of a minivan or bus. We had to call a cab every time we wanted to go to Jaipur city (cabs costed quite a bit - would have been better off spending more on a room situated in the city's center and not spending on cabs) and the chances of getting a rickshaw to drop off late at night were scarce. If you are a foreigner you would never know the right price for a cab in the area and would be even more difficult but to pay what is asked for.

Do not book taxis via the reception or book excursions from the hotel. We found out that the rates from outside the hotel were much more pocket friendly. On the other hand, the hotel management is responsible for all services catered to you by the cab driver and so could be safer for women traveling alone - you decide.

The manager of the hotel stayed in the hotel which was a help. They offered room service, laundry services, Wake up calls, city excursion, call-a-cab service, etc. There are no shops (not even a parlor) around and so you have to rely on the hotel's services for laundry and even a sachet of shampoo.

The manager gave us a free ride to the train station on the day we checked out which was very nice of him.

If you are looking for old world charm, this is not the hotel you want to book. There's nothing except the architecture and the name that hints that this is an old building. There's no spa, no masseur on call service. There's a small lawn in the front for recreation purposes. There's no parking in the grounds of the hotel; you park on the highway. I didn't see a pool, but there could be one. Ask the hotel before you book. Dont stay in the rooms facing the highway. There's plenty of tuckers' action all night long on the highway.

You could, for sure, book yourself a better place for the price that Khandwa Haveli charges for its rooms, food and services - we didnt have a choice!

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor and have your own terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChintanSheth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2011

This is maybe a 3-star hotel as far as the amenities go, but the atmosphere is peaceful and calm - which is a luxury in India! Came here for 2 nights with GAP tours, so not sure how much the rate was per night, probably 2000 rupees or so? Very nice B&W old photos as decor... My room was very spacious, quiet on the 4th floor with a nice view.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlibananaHNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaipur hotels
5.1 mi away
Hotel Chirmi Palace
Hotel Chirmi Palace
#144 of 382 in Jaipur
77 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bissau Palace
Bissau Palace
#100 of 382 in Jaipur
350 reviews
4.5 mi away
Dera Rawatsar
Dera Rawatsar
#20 of 382 in Jaipur
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Madhuban
Hotel Madhuban
#67 of 382 in Jaipur
427 reviews
3.3 mi away
Regenta Central Jaipur
Regenta Central Jaipur
#76 of 382 in Jaipur
191 reviews
6.6 mi away
Narain Niwas Palace
Narain Niwas Palace
#136 of 382 in Jaipur
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel

Property: Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel
Address: Sikar Road, Jaipur 302013, India (Formerly Khandwa Haveli)
Location: India > Rajasthan > Jaipur District > Jaipur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 382 Hotels in Jaipur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a tranquil, green neighbourhood, this quaint, well-appointed Haveli is one of the first properties you encounter if you're approaching Jaipur by the Delhi Highway. Conveniently situated around the corner from Hypercity - Jaipur's largest mall, it's the ideal location to access the best of Jaipur - its attractions, restaurants and watering holes, yet make an easy retreat when you chose to. The hotel has an exclusive bar for in-house guests, a 24X7 front desk and offers full flexibility to guests - imposing no minimum stay requirement or cancellation charges. The multiple spacious verandahs that punctuate the haveli, the rooms with en suite bathrooms with daily housekeeping on request - which is included in the room rate, and a host of modern amenities make this an ideal choice for a memorable stay in the pink city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Heritage Khandwa Haveli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing